We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestead - They made up for it”
Review of Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homestead Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Homestead and were initially disappointed, mostly with the treatment from the reservation desk staff. The room was smaller than we expected and there were some double charges on our bill. However, and this is really the topic of the review, upon hearing about my dissatisfaction, I received a personal call from the homestead with a courteous explanation and an apology. To their credit, they more than made up for the previous disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 386 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were given a stay at The Homestead Resort for our anniversary and were so happy by how relaxing and beautiful it was. , Upon checking in we were given fudge to enjoy, which we did :)We had a Garden Room: a bedroom and sitting room with sliding glass doors for light and an open feeling. The room was so clean and that means a LOT to us. It was decorated in a classic style which I love. We strolled the grounds and saw two owls (WOW!) and saw and heard other birds. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Simon's and relaxed in the natural mineral water hot tub. It was a weekend that felt like a week...in a good way!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1991lovequality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I am so disappointed in this place. First of all, I bought a deal from KSL for $130 for the "Garden Room." When we first get here and check in I was told my card would be authorized for $160 but the authorization should be gone by the time I checkout. $160? A little bit much! I specifically asked for an upstairs room when I booked this and we ended up in a downstairs unit and got to listen to some one walk around above us all night. This room is soooo old! There is at least a 1/2" crack on the door where the weather stripping has came off and you can see daylight through it. It smells so bad! I could have got a really nice hotel for $130 with breakfast included! We will not be staying here again! So much for a romantic get away!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheri2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripXpert1, Manager at Homestead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sheri2567,
I'm truly sorry that you didn’t enjoy your time here at The Homestead Resort and that you had to bring these items to our attention. I was able to get the room number from the comment card you submitted and have addressed the issues that you've mentioned here. Thank you so much for letting us know and I apologize that these weren't taken care of before your arrival.
We pride ourselves on being a popular choice for romantic getaways in Utah, and certainly hope that this first impression will not keep you away. We would love the opportunity to show you what our team is truly capable of and hope to see you back again.

Sincerely,
Eric Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We took my MIL there for her birthday. Because of a stroke, she has impaired mobility and likes to swim so that she can have most of her mobility back. This resort has two fun options for doing that. (Well, three if we had gone in the summer...) She was able to enjoy the warm mineral waters of "The Crater" a very unique experience inside of a calcite dome and the pool of the resort that has an indoor option in the winter. We found the rooms clean and well taken care of. The beds were comfortable, too. It was fun to be in historic buildings that have been updated so that we can enjoy the modern part of life, but also feel a part of the historic. We ate in "Simon's Restaurant" and enjoyed wonderful meals there. Caution: if you order the cinnamon roll for breakfast, either plan to share it or take the rest for lunch. IT WAS HUGE!! We enjoyed the family style meal and felt well fed for the four of us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Garden" style rooms. There are many other options for what ever type of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Haven't stayed at the Homestead for many years. It was a pleasant surprise to go back and see them upgrading the facilities, but keeping the homestyle, relaxing atmosphere we were accustomed to. The restaurant was excellent and the service was friendly and prompt. We engaged everyone from the restaurant and front desk to the ground and room maintenance staff and they were all the friendliest downhome people we've ever had anywhere! It is rare that you can combine privacy, good service, quality facilities and the friendliness that comes together here. We're not going to wait so long to go back this time.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite that was comfortable (even though it was 18 degrees outside). We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a great time staying at this beautiful resort. Excellent rooms, great restaurants, and overall just a fantastic aura. The adjacent Crater with the hot springs inside was a welcome bonus. I can highly recommend the Homestead Resort in Midway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themanfromlaramie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We always enjoy staying at the Homestead when we come for cross country ski meets. The Soldier Hollow complex is literally about 10 minutes away. The staff were very friendly and prompt with service. I would remind guests that if they want to swim in the Crater they need to make reservations in advance, as there are limited slots and you will be out of luck if you wait until the last minute. The walls are a bit thin and loud guests next door kept us from going to sleep as early as we wanted.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a microwave or fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
6.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
603 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
19.4 mi away
Daniels Summit Lodge
Daniels Summit Lodge
#1 of 6 in Heber City
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#12 of 60 in Park City
601 reviews
6.6 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
869 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Resort

Address: 700 N Homestead Drive, Midway, UT 84049
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range: $112 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1886, Homestead Resort has been welcoming guests with warm hospitality and charming accommodations. Famous for the Homestead Crater, guests visit from all over the world to soak in the 96 degree geothermal spring water. Other onsite amenities include: two full service restaurants, conference and meeting facilities, 18 hole golf course, as well as expansive grounds for exploration and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Resort Midway
Homestead Hotel Midway
Homestead Resort Utah/Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing