We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Kanab”
Review of Parry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parry Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Parry Lodge is on the national list of Historic Places and has a long history of hosting Hollywood stars making Western movies. It has extensive treed grounds set well back from the busy main road of Kanab, an enormous pool with poolside patio, a barn where they show Westerns made in Kanab, a proper dining room with a good breakfast buffet, and a convenient laundromat for dusty guests. We got a 2-bedroom suite at Parry's for HALF the price that Canyons "Lodge" -- a re-done mid-century motel -- wanted for their single motel room. The staff were great too, and Parry's is directly opposite many nice shops and eateries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanZimSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 475 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We chose Parry Lodge based on reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Very friendly staff. Our room, although very small, was very clean with a comfortable bed. The shower was also very small. But price, location, it's fun and interesting history (check their site to learn about it's ties to the Rat Pack) and great service make this a place we would return to. We chatted with other guests who come back yearly for a stay at this cool little property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Parry Lodge for the Western Legends Roundup event, along with the western film and TV stars of yesteryear who attended. It was a great festival that overtook the whole scenic town, and the Parry is right in the thick of it. While the rooms were on the small side and the Internet service dodgy due to the remoteness of the town, this place is lovely. It's wood, white and rambling, with the names of scores celebrities over the doors of the rooms in which they've stayed. The town is called Little Hollywood due to all the westerns filmed there since the 1920s. The restaurant is perfect, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. If you want a larger room they also have bungalows. Nice pool, and a theater barn where they play movies that were filmed in the area in the evenings. Very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had a great stay at the Parry Lodge in Kanab Utah. My friend and I shared a room for a week and really loved it. The room was spacious enough for two, and the setting was so pretty. We loved the dining room and the very affordable prices for both the room and the breakfast. The atmosphere was so relaxed and we appreciated never feeling rushed to leave the dining room. The service people at the desk were top notch, as were the housekeeping and maintenance staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Over-all a great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the L shaped building in the back. It was further away from the street and the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I'll focus on the hotel part first.

It's great! Nice (older) facility.

The reception was friendly and professional.

The western themes and memorabilia are fun. We arrived after the evening's screening had begun in the barn, so we missed that. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room was in fact two bedrooms. That worked out well for us.

The furnishings are tired, but still comfortable enough. The bed sags some, but I slept well, and everything was very clean. The air conditioners are old, rather noisy, and slow to cool the room.

The outdoor pool looked super, but was occupied by several youngsters so I didn't join them. No point ruining their fun!

Breakfast was not included. We were seated and given menus. We ordered and, while waiting for breakfast, noticed a buffet. Neither the host nor waitress had mentioned this to us. We didn't notice it on the menu.

Not surprisingly, the food was slow in coming. Kitchens must focus on the buffet. I get that. No problem.

But the food was horrible.

My western omelette was the consistency of a scuba suit. The poached eggs, as the waitress advised when we ordered, are not really poached. They just pour water over them. Neither the hash browns nor home fries were edible (this coming from a teenage boy and his very large father).

The waitress corrected the bill when I pointed out that we'd been billed for a coffee which we'd neither ordered nor received.

In summary: by all means, stay at Parry Lodge when in Kanab. Just think twice about where you eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you like the west and you like old western movies - this is the place. Kanab, Utah is know as the Little Hollywood of the West because some many great films were shot here. The Parry Lodge was right in the middle of it all. Great movie stars of the past stayed here: such as John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Tyrone Power, Do Knotts, Sammy Davis Jr. Dean Martin, etc etc.

The people are great; the scenery is spectacular, the hotel is wonderful, and its the jumping off point for all the great parks near by!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twbomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We always try to avoid brand new hotels that are directly on the Interstate because they don't have anty character or stories to tell because they are too new. The the Parry Lodge has many stories to tell about the heyday of Hollywood and who has stayed there. We always get John Waynes (The Dukes Room) because its centrally located to the pool area and has plenty of room. The rooms are a bit older but that what adds to thecharm of the place. The staff always greet us and know who we are and our band picture hangs somewhere in the lobby! Great buffet in the am too!

Room Tip: The John Wayne room or any room in the courtyard is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeanStreetRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.5 mi away
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Address: 89 E Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3543
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range: $73 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parry Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Forever Resorts, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing