We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kanab-Escalante Photo Tour”
Review of Action Photo Tours

Action Photo Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Secret Slot Canyon Photo Tour
Ranked #6 of 17 Tours in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Based in Kanab, UT, Action Photo Tours will take you to the most stunning sights in the desert Southwest. We cater to photographers and take you to the best spots at the best time of the day. Photography instruction is also included in your outing. Private trips, overnight camping, and multi-day options are available. We also offer post-processing instruction, professional image editing, and on-location portrait photography.
Reviewed June 15, 2018

Great night sky photo tour of hard to reach areas with phenomenal rock formations. Excellent post processing tips to bring out the best in the photos achieved through detailed planning by David. Lots of driving on rough roads and long nights but worth the effort for the photos captured.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lynnr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 16, 2018

We're so glad that you enjoyed your workshop with us! Rough roads and late nights are definitely the norm for us, but we think it is worth it as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"night photography"
in 7 reviews
"milky way"
in 10 reviews
"photo workshop"
in 6 reviews
"landscape photography"
in 5 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 9 reviews
"camera settings"
in 4 reviews
"highly recommend david"
in 3 reviews
"great photographer"
in 3 reviews
"talented photographer"
in 3 reviews
"southern utah"
in 10 reviews
"white pocket"
in 26 reviews
"great shots"
in 4 reviews
"outstanding guide"
in 2 reviews
"sunset tour"
in 4 reviews
"wave area"
in 2 reviews
"outdoor experience"
in 2 reviews
"group size"
in 2 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2018

Great tour for photographers. They know the area well and took me to some really nice places at the right time (sunset). Though the ride there was bumpy (on rough terrain for half the time), I was able to get to sites where we are the only one there and not as crowded as other places at the Grand Canyon

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank dklee092018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 9, 2018

Thank you for the review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your tour with us. The roads can certainly be rough at times, but we think it's worth it to reach those secluded destinations. We hope to see you on a tour again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

I have been on a number of photo tours over the years, but this one was the best experience by far. My family was with me and I was the only photographer. David made sure the trip was customized to the point where we all had a great experience, and we were able to fit it into our vacation plans. When we met-up he was both times 5 minutes early. He was very knowledgeable using my Canon 5DSR (and that camera has a ton of menu settings), and knows just as much using Nikons and Sonys and probably also lesser used brands.
When on vacation, having a guide with knowledge of where to go and when to be there makes a big difference.
Book with Action Photo Tours and David --- you will not regret it.

Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 9, 2018

Thank you, Robert! We're so glad you enjoyed your tours with us. David sure knows his stuff and it's good to hear that he helped you get the most out of your time on tour with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in Southern Utah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Highly recommended tour. David was our guide, he was very focused on helping us getting the perfect shots. He is not only a great adventurer, but a experienced photographer. He really know the SouthWest area.

He was always on schedule, he brought us plenty of food for the journey, cold water, nice snacks. He prepared a nice diner at the Rim. The vehicle was good, safe, etc.

I will take any tour with Action Phototours without a second thought.

Thank RicardoS4419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 9, 2018

Thank you, Ricardo! We're glad to know that you enjoyed traveling to Toroweap with us. We hope to see you again when you are in Southern Utah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2018

David has expansive photography knowledge both from a technical and composure standpoint. The tours, we went to Reflection Canyon and Coyote Gulch, were breathtaking and a lot of fun. Great planning and great execution. Thanks so much David. Hope to explore and take pretty pictures with you again.

Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 2, 2018

Thank you for the review, Deborah! I'm glad you enjoyed your tour with us and we look forward to having you on another one in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Action Photo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing