We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fall is beautiful at the Homestead” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fall is beautiful at the Homestead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed at Homestead during their Fall Festival event. The grounds were beautiful and nicely utilized for this event. Since some room refreshing has been reported we were curious to see the results. The garden type room we stayed in (Summer House) had comfortable bedding, a flat screen, nice lighting and furnishings. We see the refreshing that has been done as a definite improvement. The Summer House is one of the older buildings but has a central location close to the main building which we liked. It is smaller than some of the other rooms we have stayed in. As a comparison we have stayed in an Executive Suite previously which gave you much more square footage and a room in the Barn building which seemed somewhat larger than the Summer House. The main restaurant (Simon's) has been reopened for dinner since our last visit. The interior looks nice but based on the menu we opted to pursue another dining option. Fanny's was acceptable for breakfast, great view, slow service and acceptable food. Overall a very good stay the only slight disappointment being the dining.

Room Tip: There are many different room options because of the different buildings. Ask about the different r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthouse_lover_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    90
    50
    32
    32
See reviews for
105
123
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I have been going to The Homestead in Midway Utah for several years now. Traditionally we would spend our anniversary there in December with the Romance Package which includes a sleigh ride, fancy dinner, and a cozy room. Now, with a family we prefer the Bunkhouse which accommodates our family very well. The atmosphere and beauty is amazing. The courtyard was decorated for Halloween with the characters taking a completely different look at night. The Sunday Brunch was nothing short of amazing! The game center, a favorite of my family's, was a lot of fun, with shuffleboard, tennis, ping pong, and pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful whenever you need them. For a quick getaway or longer stay, The Homestead is the place to go.

Room Tip: The Homestead has rooms to accommodate couples and families, even reunions with their condos. I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I don't even know where to begin. The rooms we were given were not pictured or described on their website. They were below average and not very clean. When we got there we immediately called the front desk and got no answer so we called their sister resort across the street and they tried. Still no answer. We called the front desk the next day and were told that the manager was not there and they what relay the message for us. No response. In the mean time, one of our beds had wooden bed slats that stuck out 2 to 3 inches and two of us hurt ourselves on it. Finally when we were checking out we got to talk to someone who gave us a whole 10% off our rooms. The crater decking is rickety and it is expensive to go in even for hotel guests. The only redeeming quality was the scenery. I have stayed at the hotel in past years and it was nice then but the new management is really lacking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathlynn886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripXpert1, Manager at Homestead Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I was diasappointed to learn about your experience and would like to offer my sincere apology to you and your family. We understand that family reunions are an important occasion and we strive to meet all of the expectations of these very special events. Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your comments prompted us to review our website and ensure that all of our rooms are accurately depicted.
We have taken note of your comments and will continue to focus on these areas as we make strides to perfect each of our guest's experiences. We know that we can offer a wonderful getaway and would welcome the opportunity to show you what our team is truly capable of.
Sincerely,
Eric Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Midway hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Homestead Resort at the end of July. It was fantastic, and so so beautiful. The property was well taken care of and all the flowers were in bloom. The staff was amazing, fully attentive and easy to work with. They were fantastic, especially the wedding coordinator, Glee. The reception was beautiful and I've only heard positive things from our guests. This is truly a great place for a wedding. I highly recommend it.

My husband and I stayed in the Honeymoon Suite. It was spacious and very clean. The decor was romantic, but not overboard. It has a huge jetted tub, and double doors that open the bathroom up into the rest of the suite. It was in a very private location at the back of the resort nestled up among trees that line the driving range. It was also on the second floor, which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakiVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just recently returned from a stay at the Homestead. The grounds were beautiful, the room was spacious. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. I had car trouble and shuttle took me into Heber City to the dealership in a timely manner. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you want to enjoy the beauty of the area in a unique resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recently, our department held a two-day meeting at the Homestead. The accommodations were outstanding. The conference room was a beautiful setting. The food over two days was spectacular. They have a first-rate chef. Most importantly, the service provided by their staff was exceptional. There was a special request made to provide a special showing of a college football game on a projection system. They spent the day working through the details and making the technical arrangements so that it could happen. Needless to say, everyone was impressed. I highly recommend this resort, especially in the fall when the seasonal colors are inspiring.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just spent a weekend at Homestead with a group of friends for three days of golf. The rooms were cozy and the decor was lovely and very clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The menu at their restaurants was great with options for all palates. We were very pleased and our group is planning on a return visit in September again next year to see the beautiful fall colors that were out of this world

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ-Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midway
6.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
14.0 mi away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#12 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
6.9 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Daniels Summit Lodge
Daniels Summit Lodge
#1 of 5 in Heber City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
9.7 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Resort

Property: Homestead Resort
Address: 700 Homestead Dr, Midway, UT 84049-6409
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1886, Homestead Resort has been welcoming guests with warm hospitality and charming accommodations. Famous for the Homestead Crater, guests visit from all over the world to soak in the 96 degree geothermal spring water. Other onsite amenities include: two full service restaurants, conference and meeting facilities, 18 hole golf course, as well as expansive grounds for exploration and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Resort Midway
Homestead Hotel Midway
Homestead Resort Utah/Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing