We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel of a two week holiday”
Review of Parry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parry Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I loved this hotel. it looked good, had loads of character and I loved the 'movie' theme. We stopped in the same room as Frank Sinatra had and I went along to watch the western in the barn. The rooms are pretty standard motel rooms and were very clean. The pool is also good and the Breakfast is worth paying for.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Parry Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 457 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2009

We have stayed in Kanab a number of times recently. We stopped at Parry Lodge on our way back to Park City and really had a great time. This is a vintage roadside motel complete with movie star named rooms and an evening movie in the central barn with popcorn. We ate dinner in the restaurant, smoked bbq chicken and a nice house wine. The pool, although chilly (in August) was very clean. We loved the staff, including the young man who checked us in and introduced the evening movie and the wondeful woman who brought us coffee in the am (hope your neice had a swift birth experience wish I could remember the boys name, but I remember that it was quite elegant) The room very clean, small, but hey. We would go back in a heartbeat. We enjoyed Quail Lodge, but there was much more room to move arount here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The history of this place was good, but I probably wouldn't recommend it to others. We stayed in the John Wayne cottage, which was ok, till it rained and gunk that overflowed the gutter piled in front of our door. Maintenance didn't seem to be on top of things at all, and we cleaned it up with tissues..... yuk. The pool was dirty, and the maintenance man sat there talking with his other old buddies, while we tried to clean out some dirt & bugs with the pool net. He told us we weren't allowed to do that, and he didn't even take the hint..... just kept talking to his buddies. One afternoon during our stay, the gas station next door made our cabin and the outdoor area PERMEATED with gasoline smell. When we mentioned it to the hotel staff, we were told the gas station just had a delivery. The smell lasted all evening - finally dissipated by morning. The wireless internet advertised only worked in a few spots -- not in the room. Housekeeping was good, room was clean - main complaint is about the maintenance of the outdoor areas. Free coffee & tea all day was a plus, I must admit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennaRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Stayed there July 09 - coming back from staying at the North Rim Lodge.....great location, good pool. Loved the free movie!! Kids had a great time. Rooms are 1950's size - not much room but ok. Still a little scared of their bookkeeping they do everything by hand - still have a big charge on the cc for the stay -= hope to get this rectified as soon as I get home. Overall good value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razorback82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Put on my vintage glasses and fit right in with the atmosphere. Centrally located and a discount price with AAA. Good, quiet room--absolutely undisturbed and I am a very light sleeper. The evening movie was a special treat--with a movie made in Kanab running--even had popcorn and a charming movie man running the show.

The morning breakfast is not very healthy, but there are not many choices for good food in this town. Seems like all the food in this town was out of a box or can, so bring your own...expensive too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bisbeelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We booked because of the quirkiness of its history. It's also dog friendly and traveling with out aging pup came first. Overall, the exterior is nice for a 1950's era motel. The rooms are stuck in the '50s with bedspreads and "hammocking" mattresses that must be from that era too. Nasty old carpet in the rooms added to the "feeling". They offer a dog walking area that was so full of droppings that there was no room for a dog to even walk. We always pick up our dog's droppings no matter where we are, but apparently we were alone in that action because even the hotel didn't pick it up - for what must have been years!! And that is not an exaggeration. We walked our dog around the block instead and enjoyed the nice neighborhood area.

The restaurant was great! Stay elsewhere and go to the restaurant. If you want a glass of wine in Kanab - this is one of the very few places you can get it, but you must be having dinner to get it. After all - it's Utah.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbone4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

This is a great little hotel. the rooms were clean and it was wide open not like other hotelswhen your in a building. they have the old barn playhouse that plays old western movies in it and is just a great hotel.they have great service and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdnewman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.5 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.2 mi away
Aikens Lodge
Aikens Lodge
#8 of 15 in Kanab
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Address: 89 E Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3543
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range: $76 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parry Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Forever Resorts, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing