We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot but watch the waiter”
Review of San Juan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Juan Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Mexican Hat B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great spot but watch the waiter”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was looking for accommodation in this fairly remote area having travelled through Arizona via Monument Valley and suddenly a beautiful spot on the river with greenery appeared. Welcoming woman at the desk; given a basic but very edequate room with opportunity to sit by the river. All so good; very relaxed.
Went to the restaurant feeling really good but met by the waiter who was so unwelcoming. Wanted a chat with a beer but was told off because I had not sat down !!! After sitting down and having my beer I was asked, "Are you finally ready to eat ?" The atmosphere was very frosty and my meal was not enjoyed. I gave a tiny appropriate tip and was met with a tirade of abuse.

So, a great spot but watch out for the abusive waiter !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    286
    172
    54
    35
See reviews for
160
309
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We chose the San Juan Inn for its location 20 minutes from Monument Valley, staying in late May 2013. Located on the main highway, it's one of only two accommodation options in Mexican Hat which is a little limiting. Check in is at the complex's shop, which is a little unclear, but it was very simple and we were quickly given keys to our room, albeit by rather surly staff. We had a double queen room on the first floor, which was simply decorated but clean. The bathroom was equally clean, with a strong shower and plenty of towels, which were much appreciated after a dusty day of hiking! Mexican Hat does not have many dining options, so we ended up eating at the San Juan diner on the same site and clearly co-owned. This was terribly overpriced and not great quality food but there was only one alternative (a steak place, which was even poorer value). Overall, this was not the best value place on our trip, with no breakfast included it really was expensive, but then again Monument Valley and its surrounds really has very few choices, so you sort of have to accept it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessKenny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked due to its location to monument valley - we could have actually pressed on to our next stop, but this place allowed us to have a break from driving.
The hotel is reasonable, better than I expected.
The diner had a good choice and was reasonably priced.
Beds where comfy and room was clean – couldn’t ask for much else

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Following a long but simply superb day driving to and through monument valley we found this hotel fairly late in the evening at about 9pm having been turned away by several others that were full. They had a room left which we booked. Tired and hungry we went to the grill bar on site where after being ignored by the bar staff for 10 minutes were told that they were closing. During the 10 minutes we witnessed another customer complaining that her bag had been stolen from the grill bar. We decided to go up the hill to a BBQ bar which was excellent. Wehn we returned we were kept awake to the early hours by the noisy group in the dining area. They eventually went and we managed to fall asleep only to be woken at 2am by the smoke alarm which then proceeded to beep loudly every 15 mins. I went to the office to inform staff but it was closed. In the morning I went to the office having had no sleep. When I told the girl on the desk she seeemed not to care and offered no appology. I asked to see the manager. She didn't care either and told me it was my fault for not reporting it. When I told her I was tired from no sleep she actually laughed at me. Apparently there's a a number for the night office written in the room handbook. There was no rrom handbook in our room and when I asked where it was kept she ignored me. I was told that it was all my fault not theirs. She eventually gave me a reluctant 20% discount. Worst hotel we stayed in out of all 26 hotels we stayed in accross the US. Strongly suggest you keep driving past this place.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexican Hat hotels

Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good value, clean hotel in an amazing location right on the San Juan river. Breakfast not included but there's a good grill onsite. Quite a good shop also, which was useful for buying the very necessary sun hat that we'd forgotten to pack!
Very close to both Monument Valley and Valley of the Gods. The real "Western" experience.

Room Tip: Arrive in time to eat in the grill. Last orders 8.30pm. Remember it's an hour ahead of Arizona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maldontraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is my third stay in three months. The staff is friendly enough, but not outgoing. The restaurant staff continues to be awesome and the food is great. The hotel wifi is perhaps the worst of any hotel that I've ever used. Ever. It disconnected me three times while writing this paragraph. Otherwise,the place is (now disconnected four times in about ten minutes), well, average. The price isn't bad for tourist season in southern Utah. Try the Stone Lizard in Blanding for a better rate, newer interior with an old exterior, friendlier hosts and much better wifi.

The river view is wonderful on a hot summer evening.

Just knocked off the Internet again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had doubts about staying in a yurt overnight instead of one of their hotel rooms, but we were thrilled to enter a very large yurt with all the conveniences imaginable, including a skylight looking up to the night sky and sleeping for FOUR, although we only needed one bed. We will henceforth always choose a yurt anywhere they're available over a boring hotel room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerylV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexican Hat
18.6 mi away
Desert Rose Inn & Cabins
19.3 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#3 of 3 in Bluff
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
La Posada Pintada
La Posada Pintada
#1 of 1 in Bluff
228 reviews
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Inn

Property: San Juan Inn
Address: Hwy 163 and the San Juan River, P.O. Box 310276, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mexican Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mexican Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Juan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Juan Inn is nestled along the cliffs of the San Juan River 20 miles north of Monument Valley Tribal Park. All rooms face the river, with the upper rooms having a view of the river. The lower rooms have direct access to the patios overlooking the river and its' colorful redrock cliffs. The Olde Bridge Grille, which is located on property, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7 am-9pm daily. This Grille is a Native Navajo run enterprise. The motel office is located in the historic trading post. We pride ourselves for buying our Navajo rugs directly from the weaver. Having a well stocked grocery store, general store and curio shop, we run the trading post pretty much as it was in the early 1900s. Come join us! The Navajo people are shy but welcoming, the beauty of the land unsurpassed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Juan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Mexican Hat
San Juan Monument Valley
San Juan Inn Mexican Hat, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing