We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but Amazingly Clean”
Review of Aikens Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aikens Lodge
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Old but Amazingly Clean”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The motel is in mid town Kanab, Utah and is facing at a 90 degree angle from the street. That makes it nice a quiet. The rooms are older (I guess 1950's early 1960's?) but they are incredible clean and neat. They pride themselves in keeping the motel clean. The pool is odd however. It goes from several steps into 4 feet and within 5 feet from the steps drops off too 10 feet quickly for 3/4 of the rest of the pool. Not a pool to just wade in or to leave small children unattended at. You're within a block or so of several coffee shops. No coffee makers in the room. You have to wait until the office opens at 7:00 a.m. to get a cup. We were packed and heading out by then. They have WiFi which was spotty to use (Might have been my laptop) and the bathroom (in our unit) was about the size of a closet. Very useable and clean but very small. Again 1950's-1960's motel might be the reason. We would stay here again without any reserves.

Room Tip: For a very quiet room ask for one way downstairs or in the back. Otherwise it seemed all rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    199
    81
    22
    7
See reviews for
136
199
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Very clean and comfortable. This is an older motel and I've been to a few but the Aikens Lodge proves the building doesn't have to be new to be clean and comfortable. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Running Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I set up a group of 8 rooms for some friends on a Corvette drive. I like places like this that let you pull up in front of your room. This place was just the ticket. The owners communicated well, we were organizing this during their off-season and they were closed. After driving all day it is nice to have a place near eateries and around Aiken's there are a bunch. The rooms are well kept and clean. WiFi signals were strong. I will stay hear again, Kanab is a Cool location.

Room Tip: 100 through 108 get good evening shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDodgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I enjoy finding small town America like it used to be. If you grew up in "Back to the Future" you'll understand. The Aikens Lodge is back in that time. Cinder block construction, friendly owners, and a lovely little town made it the highlight of our 2 week road trip. The room was clean, and had everything we needed. There are many little restaurants around the area, and the place just seemed to appeal to us. We were pleased we chose the Aikens Lodge instead of a big chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouverislandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a nice older local hotel, nothing fancy, but everything you need and friendly service. It's in a good location, close to everything. They do cater to the touring motorcycle crowd but I had no problem with that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank objective1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Height, MI
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A Mom & Pop property. Very nice operation, Super clean. Cable TV, free Wi-Fi and a pool. A lot of fast food near-by. When entering the town mind the speed limit. Saw radar cops in the same location 3 days in a row.

Room Tip: The rooms sell out early in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Lodge was very easy to find, even though we drove right past on the first try. We were pulling a small enclosed trailer which was no proplem parking. They had a sliding gate in the back, which we used with the clerk's instruction, to exit the next morning. Great Idea. The front desk clerk (assuming this is the owner) was pleasant and accomidating. The room was nice and clean. Nothing missing, bent, loose or broken. There is a small pool (4' to 10') with a rope sepreating the shallow end from the deep end, which was very nice and clean as well. There were restaurants within a very short walking distance, which we visited for dinner, and breakfast the next morning. Great Area. On to Zion National Park. No breakfast included with the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaMotorRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#4 of 15 in Kanab
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parry Lodge
Parry Lodge
#9 of 15 in Kanab
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aikens Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aikens Lodge

Property: Aikens Lodge
Address: 79 W Center St, Kanab, UT 84741-3447
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kanab
#4 Family Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aikens Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast, easy parking, central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Aikens Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aikens Hotel Kanab
Aikens Motel Kanab
Aikens Lodge Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing