We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appealing to the masses - losing the uniqueness”

Chili's Grill & Bar
Ranked #108 of 184 Restaurants in Layton
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue, Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Murray, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Appealing to the masses - losing the uniqueness”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Many restaurants in this segment have disappeared and for the rest of them it seems they have all gone in the same direction - a few signature dishes, value meals and a less labor (servers, hosts) mentality. While Chili's used to be a special visit it has now become just a meal. There seems to be a loss of the fun that the chain once had and shared with the guests. The food was slightly better than average. The service was good enough but nothing special. The location is good but the entrance to the restaurant is oddly placed. This is a second tier choice for us but not a place we dislike - it's a place we wish would bring back the magic of days that are gone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalessiopietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well taken care of”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We showed up as a party of 9 after 10pm, and they were short staffed. The waiter took good care of us, ran around and made sure we were taken care of. He kept the drinks full, and got us the foold quick. He was also smart enough to know how to handle appetizers for a table of 9.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't expect much...it's Utah.”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

We the food was over priced. If only a restaurant would use less money on all the lights and colors and mire on the food quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Escondido2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not bad for a chain, but the service is very, very slow.”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I usually don't write reviews for national chains (they spend millions on advertising anyway) but felt I had to address my experiences at Chili's. First off, I like Chili's food and love their chips and salsa, probably why I keep going back there. I only go there maybe twice a year at best because the experience is always the same.
We wait about a half hour to be seated, which if we went anywhere else in a mile radius would be half that time. Once we are seated it takes at least 15 minutes before we even get any water brought to the table. On this last visit we waited 30 minutes from the time we sat down to the time we had our order taken. We almost got up and left and so did the table next to us.
The food finally came and our waiter kept apologizing when he did come and saying there were problems in the back. He did give us the chips and salsa for free which I appreciated.
I'll likely go back again but it won't be for several months when I forget about the poor service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeakHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Your average Chili's”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Service is OK, often crowded, a decent Chili's but nothing outstanding nor below average.

Helpful?
Thank baldguyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chili's Grill & Bar also viewed

 
Layton, Davis County
Layton, Davis County
 

Been to Chili's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing