We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houston's Trail's End

Houston's Trail's End
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Kanab
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We ate at Houston's twice. Good, hearty helpings each time. Supper waitress very nice. Would wonder why owners have only one waiter on duty between 7 and 8 am with a restaurant full of people. Waiter did a nice job

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelOn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    362
    185
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“California Prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

California prices in Utah. The pie was good. But, for nearly 5 bucks a pop, it better well should be! Pretty much everything in Kanab is just a tourist trap gouge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yo_Jimbo_San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunchtime stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was a convenient stop en route from Bryce to Lake Powell, we enjoyed walking the main street looking at all the information boards relating to the movies and the Hollywood actors that have are associated with Kanab. We were the looking for lunch and it appears that on a Saturday afternoon most of the establishments close early afternoon - this looked like 'the only show in town'.
Our server was very friendly in a place where everyone wears guns, we assume they are ornamental ? We don't think they get many foreign visitors here as she had to get over the shock that we were wanted to pour milk into our tea. We then had a great 'flat iron steak' with side orders of fries and salad, it was excellent.
Flat screen TVs were showing videos of the national parks and it seemed they also run tours from here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GandC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“REALLY GOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a really good breakfast here. There are a lot of choices and everything we had was delicious! The staff was very pleasant and helpful and we totally enjoyed our morning. I would highly recommend Houstons Trail's End for breakfast!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBL1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST. LOUIS, MO
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went twice during our two day stay in Kanab. Once for lunch. The chicken fried steak was recommended as their specialty and did not disappoint even though my whole meal was fried. Our second was breakfast. Ordered a Sausage skillet that was huge. Enough for two. Thankfully we ate big this morning as we were hiking in Zion on this day. That breakfast at 7:30a held us until almost four. Comfort food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SNYDERST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's Trail's End also viewed

 

Been to Houston's Trail's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing