We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is run by young adults with no sense of urgency!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Layton
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“This place is run by young adults with no sense of urgency!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our company frequently stays at this hotel. Since the remodel, it seems as though some of the nice "perks" you were used to having has gone away. We had some problems with the billing on our rooms, and everyone we spoke to didn't have the authority to do anything! The sales person Jennifer spoke by phone, but would not take the time to come to the property to handle the situation in person, and there was no follow-up with the persons that had the concern. That personal touch we were all accoustomed to getting has been lost and I am recommending we don't stay at this hotel any longer. They did a nice job with the remodel, but the bar lights at night do not dim and you feel like your having a drink in spotlights! The bartender had to use cards to make the 5 simple drinks on the menu, and two of the drinks he didn't know how to make because he didn't have a card for them. The printers were all out of toner so we couldn't print our boarding passes and of course, were not offered any assistance getting them printed. All we received was they are out of toner, sorry. In the bathroom I had two shampoos and no conditioner, Coffee one day, and the next two days they decided I shouldn't have coffee in the room because I drink it. When I told Landon at the front desk, he just say he was sorry. Scripted, rehursed, and not very comforting. Be prepared to get knocked over with air freshener when you walk in too through the ventilation system. It is strong!!! I would say the best part about this trip was when we left. Sorry, it just wasn't the same!

Room Tip: You definately want a room with a balcony. It is nice to be able to open up the screen doors and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review. I apologize that you encounter some issues durning your recent stay at the Layton Courtyard. I would like to talk to you futher regarding these issues. We take your review very serious and want to learn how we can improve to make your and future Guest's stays more enjoyable and problem free. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel or we can possible sit down the next time you are in the Layton area. We appreciate your business and hope to talk to you soon regarding your past stay.

Stephanie
Sales Coordinator
801-217-2300
stephanier@wslm.biz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
7
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here recently while on a business trip. It's a typical hotel with all the amenities you would expect for the brand.

This hotel appears to be in a state of remodel, and I really wish I could have stayed here after the remodel was complete. The lobby is beautiful and inviting, having been recently finished (indeed, they had the 'grand reopening' event while I was there), there are books about the local area everywhere, along with big screen TV's, and I felt like they have done a great job of making it more inviting. The staff is friendly and very effective - although the breakfast bar was backed up the morning I wanted some food - there was only one person working and a ton of guests. The workout room is somewhat sparse, with older equipment that could use a refresh, so I went for a run outside. This carries into the guest rooms - though comfortable, the room felt a bit worn out and in need of a refresh.

The local area is great for dining options (there's a great sushi place & Irish pub just up the road), and has a ton of other hotels nearby. In the future, I'll stay in the area but probably stay at another hotel since the cost is identical. If the hotels in the area have similar rates and you're traveling for business, then you have other choices. If the rates at the Marriott are better, or you need the stay for rewards, then it's a perfectly fine place to stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies, request one on the side of the hotel opposite the freeway for a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review about your stay here at the Courtyard. We are very excited about our new lobby and Bistro area. I apologize that you were unable to get breakfast due to the large amount of guest and not enough staff. We now have a Manager on every shift of the Bistro to help out when it gets busy in the Bistro. We hope that you will give us another try next time you are in town. We realize that you have plenty of choices when you are in the Layton area and appreciate your business. Again, thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the housekeeping staff most of all. They are doing some construction so they have a continental breakfast that is just cold cereal, yogurt and toast or bagels. They have a new system to make it easy to print your boarding passes, but it's brand new so it wasn't helpful, both should be better in the near future. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There are many amenities to back up the price, including free parking, free wifi in the rooms, a gym, a pool and spa, computers and printers in the lobby area and a coin op laundry. There are quite a few food options and stores nearby, it's close to the freeway and was all around convenient for everything I was there to do. I didn't get great sleep because there were very loud people in the hall both nights, but the beds are comfy.

Room Tip: third floor might be better so you don't hear people above you stomping around?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azkellyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review about your stay here at the Courtyard. we are pleased to hear that you had a nice visit. Are renovations are now complete and our new Bistro is up and running. We hope that next time you are in the Layton area, you will stay with us again. Again, thank you and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on a return trip from Idaho. Found the rooms to be very nice and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located near numerous restaurants, all within walking distance from the hotel. On a side note, On the way up to Idaho we stayed in the Marriott in Ogden. I found this Courtyard Marriott to be a nicer stay then that one.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carlosvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We do our best to make sure all our guest have a comfortable night sleep. We are very lucky to be in the area that we are. We are surrounded by numerous restaurants and shopping centers. We hope you stay with us again when you are in the Layton area. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Rooms were nice, but breakfast was terrible. Don't pay for breakfast, as it was the same as you would find complimentary at other hotels. There were no cups/glasses or silverware, the juice pitchers were empty, biscuits like hockey pucks, sausage and gravy were overcooked/burnt. And they had the nerve to charge us almost $35+ tip for our family of 5.

Room Tip: Don't pay for breakfast here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeri60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, Food and Beverage Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey and providing feedback for your stay with us. We take these comments very seriously and use them to help improve the experience for future guests as well as, hopefully, yourself. I am sorry that you did not feel that your breakfast experience was satisfactory. We strive to provide a more upscale menu to that of the complimentary breakfast hotels. I am not sure if you were aware that we also offer many dishes on our Made-to-Order menu for you to choose as well. The items that are provided on the buffet are the more popular menu choices, but we will gladly provide you with any additional menu items, when requested. I sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again. The buffet that you visited is being replaced with The CYRB Bistro at the end of this month. All the food will be made to order and served fresh to your table. Please let me know if there is any way I can further assist you. Thanks again for your feedback.

Have a great day,
Cami Jo Keith
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

For the second year in a row, we showed up at this Marriott straight from a week of camping, filthy dirty and without a reservation. In spite of our appearance, the staff was very kind and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was better than most Marriotts we've stayed at and the hours were longer. Kids loved having a pool to use. Lobby was under construction, but not bothersome. Will most likely stay again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L8nmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay with us. Our Lobby construction is now complete. We have a beautiful new lobby to include an updated business center, media area, library, and a fire pit outside. Our Bistro area is complete as well. The Bistro is set to open at the end of August. We would love to have you and your family stay with us again next year. Again, that you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night. We have stayed here one other time and when we got home we found that they put another guests bill on our credit card. They refused to take it off so we had to do a reverse charge on our credit card. This time it seemed run down and there is no free breakfast so that is why they are cheaper than other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: My son stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn and it was really nice. But again, no free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummygogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel just renovated our Lobby and added a new Bistro, that is due to open at the end of August. Our rooms are due to be renovated at the end of 2013. We hope that you will give us another chance if you are in town again. This time you will be able to enjoy our new Lobby and Bistro. Again, thank you for taking time out of you day to give us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Layton hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Layton
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Layton Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Layton  I-15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Salt Lake City Layton
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Salt Lake City/Layton, UT
0.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Salt Lake City Layton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton

Property: Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton
Address: 1803 Woodland Park Dr, Layton, UT 84041-5631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Davis County > Layton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Layton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Hotel surrounds travelers with the conveniences that makes business and pleasure travel easy. Come and see our new state-of-the-art lobby, the Bistro featuring Starbuck’s, new 24-Hour Fitness Center and recently renovated meeting rooms and Executive Boardroom. The new lobby includes flexible spaces to work or relax in, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is the Bistro - Eat.Drink.Connect. This is where guests can enjoy healthy food and beverages for breakfast and dinner service with cocktails. Stay in shape in our new 24-Hour fitness center, indoor pool and spa or relax at our outdoor patio next to the fire pit. Host your next meeting or event in our meeting rooms featuring over 3000 square feet of space. Our hotel in Layton makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms.The Courtyard by Marriott is close to Hill Air Force Base, Freeport Center, Lagoon, Antelope Island, Snowbasin and Powder Mountain Ski Resorts and the Davis Conference Center. Shopping, Movie Theaters and other dining establishments all within walking distance.Start planning your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Layton Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Layton Hotel Layton
Courtyard Layton
Layton Courtyard
Layton Marriott
Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing