We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ivins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Red Mountain Spa is situated in a beautiful spot, on the edge of a state park. The grounds were lovely, and the staff was eager to please.

St. George's unbridled urban sprawl is creeping towards the resort.

My greatest grievance is that the spa visually markets/suggests that the buildings they depict in their ads are the buildings you stay in. You can stay in those, but they are the Residences and cost more to rent. They're privately owned and unless you pay extra you will actually stay in a nice, but not spectacular, room. These rooms are located in much older buildings designed more like dorms. Outside each room is are old yellow lights that the resort turns on each night. You can't keep your shades open with these lights on, and if you can't keep your shades open you can't wake up to the lovely views. I unscrewed the lightbulbs.

The pillows were not good. Too spongey. Beds were comfy. Air conditioners WAY too noisy. Not Zen.

When you arrive you get a guided tour. The guide gives you raffle tickets and if she pulls your ticket you win a prize, like a free massage, etc. But not everyone wins. So you can end the tour feeling like a punished kid. Not a great way to start your stay!

Hiking program is great. Food is lovely---wine is extra. Hammocks are wonderful. And, as I said, the staff really tries hard. I loved seeing that country, and it was over all a good time.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PrincessandPea_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 954 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2008

This was my first spa vacation so I can't make any comparisons. I was very happy with the resort, accommodations, activities and food service. In the six days/five nights I was at Red Mountain Spa, I went on three Trekker 2 hikes, took a variety of health and fitness classes, worked out in the weight room, read in a hammock and had two spa treatments. I was also able to walk to Snow Canyon State Park. This is not a "ritzy" resort. It's for down-to-earth, active people who want to enjoy the gorgeous scenery and have a healthful vacation. The food was delicious and plentiful, with posted nutritional information. The spa treatments were about the same as what I can get locally, though they were more expensive. The deluxe king room was really only large enough for one person. If I'd been traveling with a companion, there wouldn't have been enough storage space for clothing and luggage for two. Also, there was only a desk chair, and not enough space for a second chair in the room. A previous reviewer mentioned there was no door to the sink/tub area. There was a pocket door between the bedroom and bathroom (at least in my room), which may not have been obvious to that writer. All in all, this was a wonderful experience and I would return in a heartbeat. I met some truly interesting people by sitting at the community table for dinners. I loved being at a place where everyone (staff and guests) was smiling all the time.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

I did a lot of research on different destination spas before booking at Red Mountain. I finally decided to go to Red Mountain because the rooms are new and modern, it offered great hiking and lots of activities, and it was still much cheaper than other comparable spas. I was not disappointed.

I was able to get a new King Villa Suite with a bedroom, living room, kitchen, two balconies, two fireplaces, a large bathroom with separate tub and shower, and a second bathroom with shower. With all of that, I still paid several hundred dollars less than the small standard rooms at the other spas I considered.

Although the rooms are nice, Red Mountain does not attempt to be a 5 star resort. I would agree with some of the other reviewers who say it’s like a camp for adults. There is no turndown service, no room service, and none of the little extras of a 5 star resort. There was a robe in my room but no slippers. The room also had a coffee maker and coffee but no tea. Small things like the window shades could have been of better quality. The toiletries were nice but not the best. That being said, everything is new, modern, clean, and well-designed, and it offered excellent value for the price. Service is also very good.

The hikes, the food, the activities, and the spa treatments were all excellent. There were many returning guests, and everyone was very nice and friendly. It's a fun place with lots of things to do.

Some of the previous reviewers mentioned construction around the villas. That appears to be complete, and there was no construction while I was there.

I highly recommend Red Mountain. It is certainly worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank friscocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

This is the best place to go in order to get away from it all. It was just an amazing place to be. This was the first trip that I took by mself, and to my surprise, there were many people who also traveled solo. They have a community dinner table if you don't want to eat by yourself. The morning hikes are the perfect way to start the day. There were many other activities that you could participate in if you choose or you could do nothing at all. I went horseback riding and kayaking (the first time for both). Those that are experienced may be a little bored by these activities, but they are perfect for the beginner. Many people are return visitors, and I'm certainly headed back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sunshinegirl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

This was the best vacation I have ever been on. I have never been so relaxed and at peace. I never wanted to leave!!! For my first vacation by myself, I have no doubt this was as best choice I could have made. I meet the most fabulous people from all over the US.
Hikes: Every morning at 7:45-back at 11:00 , group of 10 people, three different levels, level 2 is around 3-5miles, elevation gain of up to 850 feet. Everyday a different location, all of them beautiful scenery.

Spa: Best Spa services I have ever received.

Staff: ALL of them are happy and efficent and genuinely love their jobs.

Service: Outstanding! Kudos to the Mangement and staff in every department.

Exercise classes: Lots of variety, things to do all day long.

Gym: Well laid out with good variety of equipment.

Food: Delicous and healthy with calorie and portion sizes plainly visable for anyone looking to lose weight.

Helpful hints:
They have laundry and ice machine in every building.
They have two water bottles in your room that you can fill up in the restaurant with ice and water.
Make dinner resos and sit at the "community" table, this was the most fun!
Drag yourself out of bed EVERY morning to go on the hikes they were amazing.
Print daily shedule from their website before you go so you have a rough idea of the activities and extra services you might want.
Go by yourself or with your husband or girlfriend this is a great place with alot of variety of activites, no one can be bored there.
Go to " Meet the Mustangs", and hug a wild horse.
Relax unwind and never want to go back to work.

I read somewhere when I was there "The Red Rocks get into your soul". I am now a believer. I can't wait to go back.

The Canadian with the "cute"accent

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cutecanadianaccent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

This is my fifth visit to Red Mountain Spa and it amazes me that I could have a better time than the last time I visited!!! The staff can not do enough for you. As I have severe food allergies, the Chef, the kitchen staff and everyone else are just wonderful. I just can't say enough about all of the Red Mountain staff. I have been to almost every destination spa and I will return again and again to Red Mountain for both the facilities and mostly because of the staff. You get every ounce of your money's worth at this spa and then some :)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jodibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This is one of the best vacations I have ever been on, and I went it alone. They offered so much for exercise for the people that never have exercised to the extremely athletic. I must admit I felt a little concerned at first when the word "spa" was in the title. I enjoy the spa, but really for me staying there was all about being outside in the beautiful surrounding desert. I love to recall riding bikes up mountains and giant rocks in the high desert and riding down screaming and laughing at the top of my lungs. I felt like a little kid again. It was so exciting, and so taxing on the body...it was wonderful and freeing. The yoga, the incredibly natural and healthy menu cooked better than anyone could possibly imagine, the red mountains that are meant to be climbed, biked and run upon. This was so wonderful, I plan on bringing my daughter here very soon.

It is memories of the Red Mountain Spa that get me through some very stressful days. I can just tune out, and I am there. It was definitely a gift that I will remember forever, and it was a gift to myself! :o)

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Galileo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivins
5.9 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 42 in St. George
804 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
11.6 mi away
Coral Springs Resort
Coral Springs Resort
#18 of 42 in St. George
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#7 of 42 in St. George
920 reviews
6.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George
8.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mountain Resort

Address: 1275 Red Mountain Circle, Ivins, UT 84738-6178
Location: United States > Utah > Ivins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ivins
Price Range: $194 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World-Class Adventure RetreatBlended naturally into a landscape of vivid red rock cliffs and canyons of southern Utah, Red Mountain Resort has everything you need to relax, renew and rediscover your passion for adventure. Eighty-two beautifully designed rooms and twenty-four villa suites are carefully sited on fifty-five acres of black lava gardens and fragrant mesquite with stunning vistas of the surrounding mountains. All amenities, from nutrition seminars to massages, are a short, scenic walk away.Red Mountain’s ideal location allows convenient planning of a customized adventure to Zion or Bryce Canyon National Parks, while Snow Canyon State Park is only about a quarter of a mile down the road. Our dedicated staff is here to encourage and support you in being as active or relaxed, social or private, as you wish – whether meeting new friends during an exhilarating rock climb or savoring a solitary walk on our private trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Red Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mountain Hotel Ivins
Red Mountain Spa
Red Mountain Resort Utah/Ivins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing