We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Layton
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the housekeeping staff most of all. They are doing some construction so they have a continental breakfast that is just cold cereal, yogurt and toast or bagels. They have a new system to make it easy to print your boarding passes, but it's brand new so it wasn't helpful, both should be better in the near future. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There are many amenities to back up the price, including free parking, free wifi in the rooms, a gym, a pool and spa, computers and printers in the lobby area and a coin op laundry. There are quite a few food options and stores nearby, it's close to the freeway and was all around convenient for everything I was there to do. I didn't get great sleep because there were very loud people in the hall both nights, but the beds are comfy.

Room Tip: third floor might be better so you don't hear people above you stomping around?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azkellyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your review about your stay here at the Courtyard. we are pleased to hear that you had a nice visit. Are renovations are now complete and our new Bistro is up and running. We hope that next time you are in the Layton area, you will stay with us again. Again, thank you and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed one night on a return trip from Idaho. Found the rooms to be very nice and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located near numerous restaurants, all within walking distance from the hotel. On a side note, On the way up to Idaho we stayed in the Marriott in Ogden. I found this Courtyard Marriott to be a nicer stay then that one.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Carlosvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We do our best to make sure all our guest have a comfortable night sleep. We are very lucky to be in the area that we are. We are surrounded by numerous restaurants and shopping centers. We hope you stay with us again when you are in the Layton area. Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Rooms were nice, but breakfast was terrible. Don't pay for breakfast, as it was the same as you would find complimentary at other hotels. There were no cups/glasses or silverware, the juice pitchers were empty, biscuits like hockey pucks, sausage and gravy were overcooked/burnt. And they had the nerve to charge us almost $35+ tip for our family of 5.

Room Tip: Don't pay for breakfast here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeri60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, Food and Beverage Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey and providing feedback for your stay with us. We take these comments very seriously and use them to help improve the experience for future guests as well as, hopefully, yourself. I am sorry that you did not feel that your breakfast experience was satisfactory. We strive to provide a more upscale menu to that of the complimentary breakfast hotels. I am not sure if you were aware that we also offer many dishes on our Made-to-Order menu for you to choose as well. The items that are provided on the buffet are the more popular menu choices, but we will gladly provide you with any additional menu items, when requested. I sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again. The buffet that you visited is being replaced with The CYRB Bistro at the end of this month. All the food will be made to order and served fresh to your table. Please let me know if there is any way I can further assist you. Thanks again for your feedback.

Have a great day,
Cami Jo Keith
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

For the second year in a row, we showed up at this Marriott straight from a week of camping, filthy dirty and without a reservation. In spite of our appearance, the staff was very kind and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was better than most Marriotts we've stayed at and the hours were longer. Kids loved having a pool to use. Lobby was under construction, but not bothersome. Will most likely stay again next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L8nmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay with us. Our Lobby construction is now complete. We have a beautiful new lobby to include an updated business center, media area, library, and a fire pit outside. Our Bistro area is complete as well. The Bistro is set to open at the end of August. We would love to have you and your family stay with us again next year. Again, that you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night. We have stayed here one other time and when we got home we found that they put another guests bill on our credit card. They refused to take it off so we had to do a reverse charge on our credit card. This time it seemed run down and there is no free breakfast so that is why they are cheaper than other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: My son stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn and it was really nice. But again, no free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummygogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel just renovated our Lobby and added a new Bistro, that is due to open at the end of August. Our rooms are due to be renovated at the end of 2013. We hope that you will give us another chance if you are in town again. This time you will be able to enjoy our new Lobby and Bistro. Again, thank you for taking time out of you day to give us feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was a very clean, friendly, well-organized, comfortable hotel. I like staying in nice hotels and this one was right up there. The only problem was that they were renovating the lobby during my 4-day stay. Of course they are doing it to improve so I can't complain too much about that. Also...The hot tub went out of order during my stay and they haven't fixed it for the last couple days. You'd think they would get that fixed ASAP. Also...The breakfast here is NOT free. It's a buffet style but it costs $8.95 per person. That's a bit steep. I guess if you're in military uniform, it's only $5.00, which is nice of them. Which leads me to my biggest compliment for this hotel...The military rate is excellent. I think the regular rate was $140 per night but the military rate is only $77 per night. That's awesome. Reminds me of when Hampton Inn used to take about half off for military members. There are also plenty of places within walking distance of this hotel. Target is just across the parking lot, Barnes & Noble, restaurants, a movie theatre, and even a mall are very close.
Anyway, this is a great hotel. Although I've made a few complaints here, keep in mind that I am VERY picky when it comes to hotels. If they had a free breakfast, and would fix the hot tub, I'd probably give it the full 5 stars. I see that people have complained about the construction in their reviews. Come on people, they're trying to improve the place...give them a break!!
I rate the breakfast based on price alone as I didn't have it. The poor spa rating is due to the hot tub not only being out of service, but them not fixing it quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. Thank you for your understanding about our renovations. We are set to open up our new Lobby and Bistro at the end of August. It will be a Refreshing start for our hotel. With the new Bistro you will have a variety of Breakfast plates to choose from. I apologize that the Hot tub broke during your stay. We try our best to get things fixed as soon as possible. We hope that you will stay with us again. Thank you for your business, we greatly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Even thought the lobby and other parts were under renovation we found this hotel to be quiet, clean and comfortable! The bed was very comfortable and room was quite large. The front desk called us within a few minutes of checking in to make sure everything was satisfactory. It was. We were visiting family and this was located very close to where they live so location was important. There are many restaurants within easy walking distance plus a Super Target right across the street. We would definitely stay here again even with the construction.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marione M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We hope that you do stay with us next time so you are able to enjoy our New Bistro and Lobby. We are set to open it to our guest at the end of August 2012. Once again, thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Layton hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Salt Lake City/Layton, UT
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton
0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Salt Lake City Layton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Layton Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Layton
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Salt Lake City Layton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton

Address: 1803 Woodland Park Dr, Layton, UT 84041-5631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Davis County > Layton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Layton
Price Range: $101 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Hotel surrounds travelers with the conveniences that makes business and pleasure travel easy. Come and see our new state-of-the-art lobby, the Bistro featuring Starbuck’s, new 24-Hour Fitness Center and recently renovated meeting rooms and Executive Boardroom. The new lobby includes flexible spaces to work or relax in, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is the Bistro - Eat.Drink.Connect. This is where guests can enjoy healthy food and beverages for breakfast and dinner service with cocktails. Stay in shape in our new 24-Hour fitness center, indoor pool and spa or relax at our outdoor patio next to the fire pit. Host your next meeting or event in our meeting rooms featuring over 3000 square feet of space. Our hotel in Layton makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms.The Courtyard by Marriott is close to Hill Air Force Base, Freeport Center, Lagoon, Antelope Island, Snowbasin and Powder Mountain Ski Resorts and the Davis Conference Center. Shopping, Movie Theaters and other dining establishments all within walking distance.Start planning your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Layton Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Layton Hotel Layton
Courtyard Layton
Layton Courtyard
Layton Marriott
Courtyard Salt Lake City Layton Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing