We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, moderate food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spurs Grill - CLOSED

Spurs Grill
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Spurs has live music most nights. We have a large patio with live music full range menu from kid's meals to the top steaks we also have a full bar from cocktails to beer and wine as well as specialty drink's. Spurs also makes it's own dry rubb and bbq sauce for our world famous bbq ribs stop on in you won't leave hungry. To top it off try one of our turtle brownie sundae's Come relax great food/drinks and music and let us do the work.
Kanab, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly service, moderate food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

While we live in kanab,this was our first time eating at Spurs. It will more than likely be our last.
The service was very good. Our server was friendly, informative and attentive.
The special was Prime Rib, with salad bar/soup and choice of potatoes. . I like my meat rare and asked for this. However, well done was served and was told this was the rarest piece they had. At nearly $19 I expected the cut to be closer to what I wanted. The potatoes (I had the garlic mashed) were good, but could not make up for the condition of the stake.
We did not order desert.
I was under the impression that Spurs had Bar-b-que as there is a large smoker in front. There is no Bar-b-que offered.
For the price and quality we will not return to Spurs. It does cater more to the frequent tourists that visit our town. For them, there are other,better options.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    39
    51
    40
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“this was the best service and best meal I've had in years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

when we walked in we were seated immediately, everything was clean and there was a beautiful mural to look at on the wall. We got our cocktails right away and order dinner. mother in law got the barbecued ribs, hubby got the ribeye steak and I got the all you can eat salad bar which also came with both of their meals. I had a rib and a couple of bites of the ribeye both of which were butter tender. They were very flavorful and delicious and the salad bar was one of the best I've had.I would definitely recommend this place to anyone passing through Kanab although it was a bit pricey

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tamija47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanabJohn, Owner at Spurs Grill, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for the great review it was are pleasure to take care of you and family if your ever in the area stop in and see us again. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Could do better...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant seems to be a bit of a tourist trap. Big tourist buses in front of it are already quite indicative of it. The atmosphere of a saloon is no longer there if your made to sit on the patio. The ribs we had were a bit dry but the BBQ sauce was quite good! Prices for what you get seem to be rather high. I probably wouldn't come again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanabJohn, Owner at Spurs Grill, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for the review. Sorry you found your meal not to you liking after you embarrassed yourself by having a melt down over a $1.00 upgrade charged that you asked about and then told me that i never said anything to you about it and all the while your friend was saying that it was for the loaded baked potato and yes he did tell us at the table. When checked on several times and i also hit this guest up for desert i was told no way we are to full and the food was great amazing how fast things can change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant as part of an extremely small tour group. Immediately, we were welcomed in and made to feel like we were family!

Wonderful hosts...very gracious!
The ice cream sundae was a work of art!

Thank you for a wonderful
dining experience!

I love Kanab!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“18% Warning!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were staying in the Days Inn in Kanab and decided to have our evening meal at the Spurs Grill which was a short walk away from the hotel, we had been traveling all day and were very tired so just wanted a quick bite to eat. We were greeted by a friendly server who joked with us and took our order for drinks and told us about the steak and rib specials, when he returned he took our food order we did not go for his recommendations but ordered the small meals we had decided on, his attitude to us changed he seemed annoyed that we had ordered cheap meals and not the expensive options he had recommended he quickly took our order and from then on he totally ignored us getting a girl to bring us our meals and he never came back to us to ask if everything was ok even though he asked the table next to us. The food was ok and when the bill came it seemed high at $64, we then noticed that we had been charged an 18% service charge which surprised us as the restaurant was not busy and we were polite and friendly during our time in the restaurant and took very little of the servers time. When we left the restaurant we were ignored by staff not even a goodbye or thank you. We have toured the US many times over the last ten years and have only seen an 18% surcharge added for parties of 6 or more. On reading trip advisor after our experience we were not surprised at the owners comments he obviously uses this additional charge as a punishment for customers who do not spend as much as he wants and in our opinion this is a very short sighted attitude and will ultimately loose business for the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ukmktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanabJohn, Owner at Spurs Grill, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for your review yes we give suggestions of our menu but we really do not care what you order as all of our items have the same profit figured in as an example a burger dose not cost me as much as a steak. As for the tip we do reserve the right to put on on as for our foreign guest it help's them and as well in there country the tip is figured in so many do not know to leave a tip and here in America as we know that is how the server make there money. As for the comment about how busy we are it is not our up season yet and when it is we seat 438 guest and yes we do have food runners and drink servers as well as they also check on the tables and we communicate so we do not have 3 or 4 people at your table asking the same question's and bothering our guest. when i spoke with this guest he got belligerent and threatened me that he would never return and as i explained to him this is how the servers make there money and it is not right not to leave a fair tip and there were several people through out there visit checking on there table ans also said if you were not being such a jerk i could have and would have did something for him but when you go off and rant and rave in from of everyone and make a seen tell me you will never return then why should i? Like i said if you were nice and treated us like a human being instead of dirt under your feet we will do what ever we can to make our guest happy. the remark i got is i will not leave that big of tip then a few minutes later as i was confronted again about it is i would have left as much or more so really witch is it? and if that were true then why make this whole deal in the first place sorry you were having such a bad day that you feel we have to be you vent and through out the whole issue this guest would say on thing then the total opposite when we have folks like this there is no making them happy and really why would you complain about having 2 to 3 people checking on your table heck ever been to Bubba Gumps all staff watch and check on the guest and are world wide company are they wrong to lol.?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing