We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hat Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mexican Hat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hat Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexican Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“overpriced stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is nice but extremely overpriced at $171 which includes taxes. Room was ok. Have to say the pool and spa is nice with a nice view. They are building a nice patio on the second floor. I enjoyed sitting there this morning reading a book while my family was sleeping. $100 would be fine for the room. The one thing I have noticed about Mexican Hat is everything is way overpriced. The have it in for the tourists, especially the foreign ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    327
    115
    29
    12
See reviews for
147
343
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to the room. It was decorated and painted nicely and the beds were absolutely WONDERFUL! I didn't want to get up! The room had a microwave and a fridge and a flat screen TV. The biggest surprise was when I went out to the pool one night. The pool area is huge and has many comfy lounge chairs and a second level that overlooks the river. The hot tub holds at least 10 people and they had an area with a picnic table and a fire pit that overlooked the river. The people were not especially friendly but I would stay here again for sure! Oh--I booked online for a higher price than was currently being offered and the girl checking me in gave me the cheaper price, which saved me 20 bucks a night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

There were some things in this area that we wanted to see, and there are not a lot of accommodations nearby. If we had not made a reservation in advance, we would have driven to a larger town, which was an hour or so away. There is a nice swimming pool at this hotel, and the river is right in back. It was very quiet and rural. The restaurant here is closed, and the person at the front desk did not know if/when it would open. The room did have a coffee maker, fridge, microwave, and the bathroom had been redone with nice fixtures, and toiletries (shampoo/shower gel/conditioner/lotion) in a dispenser. There was a large flat-screen TV and lots of channels. Everything was good, just a little pricey. There are a couple of restaurants in town, but like the motel, they are also a little pricey.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room at the back - overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugs-LewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked this motel last minute over the net not expecting too much as there really is not too much choice in the way of motels this side of Monument Valley. We were really pleasently surprised. The rooms are really clean & tidy with comfy beds, free WiFi, the air conditioner in the room was fantastic (110f the day we arrived) and the back drop setting of the pool and hot tub is spectacular. Get up early to see the sunrise then go down to the river below before it gets to hot its worth the walk. They have the sunrise and sunset times printed up in the lobby. Would definatly stay again.

Room Tip: Its double storey so any one with heavy luggage request a down stairs room and the rooms out the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmrlsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The previous review that called the owner a hot head pretty much sums it up. I was part of the group of motorcyclists that the owner of the hotel accosted. And yes most of us are professional type folks. If you look at the demographics for motorcyclists you will find that most of us don't fall into the rough and rowdy crowd that we are stereotyped with. Nobody was loud or out of control. The owner made way more noise screaming at the top of her lungs than the group that was outside. She was definitely drunk and the part about her slinging gravel all over the place is no exaggeration. The person who knocked on the door of the non biker guest was trying to be courteous and make sure we weren't disturbing them. We would have gone some where else if that was the case. I had to stay in this place after being turned away at the Mexican Hat Lodge even though I had a confirmation in hand. The room was average at best. I have stayed in nicer motel 6's. Definitely over priced at $153.00. The whole town of Mexican Hat doesn't seem to really care about customer service but they sure don't mind taking as much of your money as they can. It is pretty obvious that the family who runs this place and the Mexican hat lodge take advantage of the limited lodging situation. The only good part about this town is it's proximity to monument valley and the San Juan River. I can't speak for my riding friends, but I definitely won't be back. My trusty tent and sleeping bag will come with me if I ever have to come back through this awful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here only one night on our way to Monument Valley. The rooms were clean and adequate. This is probably the best hotel option near Mon Valley; there aren't a lot of choices. The pool and hot tub were the best part! It looks like other updates are in progress. Also - really no reasonable restaurant options around. We went to Old Bridge Grille, which was pretty bad.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back for a nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerraleeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

1. Turned away other confirmed motorcycle riders to. ake room for non-motorcycle guests.

2. Made no mention of a gathering area nearer to the river that we could have used.

3. Put a (so called by her, the owner) "75 yr old" woman in between the rooms of our riding group when most of us booked our rooms in January for this June trip.

4. After riding all day, we return (a little after 10pm) to find the hot tub & pool closed. We sit on the back side of the building to chat & have a beer. No music - Just chat and talk about the ride through Moneument Valley.

5. The owner comes flying around the corner skiding to a stop in her van yelling for us to "Shut it down. I'm the owner of this place!"

6. Apparently one of our riders knocked on the door of the elderly woman to ask if we were keeping her up or bothering her. We did not know she was an elderly woman. We only knew the room wasn't occupied by one of our fellow riders. She was scared and called the front desk. However the front desk is Closed so the call is forwarded to the Owner that is at the bar! This woman was mad that she had to leave the bar to respond, when the whole situation could have been avoided by letting us know about the gathering area and/or not putting a 75 yr old woman in a room surrounded by "bikers". The room was probably reserved by one of us bikers in the first place!

If we would have been told about the gathering area, we would have been in that area away from the hotel. It would have been nice to know that the pool & hot tub closed at 10pm too. Not sure why a hot tub closes when the sun goes down since it was not being used when it's +90° during the day...... I suspect the room that was rented to the elderly woman was reserved by a fellow rider that got turned away since we pretty much had every room rented except that one, otherwise who would put an elderly woman in the middle of 30 bikers?

The facility is nice, but the owner (woman) was a Total [--]!!! Will never book a room here again unless the place gets a new owner. $140 for a bed & a shower only to be treated like crap. I'll take a tent & sleeping bag next time.

BTW, we're not the typical stereotyped bikers as in "gang". Most of us are professionals, work for a living, and ride $15,000+ motorcycles.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LateModel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexican Hat
21.2 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,531 reviews
18.4 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
19.1 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mokee Motel
Mokee Motel
#1 of 3 in Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
19.7 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hat Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hat Rock Inn

Property: Hat Rock Inn
Address: 120 U.S. Hwy 163 Scenic, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mexican Hat
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mexican Hat
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 Rooms - King & Queen beds. Salt water swimming pool overlooking the San Juan River. 22 miles north of Monument Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hat Rock Hotel Mexican Hat
Hotel Hat Rock
Hat Rock Inn Mexican Hat, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing