We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Midvale
GreenLeadersGold level
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Only a mile off of I-15, this hotel is just right for the traveler. There are reasonable restaurants within walking distance. The room is clean and has a refrigerator - great for keeping our food for the drive. Breakfast is included in the room charge. The lovely woman who made breakfast was very attentive. She even gave us a bag of goodies for the trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yakherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffaniPino, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear yakhed fom Palo Alto, Ca,
Thank you very much for your kind review of our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City-South Midvale Utah. I am so happy that your experience was a memorable one at our Hotel. I am glad you found a good variety of great restaurants close to us, and I am sure Julie "Breakfast Lady" Will be pleased that you mentioned her and that her efforts to provide you with amazing customer service meets the standard you are used to from Holiday Inn Express.
We look forward to your next visit in SLC.
Travel Safely,
Tiffani Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    29
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
20
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here for a night to get in a last day of skiing in Utah on my way back to the airport from Jackson. The rooms were huge and it was a great value, but I definitely don't think it's anything above an average hotel. Clean, cheap, large, and does what it's supposed to (be a place to sleep close to Cottonwood Canyon), but by no means luxurious. Breakfast was pretty boring (basically only carbs), though it was free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcktravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffaniPino, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear whizcuz from New York City,NY,

I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
It is through our guest's feedback that we continue to learn how we
can continue to provide the quality experience that you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. We just launched our new breakfast that has many more healthy choices.
Please contact me personally if there is anything I can do to guarantee that your next stay is a memorable one.
Tiffani Pino
801-325-8100
tiffani@hiexpressslc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've stayed here 4 times now and have enjoyed each stay. The rooms are very up-to-date and clean. Many places to eat close by and easy to get to off the freeway. Definitely will continue to be my midway stop when I go to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffaniPino, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Matt C
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City- South Midvale
We appreciate the opportunity to provide you with great rooms and great service
on your Way To Las Vegas. We all look forward to Seeing you next time around.
Tiffani Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We are loyal Holiday Inn Express customers and this property did not disappoint! It SEEMS very new. We loved the doorbell type "Do not disturb" lights! Our room was very clean and well appointed. The staff was very courteous. When we were checking in the phone was also ringing and the clerk ignored the ring to attend to us "in person" customers. We were very impressed. Breakfast was well stocked, with plenty of seating. The breakfast staff was also very courteous. There are several chain restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29kindergartencuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffaniPino, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear 29kindergartencuties,
What a great 5 star review of our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake - South Midvale. I know our front desk staff will be thrilled when I share this review. Each member takes pride and ownership in making sure each guest has a memorable experience while staying with us. Julie our Breakfast Hostess will also appreciate your kind acknowledgments. We look forward to your next visit to our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake - South Midvale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I travel through the Salt Lake City metropolis heading south from Canada on hiking holidays, and it is always a struggle finding the right location for a stopover. The new Holiday Inn Express in Midvale is over a mile off the freeway, but in a marvelous location for dining. There are numerous good restaurants within a block, in a nice suburban city, and this time we discovered the Lone Star Steak House, the best yet. From the Union Boulevard, you enter the freeway on an interchange giving you a choice of the I-15 or the bypass I-215 (the easiest way to cross the inner city). I have stayed at other easy-on, easy-off locations such as Orem, but found there is no licensed dining available within walking distance in such industrial locations. Luckily, this time I decided to return to Midvale, where we stayed a week four years ago, and found the new HIE, renovated in the former Comfort Inn building. The building is very attractive inside and out, and the rooms bright and well furnished. They are suites, with a nice lounge area. This prime location is definitely worth the short detour off the Interstate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HieFrontdeskgal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Hikermeister,
I want to thank you for the Amazing 5 Star review of the Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake-South Midvale. Our Staff feel the same way you do about our convenient location , The restaurant options are plentiful, and I thank you for the compliments about how attractive our hotel is. All feedback is good and the fact you took the time to review us is wonderful. We look forward to your next stay at our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake-South Midvale.
Thank you
Tiffani Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights & had a wonderful time. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Our 3rd floor room was very clean-including the bathroom. Bathroom was always very well stocked with towels & amenities. Bed was very comfortable. Nice suite. Breakfast area very clean & well supplied. Very friendly hostess in breakfast area. This breakfast even had several gluten free options daily. Hot tub area clean & well stocked with towels. Felt very safe inside & out at this hotel. Close to many great eating establishments. Don't ski but enjoyed snowshoeing in Big Cottonwood Canyon. Brighton, Solitude, Alta & Snowbird resorts are 30-40 min from this hotel. We have stayed at this hotel 3 times now & have not been disappointed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms had great mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HieFrontdeskgal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Sherry B. (Bridge City Tx.)
We here at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale want to thank you
So very much for taking the time to give us such an amazing review. I am excited share this wonderful review with our entire team to let them know that their true pride and ownership in each members position is paying off.
Our entire staff works hard to provide each guest with a remarkable experience and its
nice to know that it is working in the departments that you mentioned including Housekeeping.
I know that Julie ( Breakfast Hostess) and our front desk staff are proud that you
noticed their efforts. We all look forward to your next visit to Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Nothing but good things to say about my stay. Staff was great. They allowed me an early check-in on arrival so I could ski that afternoon easily. Hotel was spotless - it looks very new. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midvale
1.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy
1.4 mi away
The Park Inn by Radisson Salt Lake City – Midvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Union Park
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City/Cottonwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale

Property: Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale
Address: 7134 S 700 E, Midvale, UT 84047-5758 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Midvale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Midvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South - Midvale,2014 Trip Advisor Certificate Of Excellence Winner.Where a stay with us is sure to be a memorable one! Built Brand new in May 2011, our hotel is the newest and most modern hotel in the Salt Lake Valley Area. Our beautiful 100% non smoking an Pet Free hotel is conveniently located off I-15 / I-215 and within walking distance to a large variety of restaurants and shopping as well as a short distance from Downtown Salt Lake City, 4 world class ski resorts, and the Wasatch mountains full of outdoor activities all year round. Experience luxurious accommodations and a host of thoughtful amenities such as a complimentary breakfast buffet featuring our signature hot breakfast items served daily, indoor pool / whirlpool, enhanced bath experience, business center, fitness area, wired and wireless high speed Internet access. Nestled in a quiet location along the foothills of the majestic Wasatch Mountains, our centralized location places you near Salt Lake City, Park City, Orem, Provo, Sandy, West Jordan, West Valley and the Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Guest will enjoy popular attractions and destinations such as Big and Little Cottonwood Canyons, Alta, Snowbird, Brighton, Solitude, Temple Square, Energy Solutions Arena (Utah Jazz), Rice Eccles Stadium (U of U), The Great Salt Lake, Antelope Island, Southtown Exposition Center, Rio Tinto Stadium, Timpanogos Cave, Historic Wheeler Farm, Thanksgiving Point and Cabelas and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing