We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, relaxing, not fancy. Killer price”
Review of Parry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parry Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Considerably less expensive than the neighboring hotels but no less indulgent, the Parry Lodge is right on the main drag and consists of a main hotel building and motel-style accommodations in the back. I've stayed here several times, always in the motel-style rooms. Which are quiet and peaceful. There's lots of parking, the internet works fine, and the breakfast is worth the price of admission on its own. Don't order off the menu, just get the buffet. Which is ample, eclectic and inexpensive.

Staff were friendly, coin laundry was efficient, and the place is very pet-friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregmc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 475 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a great stay in Utah. The hotel I quiet the people have an old style hospitality feeling. In other words Its real hospitality not some fake customer service you get at a so called five star big hotel. Some people dont get the fact this hotel is based on its look back in the past. The lighting soft, there is real history on the walls. I even seen many pictures of Sammy Davis jr. It should not be renovated. I like the squeaky front door. It's like being at home. It was funny the one reviewer couldn't get a room stayed somewhere

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had read about the Parry Lodge in a pamplet and on line so we decided to walk around the grounds while on our way to Kanab. Yes, there is a lot of history at this old historic lodge and it looks pretty well kept up but I don't think I would want to stay given some of the reviews I've read. We enjoyed seeing the names of famous actors over each door and peeking through the windows to see inside. The grounds are pretty but the best part is just thinking about all the famous people who have been to this hotel. Fun experience!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This lodge was the place where western movie actors stayed in the hay days. Of course it's older but clean and quaint. It's in the middle of Kanab village and walking distance to shops & restaurants. The lodge serves a breakfast & lunch buffet in the nostalgic dining room. We enjoyed our 2 night stay and would come back anytime.
All the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The owners of the Parry Lodge have a difficult balance to keep -- how do you keep your property up-to-date and still preserve the historic value that this unique property has to offer? They do a great job walking this tightrope, but not perfect. First of all, the hotel grounds are immaculate. I think you could eat breakfast off of the parking lot and not spit out any sand (and this is Utah, mind you, which is full of sand!!) Our room was spotlessly clean, as well as the hotel Lobby and restaurant. We found the hotel a delight to stay at due in part to the Western Movie connection with many famous stars of the Black & White movie era and the unique movie decor. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and the only problem was that the mattress or box spring or bed frame squeaked noisily every time someone rolled over. It was a bit difficult to sleep through that. Right now, Hwy 89 North of Kanab is completely closed 8:30AM - 11:30AM, and down to 1 lane before and after that, so we wanted to get away early so we would not get caught in a 3 hour road delay on our way to Zion NP. We decided to eat in the Restaurant and ordered breakfast and waited 20 minutes for it to come (there were only 4 others in the restaurant at 7:00AM) and while we were waiting, noticed others going up to a breakfast buffet and getting food there. No mention was made of a buffet, it was not on the menu, and it was not mentioned on the board at the restaurant lobby. Our server apologized. When we went to leave, we showed our room key to get the $2 per person restaurant discount they promised us when we checked in, and they would not give it to us! They said they no longer give the discount!! We had to argue with them about it and instruct them that it was rather unethical to promise a discount when you check in and then not honor it! They finally discounted our breakfast by $2 each, but it left us with a not-very-pleasant attitude toward the establishment, and all because of $4! The hotel mgmt wants to preserve their traditions, but they also need to thoughtfully get with the times - free breakfast or quick/cheap continental breakfasts are what people of today want, especially with Hwy 89 being closed in the morning and the need to get going early so they don't get stuck. The purpose of staying at a Motel is to get a good night sleep, so noisy/squeaky mattresses and bed frames need to be updated. We would probably stay at the Parry Lodge again if we are in the area, but hopefully the groundskeepers will be promoted to management, because they are the only ones that seem to have their act together!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dusty_Sander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Parry Lodge is a classic, and must be experienced if you are traveling in the SW. The whole look of the place is from earlier days of road travel. It's not shabby - it's just old. And there IS a difference. The lobby and dining room are decked out in photos of movie stars from the 40s and 50s - think John Wayne, and forget about Johnny Depp. The food in the dining room is OK, it's inexpensive and filling but no great shakes. Breakfast is not free; they offer breakfast buffet, regular cooked breakfast off the menu, and lunch; not sure about dinner. The motel layout is a couple of one-story rows of rooms, a couple of cabin-like rooms, and a rear addition (modern) that is for tour bus groups. Apparently, this place is quite the draw for tour busses. And why not? It's the real deal!
Meanwhile - please note this: this is an old motel and will not be up to your modern chain motel standards. The rooms are small, the bathrooms are small, the shower stall is small. There is no micro/mini-fridge set-up. There is a real closet - with a door that closes. There is a real desk telephone. For phoning the front desk. Just like in 1970. There are real heavy wood pieces of furniture. There is mismatched (but compatible) wallpaper on the walls. The room door still has the old internal, mechanical "do not disturb" signs - none of your plastic hanging tags here. So if you want to visit the past, but with decent plumbing and heat, this is your place. We loved it! Wouldn't want to live in the past, but sure love visiting it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alborealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed at the Parry Lodge and have to recommend it to anyone traveling in the area who is looking for a reasonably priced, quiet, clean and well run travel lodge. It is a throw back place but the room are fully functional and the wifi works great. No issues at all.

Room Tip: ask for the section of rooms that have been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpswellboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.5 mi away
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Address: 89 E Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3543
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range: $74 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parry Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Forever Resorts, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing