We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay. could be better”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Oscoda, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“okay. could be better”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel was old but the beds were comfortable. Not much choice for breakfast. There were some room maintainence issues with the toilet and faucet. The owner seemed to want to correct the issues as soon as possible. Location is great only 80 miles from Grand Canyon North Rim. 80 miles from Bryce Canyon and 30 miles from Zion canyon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarLea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    39
    54
    40
    20
See reviews for
36
73
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

For us, the room was clean and the bed was not uncomfortable. The pool was nice and the air conditioning, after a day at Zion Park, worked beautifully. All the hotels in this area are expensive, so paying 90 something dollars, seemed reasonable. When we came, there was a cowboy festival in town so we really enjoyed the day. The coffee in the morning was really bad and the breakfast donuts, etc, were stale. There is a Macdonalds up the road - enough said. It is what it is with this type of motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintemille9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
200 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I paid 90$ for one night here in August 2013. Though it looked reasonable and had a nice pool which we enjoyed, the staff was poorly trained in "hospitality business", and when unable to get hot water from my morning shower (which the previous night had worked fine!) gave no answers and seemed overwhelmed, rude and a "I couldn't care less" attitude.
Finally I was offered a key to shower in a room across the parking lot. But no apologies offered.
I was told that the installations are old and poorly upkept so that was why we had no hot water in the AM.
Breakfast was reasonable. But I expect cordial service and solutions to problems... and that, I did not get.
Avoid the place if you can

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. It was very oldfashioned but that shouldn't have bother us too much if it had been clean. The bathroom was dirty, black hairs in the bath. The watertemperature was not constant, and you could easily burn yourself. When we catched a towel it was wet and had a big pink/brown spot, about three inches. So we went to the reception. The lady told us it was probably from a leak in the ceiling and gave us clean ones. Indeed there appeard to be a big leak, it was in fact still leaking.
The sheets were as if they were used. We felt very uncomfortable, but as we had a long day with a strenuous hike we just fell asleep.
Breakfast: you have to take a tray in your room. It was a very, very basic breakfast.
To ask you to pay $100 for such a hotel is a shame!
Only, the lady in the reception was nice. I suppose she could not do so much about it.

So, don't go to this hotel untill they have renovated it. Plenty of alternatives nearby!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sep51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroad
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

First impression - the door to lobby barely opens and it scrapes and sticks on the metal threshhold. Then problems with reservations. Then no microwave or fridge in the room. One outlet by the sink, the other behind the mattress or used by the TV/Direct TV box. TV reception and internet service are not good. Hair in the tub, sink stopper broke, stairs are very dark at night and dangerous. One tiny shampoo and 2 bars of soap. Continental breakfast is tiny muffins, bread for toast, cold cereal, milk, juice and coffee (there are tea bags, but no microwave or coffee pot in room to heat water and no hot water or microwave in breakfast area). The breakfast area is the size of the bathroom so you get to take your breakfast to your room. The staff was very nice. Bed was comfortable and I think it was clean. It appears the owners are pocketing the money and letting the place fall down. This is very expensive for what you get and there are a lot of choices in town to check out before deciding to stay here.

Room Tip: Request upstairs or the single story units. The floors are very creaky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalotaplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We came to this hotel on a Friday night since it was tough to obtain accommodations closer to the National Parks. When calling around, the price seemed right for a place the included continental breakfast, WIFI, and jacuzzi. The only problem is that none of these items were worth the motel labeling them as amenities. The WIFI was extremely spotty. Cell networks were much more efficient to use. The jacuzzi was broken and the best the motel could do is say they called maintenance. The breakfast included tiny muffins, bread, cold cereal, milk, coffee, and juice. This is probably the worst breakfast that I have come across for a place that offers a breakfast. Also, be careful taking a shower. The water temperature can fluctuate dozens of degrees without touching the faucet. The only reason for giving this place two stars is due to reasonably comfortable beds, and a friendly staff. However, unless you can find a great deal and/or are willing to overlook amenities such as breakfast and WIFI, I would stay away from this motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmk7x77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Decent, big and clean rooms, ideal for a short stay on the route to the Zion National Park and Las Vegas. Friendly staff and value for money. No breakfast room, trays have to be taken to the room. We only had 2 chairs for 4 people, but it was fun to have breakfast in bed...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco-Antonella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 15 in Kanab
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aikens Lodge
Aikens Lodge
#8 of 15 in Kanab
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 70 S 200 W, Kanab, UT 84741-3409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanab Super Eight
Rodeway Inn Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing