We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice short side trip”

Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encompassing 3,730 acres at an elevation of 6,000 feet, this state park is the site of a stunning, coral-colored dune field that is surrounded by red sandstone cliffs and juniper forests.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A nice short side trip”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The dunes are great and we were the first people that morning to be there to photograph sunrise. However, the ATV tracks and some human foot prints to spoil the serenity of the place. On the way, we saw tons of wild deer and hares. It was fun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoysTravelling_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    272
    120
    35
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

What a beautiful and amazing place. I have never seen anything like it. The sand was so soft, although not very pink. But I found that if the sand gets wet, then it is very pink!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pink. Gold. Sand”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This streach of desert is absolutely beautiful. The color of the sand changes throughout the day. Best times to visit: dawn, noonand late afternoon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Local... love the Sand Dunes”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love the Sand Dunes! it's are a great place to get away, hang out and ride for the day. We take our dirt bikes (and friends take fourwheelers) and we ride. I've also been out there in a sand rail and that is fun too! great fun.

There is a Ranger's Station for more information!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sunset at the Sand Dunes”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The sand is really pink! The place is impressive. Sunset gave the area an awesome glow. It is located right near Zion Park. The only thing was it was just about time for the park to close when went and since it was sunset and yet the park ranger charged us full price even though we would not have time to venture around. I thought that was kind of petty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynniepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park also viewed

 

Been to Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing