We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
2nd Trip with NPT!

Booked the Arches trip first week in October and it was once again and amazing trip with National... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Melissa S
,
Elizabeth, New Jersey
via mobile
Second Trip

This was the second time touring with NPT and the others in our group were there for the third time... read more

Reviewed October 18, 2018
Danielle S
Read all 112 reviews
  
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
110
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake powell signature tour bryce canyon best friends animal sanctuary animal lovers day tour small group mule ride upbeat attitude corny jokes each morning southern utah extra days expert guide memorable trip great guide the extra mile
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 112 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Although we are fairly well-traveled, my wife and I have spent little time in the Southwest. So, based on the strong recommendation of friends, we just returned from a guided tour of Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon, the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, and Lake Powell. In a word, fantastic! And just as important as the sights themselves was our guide, Cory. With his upbeat attitude, excellent knowledge of the wonderful places we visited, boundless energy and terribly corny jokes (which we all loved), he deserves to be called The Perfect Tour Guide.

Before things really got started, my wife and I added a day on the front end to see and volunteer at Best Friends, the largest no-kill animal sanctuary in the country. Being an animal lover, I could write a book about how wonderful the place is, how they have almost 4,000 acres of land, take care of over 1,000 cats and dogs, plus horses, birds, etc. If you have the time, it's a great experience and renews your faith in basic human goodness. It's a special kind of place.

The base of operations for the tour is a quaint B&B in Kanab, Utah. Kanab, a tiny town whose excellent dining options are an indication of how many tourists go through the area, is geographically well-situated to visit the sites in easy day trips. Our tour took place the first week of October, and the weather was perfect--chilly in the morning but quickly warming up to the 70s by lunchtime. If I repeat this experience in the future, I would probably target this time of year again.

I won't waste your time in a pitiful attempt at describing the beautiful and mind-blowing scenery, although I will say Bryce Canyon was my favorite, with the Grand Canyon a close second. One reason I liked Bryce Canyon so much was what we did afterward: we went on an ATV ride that turned us all into kids again! It doesn't matter how old you are, tearing up the side of a giant sand dune will have you laughing and yelling like idiotic teenagers! To top it off, the turnaround point of the ride is a large slot canyon that narrows to the point you can only hike through it single file. The entire day was magical. Everyone loved it.

Although there were a few walks up mild grades at high altitude--close to 9,000 feet at Point Imperial--nothing we did was what I would term physically demanding. There were 10 of us on the tour, all in the 60 and up age group, with a broad range of physical abilities. Kudos to Cory, who effortlessly managed the hikes, etc., and maximized the experience for everyone.

Before I forget, I have to mention the delicious breakfasts at the B&B, prepared by Berlinda. I think my favorite was the biscuits made from scratch. No, on second thought it was the thick slices of bacon. Or maybe the pancakes. And I forgot to mention the frittatas! Well, let me put it this way: you're not going to starve to death on this tour.

One word of caution: the dryness. My wife and I are from Florida, where the humidity is often above 90%. If, like us, you're not used to extreme dryness, be prepared to double up on the skin lotion. Your sinuses might bother you a bit as well. Small price to pay to see what we saw.

This is way longer than any other review I might undertake to write. But I want to stress how excellent a job Cory--and his lovely wife, Tiffany--have done to make the experience unforgettable. And they are truly nice people.

Thank you, Cory and Tiffany, for making this so special!!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank rimanning55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory and Tiffan... U, Owner at National Park Tourz, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

This thoughtful review means so very much to us. We loved having both of you on tour, as you brought a fun magic with you. As we looked over pictures of the two of you at the sites, we could definitely see the love you have for each other. It is an honor for us to bring guests to these very special places and see relationships renewed and enriched.

Thank you for sharing your favorite aspects of the tour experience, as well as tips for traveling from the East, so that others may know what to expect. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

We just completed our second tour with Cory, and he provided our group with a comprehensive tour of Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons. (Last year we joined Cory for the tour of Zion, Bryce Canyon and the Grand Canyon.) Cory is very attentive to the group's requests and needs, and is fully committed to delivering a memorable experience. We are planning to have our group reunited next year for a tour of Moab!
Thank you Cory & Tiffany!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory and Tiffan... U, Owner at National Park Tourz, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

We loved having you tour with us again! This group was up for an adventure, that's for sure. Thank you so much for reviewing the tour- it means a lot to us. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you!

Cory and Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

We just finished a fabulous vacation in Yellowstone and Grand Tetons. Cory was a fabulous guide, and so much more. Our small group was perfect for a wonderful experience, Cory was great at accomodating everyone's wishes and needs. We didn't have to worry about anything, it was all taken care of. The sights were great, he knew where to go to look for animals, the right time of the day to visit the different sights and we had so much fun being with him. Can't wait to sign-up for another trip next year.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank bagraves2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory and Tiffan... U, Owner at National Park Tourz, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you so much for coming with us to see the wonderful sights of Yellowstone and the Tetons! We are so grateful you trusted your friends' recommendation and came on tour with us! We would love to show you some more amazing places! We appreciate your business, but even more than that, we appreciate your friendship. We hope all is well in your neck of the woods!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017

I always wanted to visit Best Friends Animal Sanctuary ever since seeing the show “Dog Town” on TV years ago. My husband has always been interested in seeing Bryce Canyon. The tour by National Park Tourz provided both and much more. They provided transportation to and from the airport, all meals and great lodging at a local B&B.

Cory was an excellent tour guide! He adjusted when we would view a park according to the weather (i.e. avoided Bryce Canyon when it was snowing...in May!). He also fine tuned what we would do at each park according to the capabilities and interests of the group. His intimate knowledge of each park allowed us to see many great sights we would never have seen. After the 5 day tour was completed we planned to stay a few days at Bryce Canyon. Cory made excellent recommendations for trails during those extra days.

When things looked a little difficult or scary Cory was always there to provide encouragement and a helping hand (or arm in my case). I almost chickened-out of the ATV ride through the sand dunes to Peek - A - Boo Slot Canyon....but I’m soooo glad he encouraged me to go! The canyon was breath taking!!!

Cory’s wife, Tiffany, was a great coordinator and communicator which helped our trip (from what to pack thru the ride back to the airport) go so smoothly.

The combination of Cory’s and Tiffany’s talents helped to make this trip so much more than we expected. We had a fabulous time and will recommend this tour to our friends.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParkTourz, Owner at National Park Tourz, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

We had such a wonderful time with your group! Thank you sincerely for sharing your experience so that others might know what to expect on our tours. We are so glad you were able to do things you've been wanting to do for a long time, and that you got out of your comfort zone and saw some beautiful things. We love giving our guests experiences that they keep in their hearts.

Thank you so much, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

We did the 4-day Signature Tour with National Park Tourz and highly recommend taking one of their tours. The trip was wonderful and Cory and Tiffany make it a carefree and amazing experience. We knew that it was going to be great when Tiffany picked us up at the airport in St. George. She was so welcoming and the ride from the airport went by fast because we had such a good time. She was easy to talk to and extremely knowledgeable about the area. We stayed at a beautiful B & B in the cozy town of Kanab and joined another group of 6 people. With such a small group, we all got to know each other and Cory adjusted the tour to fit the weather (unpredictable in May) and the interests of the group. Since we were in a van, Cory took us to places that larger tours cannot access and the sights we saw were spectacular! Cory picked us up every day at 8:00 a.m. and shared the wonder of the national parks with us in an entertaining and personal way. Every day was full but we never felt rushed or like we missed anything. All meals and excursions were included in the tour. We started the day with a delicious breakfast at the B & B, had lunch at historic places in the National Parks, and dinner at local restaurants. One of our favorite parts was driving ATV’s through the sand dunes to Peek-a-Boo slot canyon. National Park Tourz is an outstanding way to see the parks up-close and personal. Cory, Tiffany and their staff provide a wonderful experience!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Nancy-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalParkTourz, Owner at National Park Tourz, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

We are very grateful you came with us, and that you added to Cory's repertoire of jokes! We loved sharing this part of the world with you, as well as learning from you. Thank you for bringing enthusiasm and gratitude everywhere we took you. We are so glad you took the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community- it means so much to us! We hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews