We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night”
Review of EconoLodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EconoLodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hurricane
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Hotel is very retro, however not on purpose, it's just still looks like it did 30 years ago. Room was clean and we slept fine. Continental breakfast was a joke. They had loaves of white bread, the generic grocery store brand, displayed in an acrylic case, one flavor of jelly, watered down orange juice and coffee. Those were ALL the options. We had a good laugh and then headed to find food before we got back on the road.

  • Liked — How "retro" the building was
  • Disliked — The continental breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank micdenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    149
    191
    69
    43
See reviews for
147
183
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2007

When my wife and I entered the room in the afternoon, the temperature is so high and air conditional was turned off. We turned on the air condition (it's not efficient and very noisy), it took about one hour before the temperature finally cooled down. Other conditions are also quite bad.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank Ray65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We enjoyed a clean, comfortable room, friendly staff and a continental breakfast all at a great price! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — price
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDBlueCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

I was so upset with the condition of this property I complained directly to Travelodge and asked if they had minimum standards for a hotel to use their title. Apparently not.
To appease me I was offered 10% off next stay, like that's ever going to happen.

  • Liked — easy to locate
  • Disliked — cleanliness of rooms, no mattress cover, dirty carpets and bed covers
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskatoonBd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, ID
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

I recently booked this property for my family as a last resort! The St. George Parade of Homes made anything closer to St George impossible. Although this property's curb appeal is reminisent of the1970's travel lodges, the interiors were simply furnished with modern decor and new bed spreads, artwork and furnishings and a rather large new TV . Our King bed seemed to be very new and very comfortable. One of the best beds I have ever slept on in a motel!
Upon arrival the vanity light was burned out, but while we were at dinner, it was promptly repaired. The staff seemed attentive and friendly. The room was clean and the fridge and microwave sparkling.
The street noise was a bit loud as the street is the main drag through town. The property was quiet after 10 pm even though there was a little league baseball tourniment in town and at least one team was also staying there.
We didn't try the breakfast because we had already spotted the Krispy Kream donuts accross the street and" Perks", the local latte drive through just down the street. So we cannot comment on the breakfast.
The outdoor pool was small but clean and warm on the mid February evenings! My son and I enjoyed our swim under the stars! All in all a good value for the money!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetgifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

A reasonable room and clean bedding. Good facilities in the room. The continental breakfast was a joke so forget it! Bag of cheap white bread, a tub of margarine and some jam. Motel is handy for Zion national park which we were visiting.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2006

This has the lowest curb appeal of the 5 motels in town, but the rooms are good sized, clean, quiet, and a great deal. Plan on getting breakfast somewhere. The breakfast is insulting and not even worth checking out. The review stating the bread and jam was accurate. This place could get a costco membership and get some bagels or something and it will get consistent 4 stars (for a motel).

So, forget about the breakfast and this is a great stay.

Note to Zion travelers: Hurricane is great for a stayover when touring the parks, but not a great place to set up a 2-3 night "base camp". If you want convenience and need to go back to your room mid-day, stay in Springdale.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurricane
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Zion
Quality Inn Zion
#2 of 6 in Hurricane
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Hurricane Near Zion National Park
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Zion West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites La Verkin - Gateway to Zion
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
23.9 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#2 of 2 in Zion National Park
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge

Property: EconoLodge
Address: 280 W State St, Hurricane, UT 84737-1964 (Formerly Travelodge Hurricane Zion National Park Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Hurricane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hurricane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park is just 19 miles from the Econo Lodge in Hurricane, Utah. Our location in the downtown area of Hurricane places us within walking distance to many major restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your EconoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hurricane Zion National Park Area Hotel Hurricane
Travel Lodge Hurricane
Hurricane Travelodge
Hurricane Travel Lodge
EconoLodge Hurricane, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing