We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveler rating
218
377
121
32
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
377
121
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areathe riverswinging steakthe san juan rivermonument valleyhat rocknice poolhot tubpalm treesin townroom was cleanfire pitsecond floormicrowave and refrigeratorsmall towngas stationdown the road
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 760 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hat Rock Inn is no frills motel right on the main road, but has nice, clean, and large rooms, which look newly decorated. The swimming pool area is really nice and overlooks the river. There is no restaurant but we walked over to Mexican Hat Lodge and had a Swingin' Steak, which I would recommend! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We drove from Las Vegas to Monument Valley in one day. We did an evening tour and needed somewhere to sleep, this was all that was on offer. The place was clean-ish, the floor felt gritty, the window latch in our room was broken, the wi-fi didn't work and the closest food was an over-priced and under whelming 'swinging-steak'. If we weren't caught in the middle of nowhere after a 14 hour day we would not have stayed here, but there is little choice. We paid $120 not including tax which for what we received was ludicrously over-priced.
My advice; fly in see the sights and fly out.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Fuzzynco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This a good place for an overnight stop close to Monument Valley and Valley of the Gods. The hotel is located next to the San Juan river where there is a nice outside pool. We had an upstairs room at the riverside. You could sit on the balcony and watch the pretty surroundings.
Since we stayed there out of season, the restaurant was closed. We went to the nearby Olde Bridge for dinner and breakfast. The room rate is rather high for this type of hotel.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor facing the river is preferable for the view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

In almost every way this is a very nice place and probably the best choice for Mexican Hat or Bluff. But that comes with a big caveat: the Wifi is abysmally, embarrassingly slow! If all you were doing here is checking emails, it may take up to 5-10 minutes JUST to download your emails, the wifi is so slow. I run a business from the road, and get between 150-200 emails a day. Usually I work for at least 2-3 hours each morning on those, and another hour or so in the afternoon. I won't be willing again to spend over $100 a day for a hotel that can't supply this simple need. No hotel has what we'd all call blindingly fast wifi, but I've never encountered anything like this. And it only stays active for 30 minutes, so that screen is constantly popping up for another login!.

The rooms here are very nice, big flat screens with lots of TV stations, good size mini fridge with micro, very comfortable, and great location right on the San Juan River. Close to Valley of the Gods, Monument Valley, the ruins/rock art of Bluff, and you could even take a day trip to Hovenweep NM from here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

One of the best places we stayed at in the US. Free WiFi, Restaurant down the road, a bar offering steaks next door and stunning desert scenery. However due to Utah's liquor laws anything but low alcohol beer or cider is very hard to source. Better to take in supplies from AZ.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the San Juan River
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews