We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time with wonderful people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savage Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Kanab B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Savage Point B&B over the holiday. Laurel and Russel were incredibly hospitable and friendly. They gave good advice about everything the Kanab region (zion park, bryce canyon, best friends animal sanctuary and so much more) as well as stories from their own travels. Would definitely recommend Savage Point B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel A, Owner at Savage Point Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank-you both, sharing Christmas with such kind, considerate enjoyable visitors was a delight!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 42 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked a week at Savage Point B&B after reading the glowing description on Laurel and Russell's website and positive online testimonials.  When we arrived after 5:00 p.m. on the designated day, tired from travel and in need of rest, we were told that our bedroom and bathroom hadn't been cleaned, the extra bed wasn't made up, nor any other preparations done for our arrival, despite having reserved three months in advance.  Our hosts said they had spent the day shopping.  Imagine our surprise when we were told that Russell would be using the entertainment room until 9 p.m. to watch football on the large screen TV, and we had to share the space. When we expressed surprise, he told us that if we didn't like the arrangement we could leave.  Laurel angrily told us that they had made it clear on the website that the space would be shared.  This was untrue.  We had prepaid $710 and they were unwilling to refund our money.  We ended up staying only one night and eating one breakfast.  Laurel told us that we were the most difficult guests they had ever had, and that we would only get some money refunded if she was able to rent out the space to someone else.  Finally, we were told to wait a full week for any possible refund and that a check would be left on the porch, as they never wanted to see us again.  We are two retired librarians who are undemanding, flexible and friendly.  A focus of our trip to Kanab was volunteering at Best Friends Animal Sanctuary.  It blew our minds when Russell exclaimed that the only people they ever have trouble with are the ones who go to Best Friends.  We were appalled at the unprofessional and inhospitable treatment we received at Savage Point B&B and we urge others to be careful when reading online testimonials.
Mary and Kathy

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel A, Owner at Savage Point Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

All hosts need to know in advance whether their upcoming guests have special health issues that will effect their stay. In the past we have made special arrangements for health challenged guests with fine success. These particular guests never shared their issues while booking, had already been given a discounted rate, & were not charged for a changed date despite our cancellation policy - and were given a partial refund (we also made several calls on their behalf attempting to find them a space more suitable to their special needs. We are truly sorry that they did not find our home the welcoming place well over 100 prior guests have (a French guest wrote poems about us in the guest book!). Our intimate atmosphere simply did not meet their needs, despite the fact that we describe our B&B accurately in both photos and descriptions - to say nothing sharing guest comments. Enough said, it was a bad match for various reasons it would not be fair to fully share.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed a week with Laurel in August 2012 and had a superb time. Having a local expert on hand we planned my day's activities each morning over a lovely breakfast.
Staying with Laurel in Kanab made my vacation unforgettable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiersHolroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Savage Point is a great little B&B in southern Utah. I spent a couple nights there while visiting Zion and Bryce Canyon and had a wonderful time. The accomodations were very comfortable, and breakfast was delicious.

The highlight of this B&B was the host, Laurel. She was very warm and welcoming from the moment I arrived, offered some great advice for my day trips to the national parks, and is just a wonderful person.

I would highly recommend staying at Savage Point.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is definitely THE place to stay while in Kanab! During our visit, Laurel, Russell, and Official Canine Greeter Snuffles made my wife and I feel less like guests and more like old friends. The clean and quiet accomodations are extremely comfortable; the breakfasts delicious (with loads of home-baked goods and home-made jams); and their shared expert knowledge of the region -- including the geological history of the Grand Staircase and the cultures who lived in the national parks that surround Kanab -- is unsurpassed! We love to hike, and their insight made the trips we took to some of the more remote slot canyons extremely special! We left Kanab feeling less like tourists and more like explorers...and we absolutely cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is an exceptional place to stay in Kanab! We came expecting a nice B&B and certainly found one. But we left feeling like we were saying goodbye to old friends or family. About the place itself: it's clean, the room is quiet, the bed very comfortable, the breakfast perfect for us (yogurt,fruit,breads and coffee), the decor is southwestern with delightful lack of excess flowers and lace. However the reason this place is exceptional is Laurel and Russell.

It's hard for me to describe without sounding effusive. I felt welcomed into their home as if I were a personal guest. I was able to experience the area as if I knew a local rather than as a tourist. That is an experience that is rare and difficult to duplicate when renting lodging. If you are traveling as a single or a couple, you should check this place out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolS531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at Savage Point in Kanab, Utah in April 2012. Laurel and Russell are warm and gracious hosts. Some of the basics you might want to know are that the bed is comfortable, the towels and linens are nice, and the bathroom is comfortable and used exclusively by you, the guest. Laurel makes available her washer and dryer if you need to wash a load of clothes.
Breakfast was delicious every morning with yogurt and fruit one day, waffles another, and eggy burritos another. Yum.
The location is great if you are visiting Zion and Bryce National Parks or going to volunteer at Best Friends Animal Rescue. The little town of Kanab has restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy, gift shops, etc. so you have what you need.
Laurel and Russell have rescued a little dog and three cats. If you love dogs, you've got one to play with. If you want to pet a cat, theirs are "fraidy cats" and won't come close enough to be petted. (darn it, sigh)
Chiefly, Laurel and Russell are very interesting people who have been to many places and have had such diverse experiences to share. We enjoyed them very much.

Room Tip: only one room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.7 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.5 mi away
Grand Circle Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Redrock Country Inn
Redrock Country Inn
#6 of 6 in Kanab
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quail Park Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savage Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage Point Bed & Breakfast

Address: 53 S 200 E, Kanab, UT 84741-3527
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kanab
Price Range: $75 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Kanab, Utah, Savage Point B&B is in a perfect location for exploring many of the most amazing national parks, state parks and national monuments in America. Our intimate home-away-from-home offers a private guest suite with private entrance, a cozy bedroom, full private bath and entertainment room with a sofa-bed for additional family guests or friends. A homemade breakfast, free wireless internet, TV room with 3D viewing, organic orchard- garden with ponds and -- plenty of expert advice for planning your exceptional visit has given Savage Point a "200%" satisfaction rating from globally diverse guests ( and their dogs, we are rated a 5-Paw Friendly B&B.) Our zen-like B&B is within 20 minutes to 2 hours of the Grand Canyon (North Rim) - Zion Canyon - Bryce Canyon- Grand Staircase/Escalante National Monument - Glen Canyon/Lake Powell National Recreation Area - Cedar Breaks -Pipe Springs -Rainbow Bridge - Antelope Slot Canyon & even the incomparable "Wave"/Coyote Buttes.We specialize in arranging the best local guides for guests, reserving Star Parties & even introducing guests to canyoneering (rappeling.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savage Point Bed & Breakfast Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing