We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ugh” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swingin Steak

The Swingin Steak
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ugh”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Food tasteless, hand washing by chef non existant although he was handling wood etc, overpriced,definate tourist trap which we fell into, second night we bought sandwiches at garage opposite

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tracolDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    158
    91
    43
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only place to go for dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoy steak and this was recommended by the staff at the 'Hat Rock Inn' 2 minutes walk away - this was perfect. All served in a great atmosphere.
The menu is limited to steaks but they are good quality and perfectly cooked (as ordered). The salad was fresh with a good dressing and I enjoyed the beans.
Our waiter was busting his chops to keep everything moving and managed perfectly -we never ran out of beers but were never hassled, our steaks were delayed for a while (exactly as we had asked) and it arrived cooked exactly as we had asked.
There are a lot of restaurants that would do very well to learn from the waiter and the steak chef here - bring exactly what is ordered, when it's ordered and with a smile.
Worth a detour.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineRayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I think the only place to eat dinner in at Mexican Hat but don't worry (unless you are a vegetarian) - this place is quality. Big steaks ( quite big prices but probably due to location) good beer and good atmosphere! Staff are very friendly and know how to cook a good steak! It is an experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The steaks were cooked by a very surly 'cowboy' and served with sloppy beans with what can only be loosely described as salad. You eat outside, and there are lots of flies. The swinging bbq is a novelty to see, but not much more.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleIrvings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I went to Swinging Steak with three adult relatives and we all loved it. The outdoor Western atmosphere and music were delightful (we are not even country music fans) and the steaks sizzling on the swinging grill in view nearby looked very appetizing. We ordered the Rib Eye and it was delicious; excellent flavor, juicy, tender, and succulent. I still am salivating for it several days later! Could have eaten more. The Texas Toast was good too. The beans lacked zip at first, but I added hot sauce, salt and pepper and ate them together with the lettuce salad which was quite satisfying, and I don't even like red beans very much!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ercv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swingin Steak also viewed

 

Been to The Swingin Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing