We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, but a Bit Pricey”
Review of Spurs Grill - CLOSED

Spurs Grill
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Spurs has live music most nights. We have a large patio with live music full range menu from kid's meals to the top steaks we also have a full bar from cocktails to beer and wine as well as specialty drink's. Spurs also makes it's own dry rubb and bbq sauce for our world famous bbq ribs stop on in you won't leave hungry. To top it off try one of our turtle brownie sundae's Come relax great food/drinks and music and let us do the work.
Whispering Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Food, but a Bit Pricey”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We were looking for a good steak and Spurs Grill was recommended. The service was good, the food was good, but the prices were a bit steep. My wife had the margarita special to drink and it was very expensive! I only had a soda. The bill with tip was a few pennies under $100.00 for the two of us. Too expensive for this venue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    39
    51
    40
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The food was tasty but overpriced ($11 for a Caesar salad...just lettuce, croutons and parmesan cheese, $11 for a bean and cheese burrito!), the music was not so good and our waiter was clueless.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chicken soup minus the chicken”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My granddaughter ordered chicken soup in a bowl....the serving was cup size, the price outrageous, and there was NO CHICKEN in it. It was just a watery liquid with a leafy thing floating initial. We commented to the waiter and, rather than apologize or negate the charge, he acted annoyed wiTh us....avoid this restaurant as there are others in town that are very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nualamellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average for Kanab”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

First, the title may deceive you. An average eating place in Kanab would likely not stay in business in most places. The good news for the Spur Grill is that their hamburgers are very tasty and they allow dogs on the very large patio. (If you are in Kanab to volunteer at Best Friends and have a patio-friendly sleepover dog, the patio is good.) However, the service is very slow. We have been there three times and each time they mentioned how busy they get when a tour bus is there. In each case, there was no tour bus there until after we finished eating, but the service was still slow. This may be because we were outside, but my impression is that there are just not enough wait staffers there. Of course, the draft beer is warm since it apparently sits out somewhere before it is served. They are friendly and seem to like dogs if you have one. We'll keep eating there on occasion because of the dog policy and because, after all, slow service is average in a lot of Kanab restaurants.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bicwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“overpriced average food”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

When we were told that the ribs is a speciality dinner of the restaurant we were really excited to eat excellent ribs this night. What we got was only average and not even hot anymore when served. The salad bar was great. We could eat as much salad as we wanted and it was all fresh and tasty. Service was average too we thought. But their opinion didn't match with ours. They included an 18% tip which is way too much for what you get.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing