We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Midvale
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Looked for a hotel in this area so that we could go to all ski Mts nearby. Great location, near I- 215, 50 mins. To Park city, 25 mins. To Solitude and Brighton, and 40 mins. To Alta Snowbird by car. Staff at hotel always helpful even late at night. Breakfast woman was a delight, always asking about a day, and even packed us a goodie bag to put in our backpack. Room was great with living room in between bed and bathroom. Chain restaurants all within walking distance. Quiet location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write your comments regarding your ski vacation in Salt Lake City and surrounding areas. Your kind words and satisfaction are a reflection on the entire staff here at Holiday Inn Express and I will pass your comments on to our team. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Salt Lake/Midvale area.

Regards,
Denise McConkay
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 89 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here on a recent ski trip. The location may at first be out in the suburbs. Once you get there you enjoy using the UTA ski bus services and see the great selection of restaurants and a "Smiths" supermarket all within walking distance.
The accommodation is impressive new'ish building with lots of guest facilities: room available to store skis, pool, guest laundry. The rooms were modern, reasonably well equipped, modern and comfy. The room has a fridge, microwave and a coffee machine for convenience (even has decaf). The room interiors are a soft mustard decor. The room has great insulation and is easy to heat and cool. The aircon system was bit noisy, but not to bad by North American standard. (For some reason hotels have not found reverse cycle air-conditioning with digital controls and variable fan speeds).
The room has a digital safe. However, the safe is only attached to the wall with two small screws and the unit was a bit loose, so they should re-install the units with more secure attachments.
I stayed in room 326 king room. It was spacious, had free WIFI with a strong signal strength. The front door had either a good seal or an offset lock mount as I found that the lock did not always engage when closed. It needed a bit of force (push/pull).

Breakfast is included with a selection of cereals, breads (bagels), fruit, yoghurt, a pancake machine and some cooked foods like scrambled eggs and ham/bacon. Plenty of coffee and hot drinks too! Although the breakfast selection got a bit to repetitive after a week there. (How about something different on a weekend).

For skiers the UTA bus stop is about 100 meters away and is a great and cheap service for those who don't want to drive a car. The resorts have plenty of day lockers to use. I highly recommend using the UTA bus system.

I was unfortunate to contract influenza on my visit to North America. I had to endure some awful days of symptoms to get over the virus, however this place was comfortable and I got looked after. The reception is 24hrs. Upon extending my stay reception was able to honour the room rate for me for the duration of my extended stay.

This was probably the best value stay I had in North America. Ideal place for budget skiers and travellers. A quality accommodation choice. Be sure to visit the "Buffalo Wild Wings" restaurant for great hot wings, beer and widescreen sport!

Room Tip: Honesty, all the rooms would be equally good. This place is relatively new and well equipped and fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlpineAndyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We want to thank your for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. Even though we strive on a daily basis to provide our guests with a great place to stay and call home while traveling, it is always good to hear from our guests on the services that were provided. We hope that Holiday Inn Express in Midvale will be your choice for accommodations next time you visit the area.

Thank You,
Denise Mcconkay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Newish, Clean, bright hotel. No complaints here. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are large, we were in there for 3 weeks and found we had plenty of space. There was nothing we would change about the hotel or the service. We were in Utah on a ski trip, and chose to stay in this hotel as the bus stop is out the front which takes you straight to Alta, Snowbird, Brighton and Solitude. We did have a hire car which we used to go to Park City, Canyons, Deer Valley (40 minute drive) and Snowbasin (1 hour drive). Breakfast was great - plenty of choice. And again, the staff were fantastic always up for a chat over breakfast and offering advice on ski locations and places to eat. The Hopper Brewery which is about 300m from the hotel is a great place to eat.

Room Tip: We were top floor facing the car park and had no noise. In saying that the hotel is set off the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mish1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your ski vacation and that Holiday Inn Express in Midvale was your choice for accommodations during your 3 week stay. It is a pleasure to be of service to all of our guests and provide them with a clean, comfortable, relaxing and friendly atmosphere while away from home. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a comment on your stay and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Salt Lake Area.

Regards,
Denise McConkay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A few lights off the freeway but situated near tons of shopping and restaurants makes this smaller, 3 year old hotel very convenient. They forgot to clean our room one day but were apologetic. The complimentary breakfast is decent with one major drawback: the "automatic" pancake machine rarely worked during our stay and produced flat, stiff, devoid of flavor pancakes. They need to change this out to the personal waffle maker or something similar if they want to brag about the breakfast. But the staff is friendly and enthusiastic especially hard working Julie who even had a smile while working on Christmas Day. The "executive" rooms were comfortable and the free wi-fi and HD TV channels were a plus. The fitness room could use some free weights. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank BBBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. It is always great to hear from our guests regarding the their stay. Once again we thank you for your comments and hope to see you again while visiting the Salt Lake Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express should be a training station for other Holiday Inn's. The people are so friendly and helpful, starting with Rick on the front desk. Place was spotless, breakfast area was clean and well stocked with food and fresh coffee. Many shopping areas around the hotel and resteraunts. Will stay here again when in the Salt Lake area. Bedding package was great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mas4467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express in Midvale, Utah. We are please to hear that you found your stay to be pleasant and everything you were looking for in a hotel. We take pride in our facility and staff as they work hard to create an environment where our guests can feel at home, relaxed and comfortable. Once again thank you for your comments.

Denise McConkay/Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lookimg for a place outside of Salt Lake City and on our way to Moab, we chose the Hooiday Inn Express in Midvale. This is one of the nicest hotels In that chain that we have found. The rooms were exceptionally large and everything seemed a step up from the average. Would definitely recommend this hotel. There is a very good restaurant right across the street called Epic. Food excellent and very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretL377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express in Midvale. It is always a pleasure to hear from our previous guests regarding their view of our property, our customer service and their overall experience. We are hopeful that the next time you are in our area we have the privilege to be of service to you once again.

Regards,
Denise McConkay
Sale Manager-Holiday Inn Express SLC South-Midvale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn Express because it had so many good reviews and that is very important to me when making my choice of a hotel. My daughter and I stayed for five days while she was getting settled in a new job and apartment. The hotel was beautiful and clean and we felt very safe there. The breakfasts were delicious, and the hot items were changed daily.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesummersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Express here in Midvale, Utah. Our staff strive daily to see that our guests have everything they might need during their stay, and that they have a clean and comfortable place to relax and enjoy their time away from home.
Thanks again,
Denise McConkay
Sales Manager/Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midvale
0.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray
1.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Park Inn by Radisson Salt Lake City – Midvale
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Midvale
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Midvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale

Address: 7134 S 700 E, Midvale, UT 84047-5758 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Midvale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Midvale
Price Range: $103 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South - Midvale,2014 Trip Advisor Certificate Of Excellence Winner.Where a stay with us is sure to be a memorable one! Built Brand new in May 2011, our hotel is the newest and most modern hotel in the Salt Lake Valley Area. Our beautiful 100% non smoking an Pet Free hotel is conveniently located off I-15 / I-215 and within walking distance to a large variety of restaurants and shopping as well as a short distance from Downtown Salt Lake City, 4 world class ski resorts, and the Wasatch mountains full of outdoor activities all year round. Experience luxurious accommodations and a host of thoughtful amenities such as a complimentary breakfast buffet featuring our signature hot breakfast items served daily, indoor pool / whirlpool, enhanced bath experience, business center, fitness area, wired and wireless high speed Internet access. Nestled in a quiet location along the foothills of the majestic Wasatch Mountains, our centralized location places you near Salt Lake City, Park City, Orem, Provo, Sandy, West Jordan, West Valley and the Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Guest will enjoy popular attractions and destinations such as Big and Little Cottonwood Canyons, Alta, Snowbird, Brighton, Solitude, Temple Square, Energy Solutions Arena (Utah Jazz), Rice Eccles Stadium (U of U), The Great Salt Lake, Antelope Island, Southtown Exposition Center, Rio Tinto Stadium, Timpanogos Cave, Historic Wheeler Farm, Thanksgiving Point and Cabelas and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing