We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Layton
Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Room for Improvement”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

There are a couple of things that I would like to share regarding our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Layton. First of all, the staff is TOP NOTCH. Everyone we encountered had a smile on, greeted us when they saw us and, overall, provided all-around excellent customer service. Brandi, a waitress is the restaurant, was exceptional! Now on to some constructive criticism:

1. Our room - I like my rooms clean. No hair in the shower/tub or on the floors, no "obvious" stains anywhere in the room, etc...and our suite, Room 237, was definitely showing its years.

The whirlpool tub had hair in it upon our arrival and was yellow/rusted around the jets. So much so that neither my husband nor I wanted to use it and we wouldn't allow our children to either. Second, the couch had stains on it. Some were very large, almost like someone had spilled something. I'm not sure what it was, but it was gross. We needed it for our daughter to sleep on the pull-out bed, otherwise we probably wouldn't have used it. Overall, the cleanliness of the room could have been much, much better. Also, the pillows were horrible. Way to hard. The bed was just ok.

2. The pool - YUCK! We had hoped to enjoy the pool area each day during our stay but ended up only using the facilities one day due to the condition of the pool area. The edges of the pool literally had what appeared to be mold growing all over them. And I'm not just talking about a little mold here and there...I'm talking about mold that could be found around the entire diameter of the pool. It was easily seen even sitting in the poolside chairs. We swam for a while the second day of our stay (which was 5 nights total) but I wouldn't allow my children to touch the sides of the pool -- and then we never used it again.

3. Noise level - I'll start by saying that overall the noise level inside of the hotel was very good. However, we had a problem two nights in a row with noise from the outside of the hotel filtering into our room. It must have been from Club Fahrenheit because we could hear music playing and people's voices REALLY carried into our room. So much so that my husband and I had problems falling asleep those two nights. (I'm sure it was people using the outside patio area at the club).

We didn't report any of these issues to management during our stay, as it really isn't in our nature to complain. However, I did provide this information in a survey that we received after our stay. Based on our "customer service experience" at the hotel, I'm confident these issues will be looked into.

As I mentioned initially, the service at this hotel was excellent and the location was perfect. (Lots of stores, restaurants, and things to do in the area!) If we returned, would we stay at this property again? Possibly, but not without first knowing that the room and pool cleanliness issues had been taken care of. Otherwise, we would probably look at staying at a different Hilton property in the same area.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room that is on the opposite side (and opposite end) of the hotel from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropicfire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    134
    56
    28
    28
See reviews for
138
62
30
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Deigo, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've stayed here many times over the past 5 years and always had a great stay. They work hard to be the best. The staff is helpful and the rooms are always clean and smell good. I have never had a complaint.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for a business function at the connected Davis Conference Center. The rooms are nice, comfortable beds and good, clean bathrooms. The breakfast spread was perfect for me on the go, as well as full breakfast options. Fitness center is small but sufficient and same for the pool/hot tub. This is in a great location with multiple nice restaurants to choose from in walking distance.

Room Tip: My 1st level room looks directly into the main parking lot, if you want a little more privacy I'...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NomadWithOptions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel was very nice and the lagoon package was a very good value. It included discounted park tickets, free parking (itself a $9 perk), and a pretty good breakfast. The free hotel breakfast is never quite as good as it looks anywhere you go. This was pretty good and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

There were a few hiccups at check-in, but Tawny took care of them quickly. The lobby looks wonderful, great surprise as the website has a picture of the old lobby. Chris and Tawny at the Front Desk and Maria at Breakfast are wonderful. We had a great stay and would select this property again. I heard that the rooms were going to be remodeled and that is great news as our room looked a little 'tired' and the carpet is in need of replacing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capet0nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have always had a wonderful and relaxing experience when I have stayed at this hotel, the staff is knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. They sincerely want their hotel to be the high point of your travel experience. I especially love the new look since the remodel. Total PACKAGE!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

from the first impression with the retro hip decor to the soft, clean, crisp sheets- the amazing breakfast deal- all was perfect . Thank you for making a stressful weekend an amazing memory. The bar on property was very nice- as well as the work out center and pool areas. We spent a lot of time there- with parts of the lounge roped off and great privacy for family time and special activities like gift giving and sharing conversations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Layton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Layton Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Layton
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Salt Lake City/Layton, UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Layton  I-15
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Salt Lake City / Layton
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton
Address: 762 Heritage Park Blvd, Layton, UT 84041-5719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Davis County > Layton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Layton
#5 Family Hotel in Layton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton Hotel Layton
Hilton Garden Inn Layton
Hilton Layton
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing