We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary.”
Review of Travelodge Kanab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Kanab
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Can't believe this is getting good reviews. My wife was dreading staying here, so we left. Luckily Priceline was able to convince them to give us a refund.

Here's some reasons why: This is the first motel I've ever seen that has you go in through a main door to a 'room block' with your key, and your door is inside a long dark corridor. Usually motels doors are all accessed from outdoors. The entry there was dirty, (could barely see through the glass), the carpet looked old. We opened the room door and it would get stuck open. 2 beds took up most of the room, we went to the window to look out and there was a few feet back there before a fence with no view. a perfect place for someone to come sneak into your room at night. The window latch was broken! so could not lock it. No bars on the window. Turned on the TV, got fuzzy reception, and remote would not change channels. Small TV way up high and could see the cables hanging down. Next, the toilet was always running on, and would do a little 'flush' correction every five minutes to reset. The dark shower may have been clean, but the old fashioned square 'stall' version, was caulked with white caulk over black mold (trapped in the caulking), and so look dirty and my wife refused to set foot in there.

We really expected to see roaches or spiders but luckily did not.

The guy was actually nice about it and explained that they were renovating. That's great but those excuses did not help us out. Maybe people going back after these renos will have a better experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichCatRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 385 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

I used this hotel for a guys trip. The price was amazing and the location was perfect for out trip to buckskin gulch and to attempt to obtain a permit to go to the wave. We did not get one but it was fun. The room was small but had what we needed to sleep and get out early in the morning. The fridge in the room was a huge plus. the owners were great, they gave us extra towels and anything else we requested. the breakfast was oatmeal, toast, waffles, and cold cereal. nothing spectacular but it was something to fill the gut and get going. I will be going back because we did not see everything we wanted to and it was just great for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This met the needs of a place to stay for a few hours while on the road through Kanab although I feel that I spent more than the place was worth. The room was very small with the king bed pushed all the way against one wall. The bathroom and closet could have been better used for more room space. The bed was terrible--too many fat people have slept on it. I ended up just sleeping across the top of the bed (lucky it was a king) and thus did not wake up sore. The heater was very loud and even when it was not actually heating, it was still noisily blowing air. I ended up cranking it up to get the room warm then turned it off and hoped I would be warm enough through the night. Lucky for me, I had to wake up at 4:30 so when I woke up rather cold around 4, I just got up and left.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank powderforage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you're looking for a "nice" place to stay, move along from here, but if you want something that's adequate and seems to be the cheapest place to stay in Kanab then this is your place. The entire place needs to be updated but is comfortable enough with the basic amenities. Has a fairly average breakfast available as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felisconcolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife had just been released from the hospital and we needed a 'Special Needs' accommodation without a reservation , these wonderful owners provided us with a room, at the last minute, changing a reservation to accommodate us with a room that not only took care of our needs but offered a Microwave, Refrigerator ,a comfortable bed and full service TV at the lowest price I have ever found in the US . A clean room with excellent, considerate service

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The room was quite pricey for what you got, but that seems to be the way things are in Kanab. The whole place needs to be updated with new bathrooms, bedding, carpets, AC (it was quite loud), etc. But, it was decent for one night. The free breakfast in the morning was okay, they had bread, cereal, muffins. The location is good, close to restaurants and the grocery store.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is definitely a budget hotel. We stayed one night and should really have looked at the rooms before we checked in. Very dated and not too clean. The beds were old and saggy so not even a real good nights sleep. The chap at the front desk in the morning did not even acknowledge my greeting when we went for breakfast which was quite skimpy. Not recommended unless you are looking for the cheapest rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Altadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanab hotels
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kanab
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Kanab
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kanab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Kanab
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aikens Lodge
Aikens Lodge
#8 of 15 in Kanab
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Red Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Kanab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Kanab

Address: 386 E 300 S, Kanab, UT 84741-3727 (Formerly Royal Inn Kanab)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range: $51 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Kanab 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Kanab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Inn Kanab Hotel Kanab
Travelodge Kanab Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing