We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving rating! Should almost write two reviews”
Review of Parry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parry Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Deceiving rating! Should almost write two reviews”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I'll focus on the hotel part first.

It's great! Nice (older) facility.

The reception was friendly and professional.

The western themes and memorabilia are fun. We arrived after the evening's screening had begun in the barn, so we missed that. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room was in fact two bedrooms. That worked out well for us.

The furnishings are tired, but still comfortable enough. The bed sags some, but I slept well, and everything was very clean. The air conditioners are old, rather noisy, and slow to cool the room.

The outdoor pool looked super, but was occupied by several youngsters so I didn't join them. No point ruining their fun!

Breakfast was not included. We were seated and given menus. We ordered and, while waiting for breakfast, noticed a buffet. Neither the host nor waitress had mentioned this to us. We didn't notice it on the menu.

Not surprisingly, the food was slow in coming. Kitchens must focus on the buffet. I get that. No problem.

But the food was horrible.

My western omelette was the consistency of a scuba suit. The poached eggs, as the waitress advised when we ordered, are not really poached. They just pour water over them. Neither the hash browns nor home fries were edible (this coming from a teenage boy and his very large father).

The waitress corrected the bill when I pointed out that we'd been billed for a coffee which we'd neither ordered nor received.

In summary: by all means, stay at Parry Lodge when in Kanab. Just think twice about where you eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    175
    74
    33
    13
See reviews for
96
189
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you like the west and you like old western movies - this is the place. Kanab, Utah is know as the Little Hollywood of the West because some many great films were shot here. The Parry Lodge was right in the middle of it all. Great movie stars of the past stayed here: such as John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Tyrone Power, Do Knotts, Sammy Davis Jr. Dean Martin, etc etc.

The people are great; the scenery is spectacular, the hotel is wonderful, and its the jumping off point for all the great parks near by!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twbomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We always try to avoid brand new hotels that are directly on the Interstate because they don't have anty character or stories to tell because they are too new. The the Parry Lodge has many stories to tell about the heyday of Hollywood and who has stayed there. We always get John Waynes (The Dukes Room) because its centrally located to the pool area and has plenty of room. The rooms are a bit older but that what adds to thecharm of the place. The staff always greet us and know who we are and our band picture hangs somewhere in the lobby! Great buffet in the am too!

Room Tip: The John Wayne room or any room in the courtyard is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeanStreetRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We chose this lodge based upon the history behind it (filming of westerns). We did not find the host particularly welcoming. The room whilst it had all the basic facilities including fridge and coffee maker, was rather dingy and dark. The pool however was most welcoming and seems to be rarely used , which is nice for us! We felt that the lodge thrives mainly on its historical links, which is a shame as it could be so much better. Kanab on the other hand was a delightful experience, fill of history and memorabilia.definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was a little dubious about this place initially because `Hollywood back in the day' places can be pretty kitschy, but it is actually a charming hotel with very friendly staff, quiet with clean rooms, and located in a town where they seem to sweep the streets with a toothbrush. I was offered a choice between an `original' room and a more expensive renovated room. The unrenovated room was fine, nicely decorated and clean, and to my surprise the two beds were in separate rooms, which was a bonus. (I can't guarantee that all double doubles are set up that way,) We ate dinner at the Rocking V restaurant just down the street -- great food, a little pricey, but they serve alcohol. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent and the buffet is a good deal. We did not go to the barn to watch the nightly movie, but plenty of people seemed to be there. There is a laundry room at the hotel, which we used to good effect (and to give you a sense of how honest this place is, detergent costs exactly 81 cents at the front desk). It's a large hotel, but all on one level. Has a pool too. If you have kids, they might enjoy the Best Friends Animal Rescue, five miles out of town and the largest no-kill shelter in the USA. We visited it too late for a tour of the dogs and cats, but wandered around to see the horses, goats etc.The place is immaculate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny_kent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were a little dubious when we stopped as we came through on our way home from a vacation looking for a clean reasonable one night stay. Turned out to be cute, interesting & historical. It's also clean and a great value for the money and they play movies that were filmed here in Kanab, UT AKA "Little Hollywood" nightly in an old barn on the property. We only spent one night but it's definately on our to do list to come back and spend more time exploring!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This Kanab Motel was full of pictures, rooms where the "stars" stayed, old western movies featuring the Kanab area lscenery, and other old west memorabilia. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was small but clean but this older motel didn't have up-to- date soundproofing so you could hear the neighbors. It was well off the highway so road noise was not a problem and we left too early to sample the food in the restaurant. All in all a good and different motel experience and I would come back again.
If you are an animal lover, be sure to visit Friends Animal Shelter located five miles north of town. This renowned shelter is huge in terms of beautiful space and the sheer number and variety of animals serviced. People come from all over the country to volunteer at this wonderful place. It is worth the visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.5 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.5 mi away
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Property: Parry Lodge
Address: 89 E Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3543
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parry Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Forever Resorts, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Parry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing