We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst cup of coffee I've ever had” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jakey Leigh's Cafe & Bakery

Jakey Leigh's Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Kanab
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kanab 84741
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst cup of coffee I've ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stopped in for just a plain old cup of coffee and it was undrinkable - the worst cup of coffee I've ever had. Don't know about their specialty coffees or food, but don't drink the coffee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    46
    19
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clay City, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Out of everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was a while back, so I don't remember what day it was or anything like that, but my friend and I were in around noon and they were out of bagels and most other things. This was the only time we got to go in because they were almost always closed. The man behind the counter wasn't very friendly or apologetic either. Then when we went to sit down, most of the tables were dirty and I tripped over a pile of paintings leaning on the wall. Whatever I got tasted fine though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leahmig4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Meadows, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place needs a cleaning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This place needs a cleaning, in more ways than one. The bathrooms were dirty, the staff was very unaccommodating. We waited an overly long time for what was a basic coffee order, while the staff made small talk with some locals. The final straw was the overly loud radio station playing in the background, complete with obnoxious DJs. I came here many years ago and really enjoyed it, but obviously the place changed hands. Please fire the staff, clean up, and start over--I think your business will pick up.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor hygene”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Jakey Leigh's is pretty much the only coffee shop in town and I visited it on three different occasions last week. I had coffee and a bagel each time. The first two visits there was a very friendly worker. I noticed that the counter was not very clean but I didn't say anything. The third day there was an unfriendly man behind the counter. When he grabbed my bagel he used his hand, not a glove or tissue. He did not wash his hands before touching my bagel. When I asked for 2% milk he seemed annoyed, but he gave it to me. There dark roast coffee was empty, but rather than bother him again, I just went for the medium roast. While waiting for my bagel another customer, who the worker knew came in and ordered a muffin. The worker used a tissue to pick up the muffin then mentioned that he had recently been sick. Needless to say, I threw out my bagel and did not return. I am giving the 2nd star because the female worker was so nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaniceMPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The cashier took our cash payment and went over and slopped together our nasty sandwich without washing their. Needless to say I asked for my money back and will not eat at unclean places like this!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kens1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakey Leigh's Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Jakey Leigh's Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing