We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Gluten Free”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Astro Burger

Astro Burger
Ranked #45 of 136 Restaurants in Midvale
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Gluten Free”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Draper store advertised Gluten Free burgers, but when I watched them prepare it they didn't take any precautions against cross contamination (same surfaces, utensils, and gloves). When I requested to speak to a manager the owners son, George, came out, was rude, and told me to 'get the f#$% out of my restaurant!' Needless to say, I will never eat at any of their stores again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SamCSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
248 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Astro burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Astro burger…pastrami, burger and cheese. Add onion and lettuce. This is excellent. Also get the onion rings. They are fresh and NOT frozen. And the portion is huge! Great family place for other items as well. Have eaten there numerous times. Fast and friendly and the food is always good for a burger place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kj7hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utah's Best Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Astro Burger with onion rings! You can't go wrong! Pastrami piled high on a 1/4 lb patty, lettuce, onion, tomato, and Utah fry sauce. Total heaven to the taste buds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smakerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Was once great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Astro used to be the good old stand by.
Not sure what has been happening in the past year but the quality and attention to detail has diminished.
The last several visits my wife and I have noticed a foul aftertaste of their fried foods (fries, rings). It's become very obvious the oil isn't being changed out as often as it should or it is of poor quality.
The chicken quality has dropped and the burgers are consistently over cooked.
The owner and a manager were always present greeting people and supervising but I've noticed lately the restaurant is left to the high school kids to run or someone that doesn't speak the language very well.
I'm very sad to see this happen to Astro in SoJo but I have been driving the extra to Apollo because the quality seems more consistant, no bitter aftertaste with the fries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelagentDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Astro Burger is dynamite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I'd have to say this is the best place for Pastrami Burgers I've been to. I haven't had there Gyro's, however, so can't comment on the other items of their grill. There fries are awesome as well. Large cut and delicious. Every time I drive by them I have the urge to eat there but probably only eat there once every couple years. But always good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrkeys1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astro Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing