We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Had A Great Time on Waverunners”

Sand Hollow State Park
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Hurricane
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We Had A Great Time on Waverunners”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were planning on going to Lake Powell but after coming back to St. George from Bryce, was not looking forward to the long drive again. Starting looking for more local lakes and found this state park. Nice enough park, the reservoir is a pretty good size.

We were lucky, we went the day after school started and there was literally less than a dozen boats/jet skis on the water the day we went, despite the fact that it was hot and a good day to be on the lake.

We rented two waverunners from Ideal Sports of Southern Utah and they delivered right to the lake, putting them in the water and taking out as well. And for about half the price that rentals would have costed us at Lake Powell. It was great. We could zoom the lake and tow the kids without nearly as much limitation due to other boaters, we were able to spend a LOT more time at the lake because of the proximity to where we were staying in St. George, and we had a nice beach picnic table area without anyone else really around. If we find our way in the summer to Southern Utah again, we'd come back and do it again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PSoTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    45
    15
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lake Powell in a small size”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

One of our favorites and we live 5 minutes away. Ok here is my problem-swimmers itch-a parasite in the water that can and may have you break out with bumps and itching. I found if you stay out of shallow areas you will be Ok but I may be wrong. Also this lake like so many Utah lakes has the mussel problem. Requires special washing of boats. Too much of a pain...so we take our kayaks and canoe to Quail lake State park around the corner...no itch or mussels! Great fishing and clear water. Site of many triathlons including the ironman swim event. Located across the street from utah's #1 ranked golf course.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Graywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Desert”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This lake was made in the middle of a desert, literally. I love going there. We live 10 miles either direction from this lake. If you enjoy jumping off rocks it has a really nice area for that. Yes it does have swimmers itch, but not everyone gets it. Take a hot shower after you leave the lake for most people this will iake care of it. It's a great lake to cool off in with the 100 plus temps in the summer. Easy to get to and was created for water supply. It's fairly new and is improving every year. We've done everything from camping, boating, jet skiing, sunbathing on the beach to rock diving and quit enjoy it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs disinfecting & a pesticide treatment”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Awful experience on several occasions. Grand daughter refuses to return due to swimmer's itch. My boat was overtaken by nats during lunch. They need to shut the lake down and disinfect it!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rookiealways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place we come several times a year”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wonderful fishing, fun for swimming, great beaches! They also have the sand dunes to use your atv's. Love this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank horsebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Hollow State Park also viewed

 

Been to Sand Hollow State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing