We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better customer service”
Review of Hat Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexican Hat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hat Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexican Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better customer service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

First of all when entering to register the person who greeted us was not to freindly. I liked the room, nice fridge, microwave and toiletries. Nice view. Only had free Internet for 30 minutes then had to pay. No breakfast or water. The pool and hot tub are really nice. The town is really small, only 2 restaurants, no grocery store. Overall if I did this again I would probably stay at another town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    337
    120
    30
    12
See reviews for
156
356
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this motel on our recent trip to the National Parks. It was a bit of a drive to the parks, but the cost factor made it worth while. Our room was clean and comfortable. Our granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed the pool. The folks at the front desk were very nice and very informative about the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

While not the fanciest place you'll ever stay, it is located close to Monument Valley. Be sure to get in by 11pm otherwise you may not get your room. The San Juan river runs right past the back of the hotel. Also the Mexican Hat rock is less than a mile away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A good choice for those who want to stay close to Monument Valley. This is a nice motel with a great pool. The management has gone out of there way to accommodate the needs of the guests. Also recommend diner at the Swinging Steak a short walk up the road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

There are only a few motels/inns in Mexican Hat and I would not hesitate to stay again at the Hat Rock Inn. The room was large, the beds comfortable and the furnishings clean and satisfactory.
The bathroom was well stocked and the towels were soft and smelt great.
The pool is set on the edge of a bluff overlooking thre river San Juan and the scenery is stunning.
It looks as though the hotel is adding to the patio and paved areas outside of the pool area, so it will probably be even better in future.
There is a walkway down to the river and it is possible to walk to the few other restaurants and Shell garage from the hotel.(Mexican Hat is very isolated.)
I do not recommend 'The Swinging Steak ' restaurant however. Vastly overpriced, and on our visit, plagued by hundreds of flies which made eating not a pleasurable experience, rather one which was' let's get out of here as quickly as we can'. We were sitting outside and when we asked if we could move into the more covered area, we were told no as we were only a party of two; but they did give us a fly swatter!!! In addition, this was the only restaurant on our holiday, when we travelled 1800 miles from Denver to Los Angeles, where an automatic gratuity of 18% was added for 'customer's convenience'.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the Inn overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, ct
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ended up staying at the Hat Rock Inn, because we couldn't find any accommodation in Kayenta or Monument Valley, and the other available accommodations in Mexican Hat didn't look right. I have to say that the exterior the the motel (and the apathetic lady in the office) were not promising, but the room was well kept, clean and with an acceptable decoration (ours had even two microwaves).
The swimming pool and it's deck it is not something you would expect from a motel. Yet, it is strange that no showers were available at the pool (showering prior entering the pool should be a rule).
The beach on the river is non-existent, and once by the bank you'll have to fight huge ants, but it's worth the while to walk down the little path in the afternoon, for the nice scenery.
Unsurprising, we were recommended the only two restaurants in town, but our experience was not good.
The road from Mexican Hat to Monument Valley is awesome.

Room Tip: Definitely, the rooms facing the river (in the back of the building), preferably ground floor, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Sweet little motel with great pool overlooking a little river.
Rooms are perfect, clean with good beds. Just the airco a little noisy but since the nights are cooling down not always necessary to use it.

Great steakhouse next door.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JPVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexican Hat
18.4 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
19.1 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
219 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mokee Motel
Mokee Motel
#1 of 5 in Bluff
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Juan Inn
San Juan Inn
#2 of 2 in Mexican Hat
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hat Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hat Rock Inn

Property: Hat Rock Inn
Address: 120 U.S. Hwy 163 Scenic, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mexican Hat
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexican Hat
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 Rooms - King & Queen beds. Salt water swimming pool overlooking the San Juan River. 22 miles north of Monument Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hat Rock Hotel Mexican Hat
Hotel Hat Rock
Hat Rock Inn Mexican Hat, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing