We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family run mountain”
Review of Beaver Mountain

Beaver Mountain
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Logan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular ski and snowboard resort area with plenty of varied terrain to accomodate all tastes and abilities.
Danville, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice family run mountain”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our first trip to Beaver Mountain was their closing day, unfortunately. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We had a nice time there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HollyK443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've been skiing Beaver Mountain for eighteen years. Why? Because it's close, very affordable, and most importantly, offers a vast variety of terrain. Best of all, being off the beaten path and so far from the Wasatch Front, there is not the throngs of tourists like that of the mega-resorts near Salt Lake City.

Beaver Mountain faces the northeast and is behind a 9500' front range, so the mountain does not see major snowfall, however, having that northeast face preserves what snow is received.

I only have on gripe. On busy days, about a half dozen of the staff are assigned to direct patrons where to park. I understand there should be some order to the chaos. For instance, once you park, turn off the motor, and get out, they'll approach you and ask that you move your car another foot in one direction or another. Totally superfluous. Not only can this be inconvenient, but I don't want my new car scratched. Aside from that, I think the owners of the resort would have a fit if they saw what I saw this last weekend: two of the parking staff using orange spray paint and packed snow to make a turtle. Glad I'm not cutting their payroll check...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank utahskibum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Cache Valley CLASSIC, Simple & Sweet!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beaver Mtn. is one of the last (possibly the last) family owned ski resorts left in Utah. What does that mean for you and me, the consumers? Lower lift ticket prices and a great hometown feel, with none of that corporate nonsense you get in Park City. The Beav is a little on the small side, but you can still find plenty of places to throw down some fresh tracks days after a fresh blanket of powder has fallen. There is a wonderful beginners area, I have been teaching my 5 year-old daughter to snowboard there and she is having a GREAT time and she seriously LOVES the magic carpet. It is so much easier than those old school tow ropes that kids ALWAYS biff it on. The magic carpet is basically a moving walkway built for skis and boards... and as a parent I love it too.

When you hit The Beav without kids, there is a wide range of runs for different experience levels. I personally love to snowboard the trees and make new tracks... and there is plenty of great back country and side country access points. However, The Beav also has a great Park Crew as well, and those guys keep the terrain parks in great condition, always changing things up and trying new features out.

"The Beav" just has that sweet hometown feel to it. it is not very big, but it is not small either (like Wolf Mtn. for example) it is East facing, which is great for sunshine, and lift prices are reasonable. The lodge was recently expanded and the food is great. The staff... from the ticket office to the lifties are all very friendly and cool. GO HIT THE BEAV, you'll love it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, UT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Snow. Mom and Pop owned resort.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

You have to be a local to appreciate Beaver Mountain. There is no lodging available and it's not as commercialized as most other ski resorts (I like that!). There is a vertical drop of more than 1600 feet. During the week, you'll hardly find any kind of lines, and the prices, while higher than I'd like to pay, are relatively inexpensive compared to larger, more commercial resorts.

Beaver grooms their trails more than I prefer, but there are a lot of open places to ski powder. If you're there after a good snowfall and you're an expert skiier, the backside of the mountain has some of the best snow available during the more colder winter months. It has a more southern exposure and has a tendency to soften up after the sun has hit it in later February. There is no lift there, but a catwalk is available about 2/3 the way down the mountain. Don't miss it, though, otherwise you'll have to hitch hike or walk back once you get to the bottom. Do not snowboard here as the catwalk is your only way back. Without the use of poles to push you along, it will be a long hike back to the top of Little Beaver where the trail eventually takes you. Besides, I don't want knuckle-draggers mucking up my powder! :-)

Harry's Dream lift gets you everywhere on the mountain. Marge's triple doesn't have quite the vertical so you don't have near as much slope to work with. Little Beaver is the most difficult hill for beginners I've ever encountered. If you learn to ski on it, you're off to a great start. However, with the installation of the new lift, it has opened up a much more gentle slope for beginners. Also, I have nothing but good to say about the ski school and one of the few volunteer ski patrols in the country.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thayne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

As ski lodges go we have seen better and we have seen worse. Lodge is pretty well maintained most of the time. Hill is nice.

Helpful?
Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Mountain also viewed

Logan, Wasatch Range
Logan, Wasatch Range
 
Logan, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Beaver Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing