We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Parry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parry Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lovely, quaint historical hotel. Quiet and comfy room. Average size, clean and you park your car right outside. Breakfast in the shop was nice and warm. Movies in the old barn is a nice perk. We didn't get to see it but look forward to it next time. Will stay again! Thanks! Perfect end to a long day of driving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidisue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 478 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Parry Lodge is not the newest place in town, in fact it's one of the oldest, but that's what separates it from the rest. So much history, comfortable beds, super nice people and a fantastic breakfast buffet for $5.99. A great place for your Kanab area adventures. We stay here when were not camping at Tuweep. Be sure to head accross the street, walking distance, to the Trails End diner for some of the Best Food in Town!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This motel will bring you back to the old west. This is the place where all the stars stayed when filming the old western movies. Most rooms are labeled with stars names and memorabilia. The rooms are small but very clean and unique.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Parry Lodge is one of a kind, a clean, comfortable and efficient motel that is also an extraordinary museum of -- and tribute to -- Western movies and their stars. I stayed in Frank Sinatra's room -- the one he actually stayed in when filming a Western outside of town. Cool! Fun! The stories about famous movie star guests of the past are endless. Each night there's a showing of one of the old movies in the "movie barn." Excellent restart, too. Very helpful staff. Beautiful setting. Really couldn't be better. I can't visiting Kanab and not staying at Parry Lodge. May it prosper forever!

Room Tip: Ask for the room of your favorite Western movie star from the past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frostyhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Kanab wasn't buzzing when I passed thru in early January and many hotels were closed for the season. Parry's was opened, even though there were fewer than 10 rooms filled. Thank goodness for them! My room was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. It was close to good food as well. Overall, it was a good value for a good sleep while driving through Utah. Will stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretchenNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here four nights to attend the Greyhound Gathering. It was central to all the events and our greyhounds were welcome. They show an old movie in the barn every night-- one
that was filmed in Kanab. The lobby and dining room walls are covered with autographed photos of old movie stars, who stayed here when all the filming was done. Friendly staff, clean rooms, reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazz-Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Considerably less expensive than the neighboring hotels but no less indulgent, the Parry Lodge is right on the main drag and consists of a main hotel building and motel-style accommodations in the back. I've stayed here several times, always in the motel-style rooms. Which are quiet and peaceful. There's lots of parking, the internet works fine, and the breakfast is worth the price of admission on its own. Don't order off the menu, just get the buffet. Which is ample, eclectic and inexpensive.

Staff were friendly, coin laundry was efficient, and the place is very pet-friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregmc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
346 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Kanab
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Address: 89 E Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3543
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kanab
Price Range: $70 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parry Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Forever Resorts, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Parry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing