We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holladay
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The Residence Inn in Cottonwood was perfect for our family. We stayed here for 6 nights. The property was immaculately landscaped. The room was spacious and met all of our needs.

On Sunday we used the courtyard grill to make a fantastic steak dinner.

The kids spent the mornings poolside while my husband exercised in the fitness center.

Our only complaint... The hotel management had an employee appreciation day the Friday of our stay. This left our room unserviced that day. Perhaps next year it should be on a Tuesday evening.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTLuvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We are glad that your family enjoyed not only the pool and fitness area but the barbecue grill as well. We tried very hard to minimize the disruption to guests on the day of our employee appreciation event and are sorry that your room was not serviced as you would have liked. We’re glad you are coming back and we are confident you will enjoy our newly renovated hotel rooms. This work begins in October and will be complete by early January. Again, thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    71
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
78
46
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
219 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 5 nights in July 2013. The staff was wonderful, and the location is spectacular, literally right at the mouth of the canyon. It seems you could throw a rock and hit the mountains.

The common areas (pool, gym, gatehouse, etc.) were all very nice and modern. The breakfast was standard for a Residence Inn - which is to say it was a full meal with lots of options.

The rooms unfortunately were what made this hotel average. They have everything you'd expect from a Residence Inn....but they are extremely dated. Furnishings, carpet, decor, linens, etc. Seems to be something from the late 80's/early 90's. Don't get me wrong - the rooms were clean, just.....old. And I didn't really like that feeling.

I do plan to return and hope to find the rooms with an updated look. It is about the only negative, but it was very noticeable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myklrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your week with us and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary full breakfast buffet with all its variety.

The lobby and common areas were recently renovated and we are excited to announce that our guest rooms will be completely updated as well. The renovation will begin this fall and is expected to be completed by early January. We look forward to your return visit for a stay in our "new" guest rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the RI in Cottonwood and love the location in Salt Lake. We were able to get around town and have a lot of great places so close, especially the restaurants and shopping. Easy access to get into the mts.

On the hotel itself, staff was great and very accommodating. Housekeeping not the greatest and room had bare minimum done to it each day. carpet dirty, couch and chair saggy, bed lumpy & way too soft, counter in kitchen had been repaired very poorly and the mirror door for the closet falling apart. However, the common area for breakfast and lobby was nice but again this 1st floor room needed serious updating and repair. Also, i would recommend staying above the 1st floor as we heard the kids above us until at least 11 pm.

Breakfast was also decent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rjmkrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for providing feedback regarding your experience. Our location does indeed enjoy a wonderful setting and easy access to all of the Salt Lake Valley attractions. I am pleased you found our staff so hospitable and helpful. I’m sorry you found the housekeeping service so poor. I have shared your comments with the housekeeping supervisor and staff in order to provide additional training around the details you noted. I invite you to please contact me directly so I may address this matter more fully. You may reach me at 801-453-0430, x600 or you may email me at ri.slctt.gm@marriott.com .
I am pleased you enjoyed our newly renovated Gatehouse. Our guest rooms will be undergoing a complete renovation as well this fall; the work is expected to be completed by early January. I invite you to return again to experience our “new” guest rooms, and will be happy to personally arrange your accommodations.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Our king bed studio was everything we needed it to be. The room was spacious with a small kitchen. Internet access, and a daily breakfast all help make this a good place to stay. The best part is that you can be up in the mountains in the matter of minutes. We explored both Little and Big Cottonwood Canyons and hiked in diverse areas. This hotel is the perfect home base.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5_Frosts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback regarding your experience. I’m pleased you liked your suite so much; the Studio arrangement does provide quite a bit of space to spread out. I’m glad our location was so convenient for you and that you were able to see so much of the canyons. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was near the mountains and walking distance to food and shops. Short distance to drive for scenic sights. Great Pool with mountains backdrop. Free Breakfast every day. Would stay again. The staff was polite and were easy to access. Rooms varied in sizes and were clean.Parking was always available and near the room entrances.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasvegasLocated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback regarding your experience. I’m pleased you found our location so convenient and our staff so friendly and helpful. Our pool area is one of the highlights of our hotel and is very popular; we are fortunate to have the Wasatch Mountains as a backdrop for our hotel. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here with my husband. He was working I was relaxing. spacious suites, plenty of close parking, excellent restaurants in easy walking distant. Mountains are right rear. Great hiking trails, easy access to the freeways. The light rail is about 5 miles away with plenty of parking if you want to go down town or to the temple or sporting venues. Hope my husband works at the same office. He is platinum with Marriott and this is a great hotel for what we like. There is a good swimming pool and hot tub, exercise room. Every room is a mini-suite with a full kitchen. Loved this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the pool. It was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokedogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInn-SLCTT, Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you were able to stay with us and enjoy so many of the great activities that are available here at the foot of the Wasatch mountains. We appreciate your husband’s loyalty as a Platinum Elite member and are glad that we were able to provide a home away from home when you were here in Salt Lake City. On your next visit please inquire about our complimentary shuttle service that can take you within five miles of the hotel. This will allow your husband to use his car while working and allow you to still get around. Thank you again for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a wedding and had a wonderful time. The rooms are spacious, the beds are cozy, the pool was inviting, and the service was great! I caught the tail end of breakfast so I was only able to snag a yogurt and pineapple, but that was my own fault and was just glad they had a few things still out and that were healthy. When we travel back to SLC, we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swttalula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holladay
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City/Cottonwood
2.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Midvale/Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray
3.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Union Park
6.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#15 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood

Property: Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood
Address: 6425 South 3000 East, Holladay, UT 84121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Holladay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holladay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood Utah/Holladay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing