We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Unexpected Oasis of Rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Oasis of Rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Speeding by this old-fashioed travel lodge a few days before we were to stay here, our drive-by impression was less than impressive. We could not have been more wrong! This hotel is an oasis of fun modern inside a shell of historic travel lodge. This is the way road travel used to be in America with a major splash of retro-modernism.

Pros: Updated rooms with very nice decor. Two of the dozen rooms are mini-suites, which gave us some privacy from the kids (for a change!). For being along the road, it was surprisingly quiet. They have free bikes you can use to explore around (and the town is largely flat)! Location to town was close enough, but even closer to the cool (and free) Hollywood Museum that we would recommend to anyone staying here. There is a nice pool (if a bit small). And there was a great outdoors sitting area great for reading and chilling at the end of a day of hiking, just before dinner.

Cons: There are only a dozen rooms, so you may have difficulty getting reservations. The rooms have big windows facing the parking lot, giving much less privacy if you like letting in natural light. Breakfast was not really much of anything, probably good more as holding you over until a real breakfast. That's about it.

In the end, this hotel has tons of character and all the conveniences. We'd not only preferentially stay here again, we'd recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, ask for one of the mini-suites for a little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWindez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    297
    69
    17
    10
See reviews for
294
465
103
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

At check in we met the family that ran the hotel. They were hospitable, friendly and welcoming. Upon checking into our room we found a note made out to us that welcomed us even more! What a great personal touch! The rooms were very clean and the decor was so nice. The sink in the bathroom added that designer touch you don't often see in hotels. The pool was great, the rooms offer a refrigerator and a microwave. The shower head was huge, amazing, and definitey worth mentioning in my review. It was a relaxing and much needed amenity after a long day of traveling. Breakfast was a little sparse in choices, and doesn't offer the typical hot breakfast that most hotels offer. However, there was plenty and we didn't leave hungry. They had muffins, scones, sausage balls, fruit, juice and coffee. It was a such a cool experience for our family, kind of a throw back to the 50's a great memory for our kids. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtjtcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

While this hotel was built in the 1950's, which is quite evident when you see it from the outside. But walk into your room and it is a completely new and very welcome change. Comfortable bed, high speed internet, nice size LED TV.
And a special delight, old style cruiser bicycles to ride around this quant little town...free.
Kanab is close to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon (about 2 hr drive), Zion (45 minutes), Bryce Canyon (1 hour), Capitol Reef (2 hours) and Best Friends Animal Society (10 minutes).

Room Tip: All, but 1, room face the street and the pool. Despite this the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed at this motel twice and have not been disappointed. But my observation is that in an effort to upgrade and improve the rooms to much effort is spent on adding features that don't help much. Examples include installing a glass top vanity and sink in a small bathroom, while stylish leaves little room for personal toiletries; enclosing a shower with tile where a tub may have been originally makes the bathroom feel smaller; toilets that are a very low profile making it difficult to sit and get up from; placing a king bed in a room that should only accommodate a double or queen bed; furniture other than a bed that is too large for the room and of course air conditioner units that make a lot of noise. The rooms are clean, linens and bedding adequate and staff friendly. However, the next time through Kanab I will try another hotel.

Room Tip: Book early as they fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efeierabend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This little hotel is super funky, retro cool! I am typically a 5-star resort kind of girl, but I stumbled upon the Quail Park Lodge while looking for our 2-night stay in Kanab and though we’d give it a try. It’s not much to look at from the outside but the rooms are really cute – they did a good job with the renovations. Our bed was super comfy and the pillows are fluffy. They even have Direct TV which is so not normal for a hotel to have more than a handful of stations! The staff is friendly and the property is well maintained – they were even steam cleaning the carpets one of the days we were there! I would stay here again when traveling to Kanab!

Room Tip: Room #12 doesn't have a real bathroom window - it looks to have been boarded over during the rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandPrincess09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here - friendly greeting on front desk. Lovely bathrooms in revamped rooms. We availed of bikes to explore the town. Good location for Grand Canyon North and Bryce/Zion. I have very sensitive smell and could detect dog odours as pets are allowed but it didn't bother me. Basic breakfast provided in morning but no where to eat it but room. Pool is small and was busy the night we stayed so we could no avail of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My rating really cannot be legitimately counted, since we did not stay at this hotel, but we walked past it and thought "how charming." It impressed us enough to ask people sitting out in front on the Adirondack chairs how the rooms were. They told us they were quite nice. Hearing this made me look for the reviews, since we pass through Kanab rather often, and I was not hugely impressed with our present lodging. I saw these reviews concerning the things I know to be true, just from my observation from the street, and I got irritated enough to comment. The pool is not charmless, it is vintage. The photo saying is is on a multi lane highway is so misleading. Why do people choose to mislead? I can promise you that I would not have been walking up and down the street in front of the Inn, had it been a busy highway! The restaurant we walked past would not have an outdoor patio with live entertainment, backing up to the street, had it been the "multi-lane highway" The people wold not ave been sitting by the street in the lawn chairs having pleasant conversation, had the street been full of cars. In fact, there was no part of an auto in the photo...how busy can that street be? I saw the bikes and thought "how cool" but cannot attest to their functionality.

I see this sort of thing quite often on Trip Advisor. There are hundreds of great reviews for a place, but then you read someone's review that is so off that it makes you wonder if they are a competitor, or just someone who wants to feel the power of screwing with the reputation of a good business.

I don't always write fabulous reviews, but, I write honest reviews. I know there are people out there working from a different ethic base...so take that into account when reading some of these. People don't want the rules to apply to them, for example. You see the rules, folks. If t says a 48 hour cancellation, or whatever the cancellation might be...you agree to it. There is good reason for this when the lodging is not a chain, and only has a few rooms. Every time there is an empty room, that is income lost. Chain hotels are the same, but, they have a larger portfolio from which to pull.

Next time we go through Kanab, I would hope this place is available. I love this type of concept. And I LOVE the managers comment concerning "glass-half-empty" guy. I have been in retail, and know there are miserable curs out there who feel the world somehow "owes them."

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.1 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 15 in Kanab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#6 of 15 in Kanab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parry Lodge
Parry Lodge
#9 of 15 in Kanab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property

Property: Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Address: 125 N 300 W, Kanab, UT 84741-3102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanab
#3 Family Hotel in Kanab
#3 Green Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful roadside lodge with convenient location and incredible views of red hills and Kanab canyon. Underwent a renovation in Spring of 2010 and Winter 2012 with a return to the classic 'Route 66' motor lodge and today's updated amenities. Features: Plush beds that are triple-sheeted, down-like comforters, iPod/mp3 players, free bike rentals, microwaves and refrigerators, free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, complimentary continental breakfast, new outdoor swimming pool, sun deck and all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quail Park Hotel Kanab
Quail Park Motel
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing