We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
760 results
Traveler rating
218
377
121
32
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
377
121
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areamonument valleythe riverswinging steakthe san juan riverhat rocknice poolhot tubpalm treesin townroom was cleanfire pitsecond floormicrowave and refrigeratorsmall towngas stationcoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 760 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the newly renovated Hat Rock Inn for one night in September 2011 as part of our 2000 mile road trip visiting places of interest within the states of Nevada, Utah, New Mexico and Arizona.
The Inn, situated in an isolated desert area, is a welcome oasis and great location to stay if you are visiting Monument Valley and other sites. Our room at the rear of the Inn quietly overlooked the red coloured river flowing past and we also enjoyed a fantastic sunset from the balcony; our room was cool, clean, well decorated with everything provided; the beds were very comfortable with clean crisp white linen. There is a gas station just up the road to fill up for the journey ahead.
For dinner we walked a short distance down to the San Juan Inn & Trading Post located at the bridge. Not appealing upon arrival with the dull bar area, however, once in situ at our table in the rear dining area, the food was excellent and the friendly staff made us feel welcome by way of their attentive service.
I definitely recommend the Hat Rock Inn for travellers to break their hot desert journey and as a convenient stop over to travel the short distance for a visit to Monument Valley.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

whilst this hotel is in a great location,the hotel itself left a lot to be desired considering the cost of this basic hotel,the staff were great,but the rooms are very average and if arriving late evening the outside lighting is inadequate going up rickety steps to the 2nd floor rooms-there is no lift,on our 14 day road trip from denver to vegas this by far the worst and most expensive stop-over

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaSmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here early October 2011. Great location, not too far from Monument Valley and other beautiful sites; clean and nicely decorated room. A friendly smile by the hotel staff would be nice though. Give it a try guys, a friendly smile will make your day as well!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erik-Elsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We only spent one night here on our way to Monument Valley but it was great. The rooms were clean, very comfortable and quiet. It would have been nice to stay longer. The Swinging Steak Restaurant just up the road was expensive but worth the visit for the experience and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second level, at the back overlooking the river are probably the pick.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1811027Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here in late October and booked online thru their website. We got excited as we booked a room on the second floor as recommended by another traveller. But when we checked in we were told that we could not get that room as it was winter and those rooms on the second floor had been stripped and not available - why offer them in the first place, I ask? That annoyance aside, i thought the reception staff on both check in and out were unfriendly and not helpful. But i don't think this is the intention of the owners, i think the only friendly person we encountered there was the owner! The room was really nice and very clean, and being off season, very quiet. We did have a good time there, the place is great, just service could have been improved! Also, good location from monument valley!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westermoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews