We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun-n-Sand Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$159
$128
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Kanab(Kanab)(Great Value!)
$134
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Kanab)(Great Value!)
$154
$146
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parry Lodge(Kanab)(Great Value!)
$149
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aikens Lodge(Kanab)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Red Hills(Kanab)(Great Value!)
$154
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
71
63
19
16
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
63
19
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade muffinsthe managersbit outdatedgreat conversationgreat charactergreat managementmom and popseen better daysgreat advicewi fieach morningmini fridgechain hotelsmotelcassiepbneon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 193 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

It's a little rough around the edges, but if you want a no frills, good night's sleep this is your place. It's toppped off with extremely friendly and helpful staff/owners and a free breakfast with good strong coffee. If you're lucky (like we were) you'll get fresh cut watermelon too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahnX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews we saw on TripAdvisor. Somehow, we convinced ourselves, that the hotel would be better than a 1 star hotel, but we were wrong. I am sure there are people who will do just fine in a hotel like us, but we didn't like it, couldn't handle it, and would not go back to it. We got what we paid for, and we will have to learn that we need to pay more for a higher quality hotel.

Good:
The Host / Manager greets you when you arrive and makes sure you have every thing you need to get settled in. I can see why people reviewed the hotel well. You really end up liking the Manager as his service is much better than many other places.

Bad:
The beds were too hard. They felt like boards to us. However, note that we are used to memory foam mattresses.
The bedding was not what I would consider clean. They were stained, holes and worst of all, we felt itchy / crawly all night.
The doors didn't shut tightly in the frame and some of the windows couldn't close or latch properly.
The room was not what I would consider clean. The floors were dirty (don't look under the bed) and the bathtub had hairs in it.

Suggested Improvements:
The bedding needs to be sanitized, stains removed, or bedding replaced. Bleach, Oxy-clean, something better than they are using.
Some maintenance needs to be done to shore up the place.
The level of cleaning really needs to be improved.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ASchroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crayzeeWayne, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2011

first of all we appreciate your kind comments in regards to the hospitality,and would like to apologize for the quality of your stay.
i am not clear on which room you were in in regards to the beds. Each room in this motel is different than the others,including the mattresses
as to the cleanliness,we apologize, we do use bleach,also oxyclean,[ hot water and soap too].there should not have been stained sheets on the bed,and i wish you had let us know i would have put nicer ones on for you.
sometimes you might get a towel with a small stain,but never sheets!
the hair in the tub is completely unacceptable. We generally do a better job.
thank you for your business and again;we apologize.

please folks! - Let us know about any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Wayne, who runs the place, is awesome. Was greated with a cold beer and gave us some information for a great local hike which we could complete with the few hours of daylight we had left. Provides a great breakfast and good price. The rooms were small, but very clean. After checking out we happened to end back in the town to use our phones before off to our next destination. Wayne saw us and ran across the road to make sure everything was ok since he knew we should have been at our next destination. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattooed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I've actually stayed here twice. The manager, Wayne, has to be my favorite person. Really cool guy, super extroverted... he'll put a lot into conversations, but if you really want to have fun you should have a BBQ with him or seek out opportunities to speak with him. He's really knowledgable and he shares drinks and food whenever he can. He has a rough sort of humor that takes a few jokes to get used to, but it's all in good fun Quite a character. He makes the whole stay an experience in itself. The rooms are great for the price, and you get so much more.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaiBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Like the reviews attest to, the managers are sweethearts. The place is cool. They have done a lot to rehab it. It is not a 5 star hotel, so if that's what you expect, don't. That said, it is clean! and for the price, that is what counts. I stayed here with my dad and we had a great time. WiFi included. FYI, Esteban's around the corner has GREAT mexican food!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamien33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews