We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
222
387
120
32
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
387
120
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area hot tub the river swinging steak the san juan river monument valley nice pool hat rock palm trees room was clean in town fire pit second floor microwave and refrigerator cafe next door small town place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 773 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Take a trip from Albuquerque to Monument Valley in October and the Hotel View and Goulding had no rooms available, so my options were Kayenta or Mexican Hat ... I decided to Hat Rock Inn because of good recommendation from other travelers on TripAdvisor and make my reservation weeks in advance. It came the day ... it was already 2pm or 3pm and after eating at the restaurant I went to check the room ... perfect ... and before going to Monument Valley go to room to leave some things, I got to be on the second floor where there is a terrace with a descansets to admire the scenery, as the San Juan river is just a few steps away, at night when I get back I spent some time on the deck watching the starry night and the Wi-Fi signal is very good, in the morning the next day I left the keys in the dropbox and it would not yet have the hotel, I have to mention that it is an expensive hotel, but good choice.

Realice un viaje desde Albuquerque hasta Monument Valley en octubre y en el Hotel View y Goulding ya no habia cuartos disponibles, asi que mis opciones eran Kayenta o Mexican Hat... me decidi por Hat Rock Inn debido a la buena recomendacion de otros viajeros en TripAdvisor y realice mi reservacion con semanas de anticipacion. Se llego el dia... ya eran las 2pm o 3pm y despues de comer en el restaurant fui a hacer el registro de la habitacion... perfecto... y antes de ir a Monument Valley pase a la habitacion a dejar algunas cosas, me toco estar en el segundo piso donde hay una terraza con unos descansets para admirar el paisaje, ya que el rio San Juan esta a tan solo unos pasos del hotel, en la noche cuando regrese estuve un rato en la terraza contemplando la noche llena de estrellas y la señal del Wi-Fi es muy buena, en la mañana del dia siguiente deje las llaves en el buzon ya que todavia no habrian el hotel, tengo que mencionar que es un hotel caro, pero buena opción.

Room tip: Maybe second floor next to terrace.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CharlieGza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Location of this hotel is perfect. In between Valley of The Gods and Monument Valley. You just have to drive the 'forrest gump' road to get there. So perfect for the view.
It's on the main road but still quit at night.
Rooms are spacious, good beds en bathroom is oke.
At the side of the river they just build a new big and good swimmingpool with seperate whirlpool and lots of space to lounge on comfortable chairs. This area just need some paint and it's really good place in the heat.
On the first floor at the end of the balcony thet have a big balcony with some chairs to watch the stars at night.
Cars are parked in front of you own room.
So altough the hotel is not build recently it's looks like they doing some good stuff making it more modern.

Room tip: Both sides of the hotel are good. If you stay at the top floor at the end you're next to big balcony where you can sit and watch the stars. At the mountain/river side is also teh swimming pool. But even if you are staying at the road side it is very quit at night.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Rooms are comfortable and the small improvements like a covered patio area looking over the San Juan river will make this No1 in what is a very small town.

On arrival and to our surprise a new pool had just been opened and what a treat to go a late night swim and look at the brilliance of the night sky.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redexcels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our stay was most enjoyable. Housekeeping can do some improving especially in the area of bathroom facilities. However, food at the restaurant located just a short way from The Hat Rock Inn where steaks, hamburgers, etc. are barbecued outdoors was absolutely delicious. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hat Rock Inn was our seventh hotel around our west coast trip and this hotel is roughly thirty miles away from Monument Valley and It´s must, because we were in the middle of nowhere and there was only a good restaurant "Swing Steak" and it´s must as well.

We got to the hotel at six or seven o´clock in the afternoon, we made the check-in and quickly and the staff was friendly but not too much. The Front desk is nice and they have a nice lobby with sofas, armchairs and tables, we paid for this room a considerable amount of money 170$ and the breakfast wasn´t included, so in my opinion this hotel is quiet expensive but almost all hotels around Monument Valley were very expensive so we needed one of them.
We made the reservation on hat Rock Inn official website and on this page you can make your book and choose your room and it´s great.
We had a lot of parking facilities so we didn´t have any problems with our car.

When we made the check-in the recepcionist told us that they had a new swimming pool and the pool was opened until ten o´clock or eleven on the dot (I don´t remember very well) but when we got there, we were alone at the pool with amazing views and we had a great time I repeat it´s must

Our room was nº 102 (again because we had the same room number in other hotel but it was a coincidence) and all rooms in this hotel are no smoking room, and it was a great news for us because sometimes in other hotels their rooms smelt very bad when some people smoked indoor.
The room was very well, very clean, very big and it smelt well, the air condicioning worked properly and the carpet was clean, we had complimentary coffee, coffee pot, microwaves and a refrigerator and all of these machines worked good and also we had free internet in our room too.
The room had a king bed with two armchairs and a table and other furnitures but this room had a huge Tv (LCD) as well.

The bathroom was quite clean and we had fresh towels and gel and soap with a bathtub and shower and it worked properly.

Finally I would recommend a restaurant "The Swingin Steak " is close to the hotel and you will be able to eat good sirloin with good atmosphere, it isn´t cheap but anyway it ´s only one time in your life, up to you.

Ahhh One tip, if you make a book, you should take a room on the second floor because very often we heard a lot of steps and lot of noise when we were sleeping

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews