We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the most disgusting place I ever stayed at.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun-n-Sand Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun-n-Sand Motel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Probably the most disgusting place I ever stayed at.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We chose this place because of the 4/5 rating by tripadvisor.
What a mistake!
The place is just filthy and nothing works well (very old fridge & heater)
it's located at a junction on a highway so there was a lot of noise during the night of accelerating trucks.
The mattress was almost as old as the motel itself. I haven't slept even a single hour.
I always use tripadvisor to check on places and couldn't believe the reviews were so far off the reality.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maayan_gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    59
    18
    13
    20
See reviews for
41
66
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Yes, it's inexpensive and yes our room had a relatively new bed but the place was pretty dirty and run down. You'd have to be starving to eat the breakfast that was laid out. Stale bread and pastries, an open jar of peanut butter, flies, etc. Wayne was nice but he was actually too helpful for us. We just wanted to get into our room after a very long day of hiking and find some dinner. For the price it was a pretty good value so it just depends where your tolerance level is.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HikingFoolCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed there for a week in July 2011. We were traveling across the country on a National Park tour, and after some research we called Wayne directly. He gave us a great deal and was a great source of information the entire time we were there. Wayne and his wife Terry catered to our every whim, and Wayne even bought biscuits and gravy for us one morning and delivered them to our room! The motel is old and worn no doubt, but it is clean and reliable, and you cannot ask more from Wayne and Terry. There is simply no other place to stay if you're on a budget and looking to see the natural wonders in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The owners are great! They definitely try with what they have. Great value. Little worn down and slightly dirty but worth the price.

I found better customer service here than at any 3-4 star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This place is a little old and well worn, but its the special attention to detail, and excellent customer service that will bring me back. the Manager Wayne is like an old friend, with lots of character. Always singing, smiling and asking what he can do to make your stay pleasant.The room was run down, but clean, brand new bed, nice hot powerful shower and some of the softest, thickest hotel towels around. Breakfast was unconventional, but awesome selection. Internet worked great. And the price...well this is a great value. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tess4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

It's a little rough around the edges, but if you want a no frills, good night's sleep this is your place. It's toppped off with extremely friendly and helpful staff/owners and a free breakfast with good strong coffee. If you're lucky (like we were) you'll get fresh cut watermelon too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahnX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews we saw on TripAdvisor. Somehow, we convinced ourselves, that the hotel would be better than a 1 star hotel, but we were wrong. I am sure there are people who will do just fine in a hotel like us, but we didn't like it, couldn't handle it, and would not go back to it. We got what we paid for, and we will have to learn that we need to pay more for a higher quality hotel.

Good:
The Host / Manager greets you when you arrive and makes sure you have every thing you need to get settled in. I can see why people reviewed the hotel well. You really end up liking the Manager as his service is much better than many other places.

Bad:
The beds were too hard. They felt like boards to us. However, note that we are used to memory foam mattresses.
The bedding was not what I would consider clean. They were stained, holes and worst of all, we felt itchy / crawly all night.
The doors didn't shut tightly in the frame and some of the windows couldn't close or latch properly.
The room was not what I would consider clean. The floors were dirty (don't look under the bed) and the bathtub had hairs in it.

Suggested Improvements:
The bedding needs to be sanitized, stains removed, or bedding replaced. Bleach, Oxy-clean, something better than they are using.
Some maintenance needs to be done to shore up the place.
The level of cleaning really needs to be improved.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASchroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crayzeeWayne, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Motel, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
first of all we appreciate your kind comments in regards to the hospitality,and would like to apologize for the quality of your stay.
i am not clear on which room you were in in regards to the beds. Each room in this motel is different than the others,including the mattresses
as to the cleanliness,we apologize, we do use bleach,also oxyclean,[ hot water and soap too].there should not have been stained sheets on the bed,and i wish you had let us know i would have put nicer ones on for you.
sometimes you might get a towel with a small stain,but never sheets!
the hair in the tub is completely unacceptable. We generally do a better job.
thank you for your business and again;we apologize.

please folks! - Let us know about any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
0.8 mi away
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
0.5 mi away
Parry Lodge
Parry Lodge
#9 of 15 in Kanab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 15 in Kanab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kanab
Hampton Inn Kanab
#6 of 15 in Kanab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun-n-Sand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Motel

Property: Sun-n-Sand Motel
Address: 347 S 100 E, Kanab, UT 84741-3653
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE UNDER GOING A FACELIFT PLEASE BEAR WITH US! We provide clean, affordable lodging by the day or week. We accept pets. All rooms have fridges and microwaves. We also have "family rooms" which have 3 beds and two rooms with big "kitchen" area with dining table, fridge & microwave ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun-n-Sands Hotel Kanab
Sun-n-Sand Motel Kanab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing