We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A below average LaQuinta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Midvale
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I love LaQuinta for budget hotel stays. This particular one though is very below average for a LaQuinta. The hotel is very worn -- the carpets need to be replaced, etc. The sheets on our bed were literally in shreds on the edge. It's clean enough, I suppose, but I expect more from LaQuinta. The pillows are about 4 inches high and hard. Then there was the continental breakfast, which is always a plus for LaQuinta. Not at this place! There was no "fresh fruit" and when I asked about bagels or english muffins, I was told that they "took them off." The coffee was watered-down Maxwell house-type coffee. We had planned to stay for 5 nights, but we checked out after one night. When the front desk asked why, we told her, and she said they were going to be renovating in 4 months. Well they need it! I would avoid this place until after they renovate. There are other options!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmpjcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 425 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank noelh419
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A La Quinta traveler
Penn Valley, California, USA
11
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great experience. Clean rooms, great staff, quiet at night. Easy access from interstate. Food and shopping nearby. Needs walkway from motel to pool, otherwise, great place to stay. Recommended it to other family members who then joined us for a week.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank 213marciag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. Here is what we've experienced:

First night: we got a clean room, good mattrasses, nice view on mountains, free wifi, fan in bathroom didn't work, free parking. Second day: Heating stopped working. We got a new room on the same floor. New room: wifi wasn't working. We were asked to call a service number. After calling them it was fixed for that day. Next day we had to call the same number again to make the wifi work, after then it worked constantly. When we moved to the second room, one of the beds didn't look as if they had fresh sheets, or maybe people were using the bed to sit on and have stuff on, we decided not to use this bed and shared a full size bed for the next days. Mattrass was good though. View wasn't that nice any more, but acceptable. Breakfast is ok, but ok only, they have 2 good waffle makers. Activia Yoghurt, apples, muffins, toast, milk and few cereals, boiled eggs, orange and apple juice, coffee. Gym is small, which wouldn't be a problem. Unfortunately no TV in Gym, but what did bother me, was that there were no disinfection wipes or something to clean the equipment with and the handles felt sticky. So I didn't feel good to use it. Didn't use the pool, so cannot say anything about that. The location is good though, right after the exit from the highway, but still quiet from the street. Anyway, the rooms are not so quiet, when the neighbor takes a shower or flushes the toilet, you need to make the TV louder. Good thing.... Flat screen TV and couple channels to watch. All in all, we would come back to the hotel, it's ok for the price, friendly staff. And the mattrasses are really comfortable. To me it didn't look old, maybe they did some renovations. There are restaurants in walking distance and shopping about 2+ miles away. I hoped to have a refrigerator and microwave, but there was nothing. Well, it's cold outside and so we used the car as refrigerator :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank 324FrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Let's start with the positive. The young lady who greeted us at the desk was courteous and surprisingly knowledgeable about the LaQuinta points system. Our room had a king-size bed that was very, very comfortable.

The first downside to this stay was that we found a hair in the bathtub, and it was not a hair from the head. I realize the cleaning staff has a tough job to get things nice and clean, but this is something that is a real turnoff. The bathtub/shower was very old and patched up in many places. The fiberglass around the drain was very soft. Also, the drain on the tub and on the sink seemed to be clogged because they would take a very long time to drain. I noticed that there was some garbage laying outside one of the back doors that we frequently used. It remained there during our two nights there, so it doesn't seem as if anyone is cleaning the outside of the property on a frequent basis.

The continental breakfast was just okay. Yogurt, pastries, boiled eggs, etc. Nothing fancy, but enough if you are not really a breakfast person, which I am not.

Overall, it was slightly below average. I probably would not stay here again if possible. Most of my recent LaQuinta stays have been average or below. I think I will find a new "go to" motel/hotel chain that is a little more consistent in quality among the properties.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMKHSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midvale
0.2 mi away
The Park Inn by Radisson Salt Lake City – Midvale
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Midvale
2.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Union Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray
2.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
729 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale

Address: 7231 S Catalpa Rd, Midvale, UT 84047-7396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Midvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Midvale
Price Range: $66 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn, Midvale Utah is a 100% Non Smoking Property (effective May 1, 2012) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale Hotel Midvale
La Quinta Midvale
Midvale La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing