We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steep but Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanab trailhead

Kanab trailhead
Ranked #21 of 43 things to do in Kanab
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Well-graded trail provides hikers a close-up look of the geology, plant and animal life along the Utah and northern Arizona border region.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Steep but Good”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was recommended to me by a motel clerk. It was a little steeper then what I was expecting with some steep dropoffs on the trail. Not even close to scary as Angels landing thou. I was told it gets you up to the TV towers overlooking the city. The trail disappeared in the sand hills above the cliffs and I didn't want to get lost up there as it was getting close to getting dark. I would recommend if you want to get some excercise and get a view overlooking the little town of Kanab. Lot's of Redrock cliffs as you zig zag up swithbacks to the top of the 400 feet or so first cliff and then up to the top of the Mesa.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hiked the buck skin gultch slot canyon”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Paid $6 per adult. Walked easy trail 1.5 mile to canyon. The slot canyon is spectacular. I have never seen anything like it. I understand why they say not to go if there is any chance of rain. You would be in extreme danger if a flood came through. In November the weather was perfect. It was a beautiful blue sky against amazing red rocks. It is a photographers dream.

Helpful?
Thank HisGirlCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Climbing the Squaw Trail”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

For the first time ever, I climbed to the midway of Squaw Trail and took some beautiful photos of Kanab from my perch. I want to go back, only this time I will take a walking stick.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“trails not clearly marked”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

last visit ended up on privateproperty. found trail at end ofgolf coarse which was great fun and kid friendly.)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mar_MarClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Kanab & Its Trailheads (Plural)”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Kanab is a totally unique little town. You gotta love it. It's definitely in the "Rock Stars" Club (meaning it sits shoulder to shoulder with many of the best geologic sites), is known as the Little Hollywood of the West, and annually offers more nifty unique festivals and events like Amazing Earthfest, Western Legends etc. It is also home to some really really neat trails...a number being known only to locals altho' a morning expresso at Willow Canyon will usually gain you a willing local who will take you to a life sized rock art panel etc. The Trailhead is one of these neat gems, leads you into a lovely hiking region that changes with the weather so is constantly fascinating. Recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kanab trailhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing