We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ, Honky Tonk Feel”
Review of Calvin T's Smoking Gun BBQ - CLOSED

Calvin T's Smoking Gun BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newburgh, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Honky Tonk Feel”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went here very late in the Season, and they were getting ready for the Winter shut-down. Food was good and plentiful, and the beer was cold after a long day hiking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    36
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, az
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looks good from the outside and has great potential.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Staff were uninterested in customers and indifferent in general. Food was poor and expensive. Very little selection. What is so sad is with their corner spot, great and interesting exterior and grounds this could be a very successful restaurant in line with the western style of Kanab. Needs new management, new servers, and maybe a new owner. in any event Although it looks good, avoid this one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beyond the Kitsch & Tourist, the Bar & Restaurant are Real Gems”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Parry and this was recommended. The trip reviews warned of all sorts of Western and Native American memorabilia and a hidden away smokehouse/bbq in the back, nothing very flattering. But, we thought it sounded intriguing, so, off we went, right across from the hotel.

We first went to the bar and the staff were superb and friendly. Plus, they had ShockTop on drught in pitchers, so, we started right there. A singer guitarist, silver haired with a great voice and guitar went throiugh a lovely litany down memory lane from the Eagles, Carol King, Jimmy Buffet, the Statler Bros, and many, many more. Set a lovely stage for the evening

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. My partner is pure carnivore, so the smoke house and bbq were right up his alley. I love local veg, so, ordered the corn bread, the beans, the corn on the cob, the green beans and the baked potato. I was in heaven and my partner, with a full plate of bbq beef, smoked turkey, bbq pork and many other things was in 7th heaven.

The service was good, but, not=intrusive and the pitchers kept coming. We had a lovely time, great music, great atmospher and great food. Definitely a return visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. catharines
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“What a cool place”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The great layout and looks of the entrance brought us in. The good food and friendly staff will make us go back. Our meals were well prepared and really hit the spot. A live performer was playing during dinner as well. With all the items to look at around the yard it was a happy experience and would recommend evrryone to try out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast serve BBQ”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A BBQ restaurant with fast food menu and serve concept and you can have your favorite adult beverage to boot. Sit inside or out in very nice western atmosphere

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie655dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing