We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique & Fabulous Grand Canyon experience”

Dreamland Safari Tours
Ranked #1 of 22 Outdoor Activities in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dreamland Safari Tours delivers unique Scenic Off-Road Adventure Tours with plenty of Photography stops and short hikes mixed in. From the well known sights to those "secret" places only the locals know about, our adventures highlight the best of this wild, vivid landscape. Already designed for everyday people, options are available to fit your time frame, interests, and abilities. Our seasoned naturalist tour guides are simply the best in the business. Loaded heavy duty Suburbans carry up to 25 passengers in air conditioned comfort. Whether you are interested in touring for 3 hours or 3 days, backyard or back country, we are your outdoor connection. Let us do all the work. After all it's YOUR vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unique & Fabulous Grand Canyon experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I can't speak highly enough of Will James and Dreamland Safari Tours. While on vacation with my husband and two teenage kids, Will took us on a 6-7 trip to the very remote and inaccessible Toroweap Overlook along the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We had never heard of Will or his business... another couple who we met at Zion told us about this amazing and very hard-to-reach view at the North Rim and that Dreamland was going to take them there. I found the website and sent an email. Will got back to me within a couple of hours, and was able to take us two days later! He was very accommodating, helpful and super-friendly. Our kids loved him. Loads of fun facts and info about the geology and plant life of the area. And never in my wildest dreams would I have thought we could experience the Grand Canyon like this! I've been to the zoo that is the South Rim and don't ever need to do that again. But Will brought us to our own private Grand Canyon: no one else, and no noise but the wind! Absolutely incredible canyon views that you won't get elsewhere. I wish we'd had time to see petroglyphs and other sights along the way. Important: do NOT try to drive to Toroweap yourself. 25% of vehicles on this rocky dirt road get at least one flat tire, and there's no cell service and no one to help you if you get stuck. Going with Will and Dreamland kept us safe and very happy, and got us an experience we will NEVER forget.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MplsMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    26
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Toroweap Point -Dreamland Safari awesome views terrific guide.”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We just returned from a 5 day trip to the Southwest. The finale was a trip to Toroweap Point a spectacular Grand Canyon Overlook. If you are looking for a Grand Canyon experience without the crowds this is your ticket. William James from Dreamland Safari tours did an excellent job explaining the flora and fauna and the geology of the area. He is very accomodating and gave us a great time.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank abety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth your time to see.”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The tour was something to definately go do if you are visiting Kanab, Utah. Our guide was awesome and very full of information. He kept the tour interesting. We took the tour with a 9 year old, 11 year old, 13 year, old and a 17 year old, and they all enjoyed every minute of it. It is definately great for any and every age. Thank you to Dreamland Tours for the great experience! The Jackson Family

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mendyj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A "not to be missed, worth every penny" adventure with Dreamland is a must!”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Scrape your pennies together if you have to, but make sure you include at least one trip with Dreamland during your stay. It will be the highlight of your trip. We were three adults in our fifties with two nineteen year olds (my daughter and her friend). We booked the Photographer's Dream Tour of the Grand Staircase and got what we paid for plus so much more. We saw places we could never have gotten to on our own, and came to understand so much more about what we were seeing than we ever would have realized on our own. There is just no way to overstate how much difference it made to have co-owner Will James as our guide and driver. Will is as knowledgeable, personable and professional a guide as you could find. It was clear that his goal was to maximize the quality and value of our experience. He knew everything from the history and geology of the area to the Latin names of plants. He tailored the tour to accommodate each of us as individuals AND as a group -- we saw a huge variety of terrains, walked/hiked through beautiful slot canyons, had a terrific lunch right next to Chimney Rock in Kodachrome Basin State Park courtesy of Will (boy, were we surprised when all of a sudden, he unfolded a picnic table and chairs from the van and laid out an amazing spread!), gasped at one vista after another, and finished our day feeling that we had made a friend whom we would hope to see again. We could not recommend Dreamland more.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RGfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreamland Safari: Off the beaten path...Totally on the ball!”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Will James & Co. are nothing short of top-notch!
My sister and I were recently celebrating her 21st birthday in Las Vegas, and hailing from the East, the Grand Canyon was on our list of things to see while there. While there are many bus tours available from the city, we opted to hop a shuttle to Utah and meet up with Will and Dreamland Safari. It was the best decision we could have made! Will (and his "Guide-In-Training" Derek) took us on the Toroweap day tour...and Toroweap turned out to be the exact Grand Canyon experience we were looking for. Quiet, serene, and breathtakingly beautiful. This is not your typical "herd 'em to an overlook" tourist trap. Tours are small and personal (complete with tailored picnic lunch)...and the Toroweap site is an offroad destination you'd likely never find as an out-of-towner (and one a bus could never get to.) As a guide, Will James is experienced and knowledgable, with a love for the land that is almost infectious. To top it off, he's incredibly personable and accomodating...within minutes, you'll forget you're on a tour and feel like you're simply on a daytrip with an old friend. I highly recommend this outfit to anyone wanting to take in the Grand Canyon and surrounding areas. Would go back tomorrow if i could!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank meganvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dreamland Safari Tours also viewed

 

Been to Dreamland Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing