We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay before snowmobiling the next day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daniels Summit Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Heber City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nice comfortable place to stay the night before heading out for snowmobiling. It was nice to be able to not have to wake up extra early to head to the mountains. They have comfortable beds, indoor pool and a restaurant on property so you don't have to go far. I wouldn't probably stay for a week but a night or two while snowmobiling is just perfect. One thing to be aware of there isn't cell phone coverage at the lodge, AT&T didn't work at all, but they do have internet on the property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 236 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

The lodge is perched atop Daniels Summit, East of Heber, with a Cowboy motif, gift shop, restaurant and during the Winter season, headquarters for snowmobile activity in this area. The lodge is built in a log cabin style, with huge log beams supporting the roof. The lounge area has a great fireplace, interesting Cowboy decorative furniture and is a comfortable place to hang out after a snowmobile romp.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the rear, non-highway, facing side of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were on our way to the Salt Lake Airport, to catch a plane back to Florida, when we got a flat tire just up the road from the lodge. Our rental car didn't have a spare tire - only one of those ridiculous fix-a-flat style air-compressors, and, of course, the tire was too badly damaged to fix. It was getting dark, there was no place in sight, it was cold, and our cell phones didn't have any bars. Luckily, a nice land surveyor gave us a ride to the lodge where we were met with very sympathetic and helpful people. They found the rental company number and supplied a phone for us to get a tow truck. While we were waiting we had meal here at the restaurant, and were very surprised by the quality of the food. The soup and salad were very good, but the chicken pot-pie was outstanding! My wife said it was the best she's ever had. If we ever come this way again, we are definitely going to make a meal, and possibly a room at the lodge, among our top priorities. Oh, and we did make our flight out of Salt Lake that night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Pensacola_FLYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay in a room with a back balcony and fireplace. We saw many deer from our balcony that evening. We did not eat at the restaurant, deciding instead to drive into Heber and get Mexican food. The only downside I can think of is the room does not have a fridge or microwave. The beds are comfy and the bathroom was nice and stocked with shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The front staff was very friendly, no matter who I was talking to. It would be wonderful in the winter with the snow falling. The main area of the lodge is large and offers checkers, chess and tic tac toe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tisha399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Daniels Summit Lodge for a mini vacation and really enjoyed it. The lodge is beautiful with the rustic décor and hardware. The room had rustic log beds (which were very comfortable), an electric fireplace and was probably the cleanest room that I’ve ever seen in a hotel. The view from our deck was gorgeous; we spent part of our evening on the deck with our hot chocolate taking in the scenery. We also spent some time at the general store chatting with the staff, sampling the fudge, etc. The staff was very friendly, fun and made us feel welcome. When it came time to check out I didn’t want to leave. We will be planning a trip back real soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foto_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My hubby & I have visited Daniel's Summit yearly for at least a decade. We've seen it develop & grow. We stayed in the lodge over the July 4th weekend. It was then that we saw the Mountain Home Retreat. Our family is large. Six sons with wives and 13 grandkids under the age of six. It was a houseful. Between 3 couches and a lawn for tents right next to the doors, we comfortably stayed the Labor Day weekend as a family. This was our Christmas gift to the children. Worth every dime!!!!!! The kitchen had absolutely everything for cooking. Griddles, kitchenaid mixer, crockpot, it had anything needed to cook a gourmet meal! We brought a blu-ray player and were able to hook up to our Netflix service as they provide WiFi service. There are DVD players with 3 of the 4 tvs. The ice machine is at the lodge, we just brought bagged ice and kept it in the freezer & our cooler full of drinks on the patio. A gas barbecue on the patio just outside of the kitchen/dining room with 2 picnic tables made outdoor cooking great. We hadn't expected all the extras they provided. Our next trip will be minus packing cooking equipment. The beauty and charm of the log home was amazing, down to every detail. The huge deck made a perfect vantage point for viewing the starlit sky of the mountains.The home is set just far enough back from the lodge & other buildings that we could not view any of them nor could we hear their activity. We could only hear an occasional whinny from the horses corralled down the hill. Lastly, I have serious health problems. The management was very helpful in accommodating my needs. I use oxygen and am tethered to a concentrating machine with a 50' tubing. because of how spacious and open the Home is, the tubing was far less of an annoyance than in my own home. The home is not handicap friendly in that there was no bed on the main level, but a wheelchair can be wheeled right up into the kitchen door, the couches would work to sleep on if absolutely necessary, but for me, it was worth struggling up the stairs to get to the master bedroom (private deck too) and BATHTUB!!! Having a bubble bath with your cousins in a jacuzzi was so fun for the grandkids after a long day of adventure. We have previously used the activities offered by the lodge. Horse back riding is wonderful with their expert cowboy. Snowmobiling in the winter is a blast. We instead rented a pontoon boat at Strawberry reservoir just 10 min away and had a lucky day fishing. I hope this review helps anyone looking for a great place for a family retreat. The Mountain Home Retreat at Daniel's Summit is a 10 star accommodation.

Room Tip: The mountain home has beds enough for nine adults, plus three comfortable couches. We used tents for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delyse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here three years ago. Loved it. Had the opportunity again during a Rocky Mtn. trip. we were treated second class by the staff from the rude restaurant server, to the desk staff, to the little "helpful" note reminders throughout "No cooking, no pets, use the brown towels, set the temperature" Definitely did not feel like a guest. We were made to feel as though we were a burden to the staff. there is clearly a problem with the leadership (or lack there of) at this hotel. definitely will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heber City
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Heber Valley Hotel
19.4 mi away
Homestead Resort
Homestead Resort
#2 of 2 in Midway
388 reviews
24.5 mi away
Lodge at Stillwater
Lodge at Stillwater
#4 of 6 in Heber City
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heber City
19.7 mi away
Zermatt Resort & Spa
Zermatt Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Midway
725 reviews
16.3 mi away
Swiss Alps Inn
Swiss Alps Inn
#1 of 3 in Heber City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daniels Summit Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daniels Summit Lodge

Address: 17000 Highway 40 Daniels Summit Pass, Heber City, UT 84032
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Heber City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Heber City
Price Range: $166 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daniels Summit Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For some of the best lodging in Utah, try Daniels Summit Lodge. Here you can enjoy the beauties of the Uinta National forest while getting in some unique experiences and activities to make your trip unforgettable, like snowmobile rentals and tours right in Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Daniels Summit Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniels Summit Hotel Heber City
Summit Heber City
Heber City Summit
Daniels Summit Lodge Heber City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing