We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful in a Central European Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Midvale
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a prepaid reservation made through Expedia which the hotel was not going to honor. After a long day of driving, they were going to place in a smoking room and were unwilling to call sister properties to move us. We had to go through a stressful front desk confrontation to have the reservation honored. Very unpleasant. Fox News on television in the breakfast room the next morning to top everything off.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoHistProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSMIDVALE, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests feel welcomed and important. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 617 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

I am a Hilton Honors Diamond member, so I've stayed at many Hilton properties throughout the United States. I was in SLC for business, and this Homewood Suites was close to where I needed to be. The hotel is average, but the room I had had an odd smell that worsened when the AC would come on. Not sure if the filters needed cleaned, but the smell was almost overwhelming as the night progressed. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameyabrusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSMIDVALE, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the bad smell during your stay and area actively taking steps to freshen our guest rooms. We understand that travel is very important and try to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us In the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a wonderful one night stay at Homewood Suites in Midvale. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was clean, spacious, and came with all amenities that we needed. The location of our room was great. We were on the first floor right next to the swimming pool, which my kids enjoyed after a long day in the car. The water temperature of the pool was perfect. Loved the breakfast--eggs and sausage. When we checked in, they had delicious cookies. On the morning of our departure, the manager had taken the time to make a thank you card. I appreciated all the details that the hotel staff went through to ensure that we were comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSMIDVALE, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you very much for the great comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Overall this is a nice property, that was exceptionally clean and provided me with a massive 2 Bedroom room, well before state check in-time. The problem here was due to the questionable placement of a basketball court in the courtyard of the hotel. Therefore, during the day (through 10pm!) there would be the periodic thudding of a basketball throughout the interior rooms. Personally, this was awful for me since I had to wake up at 3:45am to catch an early flight. As the basketball was still bouncing at 9:45pm, I called the front desk to ask them what time the court closed. When I expressed my disbelief at the placement of the court, the response was the court had to be there on the property for insurance reasons. I think they missed the point.

Room Tip: Request an exterior facing room to avoid the basketball court(yard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobo_ent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSMIDVALE, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of sleep. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. We have adjusted the time of the court closing to 9 pm. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests feel welcomed and important. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was a nice hotel, but certainly older and beginning to show it's age. The breakfast was every bit as good as all Homewood Suites. If we go back to the Salt Lake City area, I would probably look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSMIDVALE, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. Thanks again for staying! We enjoyed having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The fact that they have dinner 4 days out of the week was a great plus for us. The meals were complete and fairly good. Some were actually pretty healthy!

Breakfast started getting boring by the 3rd day, but they do have pretty much all the breakfast foods plus extras.

Rooms were not as fresh smelling as I had hoped. I think in the late night I could smell the sewer coming from the bathroom. Remedied that by shutting the door most of the time. Overall, clean friendly hotel at a decent price. Next to many restaurants (chain and local).

Ski resorts about 40 min away. Didn't hit any traffic at all the way there. Would stay here again when I visit Salt Lake.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onesmallrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSMIDVALE, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. Thanks again for staying! We enjoyed having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very good hotel experience overall. We (family of 3) stayed at this hotel for 1 week and were very pleased. We enjoyed the quick access to the slopes (both by bus and by car) and we also enjoyed being able to make our own meals. The breakfast was so-so but since we could make our own meals this was not a problem. The beds were extremely comfortable and although we stayed on the first floor we did not feel the hotel smelt "smokey". The internet was a little slow and the rooms probably need a little update (compared to newer hotels) but overall our experience was positive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbass9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWSMIDVALE, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. Thanks for the great comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midvale
0.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#23 of 76 in Salt Lake City
739 reviews
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Midvale
1.6 mi away
The Park Inn by Radisson Salt Lake City – Midvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Midvale
3.5 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City/Cottonwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy

Address: 844 E North Union Ave, Midvale, UT 84047-5111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Midvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Midvale
Price Range: $133 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton- Salt Lake City Midvale/Sandy. With each stay, enjoy: daily breakfast, weekly managers evening reception featuring light meals and complimentary beer and wine, and free in-room WiFi. Our central location places you within easy access to all that Salt Lake City/Sandy/Midvale have to offer with year round activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Midvale Hotel Midvale
Homewood Suites Midvale
Homewood Midvale
Hilton Midvale
Midvale Hilton
Midvale Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing