We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be deceived by the exterior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked our room based from the strong recommendations from Trip Advisor, but I will candidly admit that I (and my wife and sons) did a double triple take since it is very much a classic motor lodge - ie, you park right next to your room, it's small (probably about 15 rooms total) and looks like any number of questionable motels we have back in NJ. HOWEVER, don't let that deceive you. They have completely refurbished the rooms and they are full of modern amenities - flat screen TVs, fridge, nicely renovated bathroom, comfortable beds and nicely decorated in a retro theme. The pool, while small, was awesome since it had a real deep end to it - something to keep in mind if you have young children but a big plus for our 15 year old. The staff was excellent - attentive, full of information and friendly. The free breakfast is nice but somewhat limited.

The only real negative was that the rooms had their own AC units (and the one in the back room was noisy). This caused some difficulty with sleeping until my wife wisely pointed out that we should just open the window and turn the AC to fan only - it gets quite cool in Kanab overnight and this totally did the trick.. If we ended up back in Kanab I would happily book a room here again.

Room Tip: If you need more space try getting #10. It has a second room (with a door) in the back. Just remembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Owner at Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dave. Thanks for your review! We'll take a look at that a/c unit in your room and get that fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

I chose this motel solely on the reviews on trip advisor. Maybe I was expecting too much. Let me start by saying this is not a bad motel. But it is just that, a roadside motel. If I could I would give it 31/2 stars because it is good but not very good. PROS: rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. family that runs the motel is wonderful and helpful. Cons: outside is a bit worn (patio area), small room, beds not great ( one bed much worse than the other). For me the soft mattress and small room took away from the experience. Because the room was small we sat outside during breakfast but the patio area was very worn and not enticing to relax in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Owner at Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We really wanted you to like it as well as we strive for all of our guests to have a wonderful experience. I'm really sorry you didn't like the beds - they are all new, very high-end and that is our #1 compliment from guests.

As for the size of the rooms, times where different in 1963 when the property was built, combine that with two queen-sized beds (not doubles and twins like back then) and it does make them cozy. We provide numerous upgrades - sheets, towels, bathrobes, toiletries, furnishings, etc.. along with many King-sized guestrooms and suites to enhance our guests stays and have done that as there is nothing we can do about the size of the rooms.

The outside deck is really about the wonderful view of the surrounding red hills and I am sorry that wasn't the part you enjoyed.

Thanks for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to make things better for you on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Staff including the young children were very kind and pleasant. Nice clean rooms and very nice pool. Close to town and restaurants. Just remember Utah is Mormon, so you have to drive 6 miles to Arizona to set down in a bar and have a drink without eating.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jonmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a very comfortable, restful stay at Quail Park Lodge. Highly recommend this family run hotel. It is located in center of town but not bothered by traffic noise. Beautiful red mountains all around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is located in the Center of Kanab. It is clean, and well taken care of. Not a chain hotel. You won't be disappointed. The owners were very friendly and personal. The rooms are all updated with modern décor. Top notch.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms we booked were great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is an older motel remodeled with a retro theme. Beautiful! Enjoyed the stay and no complaints. Rode the complimentary bicycles around the area and sat outside in their courtyard while eating our continental breakfast...mini-muffins, boiled eggs, coffee, juice. Pool wasn't open but our visit was a week shy of memorial day. All in all would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boytbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Loved this place - from the outside - not much to look at, but wait til you see the rooms. LOVED how they were decorated and seemed very clean; beds were very comfy! Friendly staff, really cool retro-office with free coffee, juice and a nice range of "finger" breakfast foods. Pool was nice, but getting some repairs while we were there. Reasonable price and pet friendly - we will definintely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Owner at Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks Arlene! It was a pleasure having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parry Lodge
Parry Lodge
#9 of 15 in Kanab
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property

Address: 125 N 300 W, Kanab, UT 84741-3102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kanab
#3 Family Hotel in Kanab
#3 Green Hotel in Kanab
Price Range: $100 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful roadside lodge with convenient location and incredible views of red hills and Kanab canyon. Underwent a renovation in Spring of 2010 and Winter 2012 with a return to the classic 'Route 66' motor lodge and today's updated amenities. Features: Plush beds that are triple-sheeted, down-like comforters, iPod/mp3 players, free bike rentals, microwaves and refrigerators, free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, complimentary continental breakfast, new outdoor swimming pool, sun deck and all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quail Park Hotel Kanab
Quail Park Motel
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing