We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun-n-Sand Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
71
63
19
16
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
63
19
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade muffinsthe managersbit outdatedgreat conversationgreat charactergreat managementmom and popseen better daysgreat advicewi fieach morningmini fridgechain hotelsmotelcassiepbneon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 193 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed there for a week in July 2011. We were traveling across the country on a National Park tour, and after some research we called Wayne directly. He gave us a great deal and was a great source of information the entire time we were there. Wayne and his wife Terry catered to our every whim, and Wayne even bought biscuits and gravy for us one morning and delivered them to our room! The motel is old and worn no doubt, but it is clean and reliable, and you cannot ask more from Wayne and Terry. There is simply no other place to stay if you're on a budget and looking to see the natural wonders in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The owners are great! They definitely try with what they have. Great value. Little worn down and slightly dirty but worth the price.

I found better customer service here than at any 3-4 star hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This place is a little old and well worn, but its the special attention to detail, and excellent customer service that will bring me back. the Manager Wayne is like an old friend, with lots of character. Always singing, smiling and asking what he can do to make your stay pleasant.The room was run down, but clean, brand new bed, nice hot powerful shower and some of the softest, thickest hotel towels around. Breakfast was unconventional, but awesome selection. Internet worked great. And the price...well this is a great value. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tess4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

It's a little rough around the edges, but if you want a no frills, good night's sleep this is your place. It's toppped off with extremely friendly and helpful staff/owners and a free breakfast with good strong coffee. If you're lucky (like we were) you'll get fresh cut watermelon too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahnX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews we saw on TripAdvisor. Somehow, we convinced ourselves, that the hotel would be better than a 1 star hotel, but we were wrong. I am sure there are people who will do just fine in a hotel like us, but we didn't like it, couldn't handle it, and would not go back to it. We got what we paid for, and we will have to learn that we need to pay more for a higher quality hotel.

Good:
The Host / Manager greets you when you arrive and makes sure you have every thing you need to get settled in. I can see why people reviewed the hotel well. You really end up liking the Manager as his service is much better than many other places.

Bad:
The beds were too hard. They felt like boards to us. However, note that we are used to memory foam mattresses.
The bedding was not what I would consider clean. They were stained, holes and worst of all, we felt itchy / crawly all night.
The doors didn't shut tightly in the frame and some of the windows couldn't close or latch properly.
The room was not what I would consider clean. The floors were dirty (don't look under the bed) and the bathtub had hairs in it.

Suggested Improvements:
The bedding needs to be sanitized, stains removed, or bedding replaced. Bleach, Oxy-clean, something better than they are using.
Some maintenance needs to be done to shore up the place.
The level of cleaning really needs to be improved.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ASchroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crayzeeWayne, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2011

first of all we appreciate your kind comments in regards to the hospitality,and would like to apologize for the quality of your stay.
i am not clear on which room you were in in regards to the beds. Each room in this motel is different than the others,including the mattresses
as to the cleanliness,we apologize, we do use bleach,also oxyclean,[ hot water and soap too].there should not have been stained sheets on the bed,and i wish you had let us know i would have put nicer ones on for you.
sometimes you might get a towel with a small stain,but never sheets!
the hair in the tub is completely unacceptable. We generally do a better job.
thank you for your business and again;we apologize.

please folks! - Let us know about any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews