We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but at a price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocking V Cafe

Rocking V Cafe
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $48
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We set out to create a fun place to eat great food, served by really friendly people, in a relaxifying atmosphere, surrounded by cool art & good music. Simple. We want our place to be a spot where you can come and have a wonderful time after a fantastic day of hiking, a long day of driving, or a lazy, waste-lots-of-time-doing-nothin' day & find an oasis of enjoyment for your senses. There's a reason we don't have WiFi. Chill. Exhale. Sit. Listen. Look around. Power down. Kill the phone. Stow the tablet. Talk to the people you're dining with. Talk to the people sitting next to you. Enjoy your meal. Don't rush.(Unless you've been at the table for three hours, then you need to: eat it & beat it!. And no, we don't mean eat the table, that would take a long time and the splinters are hard to digest). Smile.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food but at a price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

There were 8 of us in our party and the bill was outrageous. However, everyone did really like their food. We would go again for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samadhii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,453
    519
    130
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place in Kanab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure to dine here. I had the filet mignon, and he had the southwestern crusted trout. The food was fantastic. We preferred the tomato basil soup over the chipotle red bean. Probably just our flavor preference. The service was impeccable. The owner himself checked on us at least 3-4 times. Our glasses were never empty. My husband really enjoyed his top shelf margarita. We decided to order as some other reviewers recommended and got the bread pudding and chocolate silk pie for dessert. Both were mouthwatering, but we really liked the chocolate silk pie with the chocolate ganache over the top. Flavor explosion in your mouth! The only downside is that the place is a little pricey, but that's what you get for good food and service. The atmosphere is very hometown, so no evening gown for the ladies!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RaeRae412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
242 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We ate upstairs by the window. We were surprised to be the only people on the floor at the height of the dinner hour ... 6:30-ish.

Regardless, we had a good meal and enjoyed wandering around looking at the art on the walls while we waited for our food.

The only downside was the price. Wine and food were both expensive. Perhaps, that explains the lack of other customers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great dining in Kanab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I visited Kanab 11 years ago and my expectations of finding a fine restaurant here were very low. To my surprise, we stumbled into the Rocking V, and were pleasantly surprised. The food was tasty, well served and our waitresses were very friendly. We had a great dining experience. Kudos!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jfbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIVE BRANCH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service left a lot to be desired.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Food was great, but our waitress was not very pleasant. She acted as if it was an imposition to wait on us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DEBORA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocking V Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing