We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect”

Best Friends Animal Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best Friends Animal Society is the only national animal welfare organization focused exclusively on ending the killing of dogs and cats in America's shelters. An authority and leader in the no-kill movement, Best Friends runs the nation's largest no-kill sanctuary for companion animals, as well as lifesaving programs in partnership with rescue groups and shelters across the country. Since its founding in 1984, Best Friends has helped reduce the number of animals killed in shelters nationwide from 17 million per year to about 4 million. That means there are still over 9,000 dogs and cats killed in shelters each day. And we will not be done until that number is zero. Best Friends has the knowledge, technical expertise and on-the-ground network to end the killing and Save Them All(R).
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Everything was perfect”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Volunteered for 3 days - 2 days with dogs and 1 with horses. They were very organized and appreciative of the time we were spending there. And the lunches were fantastic. Hardest part of the trip was not bringing home every dog I worked with.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    971
    81
    26
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnetrista, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Uplifting & Inspirational”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I can't say enough how wonderful this place is. My 12yr old daughter and I just spent 4 days volunteering there. They offer a free tour where you are driven around the 3700 acre ranch and stop at several of the areas for the different animals housed there: Cats, Dogs, Bunnies, Birds, Wildlife, Horses and Pigs. It will do your heart good to see the wonderful care and love these animals (many would have been euthanized at a typical shelter) receive and how the animals blossom while there. The tours are around 90 minutes.

The cafeteria there serves a vegetarian lunch buffet from 12:00-1:00pm (salad bar and 1 hot entrée item plus fruit and dessert) for $5/person. The view from the cafeteria is worth 5 times that much, but the food is good too.

If you have time, sign up to volunteer. It is best to sign up several weeks (or longer) in advance if you have your heart set on one particular area (http://volunteer.bestfriends.org/) The horses, pigs and birds seemed to fill up fast. We signed up in August for our Oct trip and couldn't get into volunteer with the pigs, but then something opened up and we did get in one session with them. The cats and dogs seemed to have last minute openings when we were there, not sure if this is the case all the time, but these areas take more volunteers than the others. Some of the things you will help with as a volunteer are: preparing meals, cleaning, socializing with the animals, walking dogs and cats, poop scooping, rubbing bellies, taking dogs to the dog park, etc. All of the facilities we went into where clean, bright and had no "institutional" odor. This is one shelter you will not leave feeling sorry for the pets you can't take home with you. They all truly have a wonderful home there if they cannot be adopted.

The volunteer shifts run from 8:15-11:30am and 1:15-4:30 in the afternoons. We volunteered mostly in the mornings then explored the parks in the area in the afternoon. You can "check out" one of the dogs (or cats) for outings (a couple of hours) or for overnights (if your hotel allows them). We took a great dog home with us 2 nights in a row and took her hiking in the Sand Dunes and at Zion. Best Friends tests the dogs to ensure they are suitable for outings like this, so talk to the care takers and let them know what your plans are and they will help find a dog suited to whatever your activity is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjm93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFAS, Manager at Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks so much for joining us as volunteer visitors and sharing such fantastic travel tips! It sounds like you had a wonderful experience and we hope you'll be back again soon! -melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We loved our tour of the Animal society and the fact that they help so many animals who might be sick or just need a home.
The fact that it is a NO KILL shelter is wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A "Must" if you arein the area!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Best Friends is a truly inspirational no-kill animal sanctuary. One of the best things about the national parks being closed was visiting this wonderful home for 18,000 animals.

I will definitely consider being a volunteer when I retire fro full-time work.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank roux1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFAS, Manager at Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We're so glad your change in plans allowed you some time to stop by the Sanctuary for a visit. We would love to have you as a volunteer when time allows. Thanks for your support for the animals and for Best Friends. -melissa l.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“no unwanted pets!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Was a great 1/2 day visit, Well staffed, great tour- though had signed up to volunteer, but was unable to do so due to poor communication regarding requirements and "unable to accommodate RV to move within the property" . Well run organization and facility. Hope to actually be able to volunteer on next visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank blestpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFAS, Manager at Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks so much for enjoying a tour with us. We're so sorry about the miscommunication with regard to your RV plans. We've got some helpful tips for planning a visit for your next trip: http://bestfriends.org/The-Sanctuary/Visiting/. We hope to see you again soon, and thanks for all you do for the animals. -melissa l.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Friends Animal Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Best Friends Animal Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing